1. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,115
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yup, you need to hard mod it.
    Dump the NAND and follow the instructions.
     
  2. Billy Acuña

    OP Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,000
    Country:
    Mexico
    Actually you can use fake tmd files to install SRL content into the DSi and get an exploitable dsiware, but you need hardmod.
     
  3. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,115
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Don't you need the original DSiware installed first?
    That's basically what the whole downgrading is about.
     
  4. metroid maniac

    metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,799
    Country:
    DSiWare sigchecks are roughly as broken as the Wii U's. You can install illegitimate DSiWare given a NAND mod and the console's keys.
     
    DinohScene and Billy Acuña like this.
  5. Flame

    Flame Me > You
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,138
    so who does hard modding of DSi again?

    i mean ill pay with in reason of course.
     
  6. sieroi

    sieroi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Oooooh. Nice to see it works on DSi full stop, frankly- however difficult it is to get access to it.

    Does this imply that there's potential for a DSi exploit in the works that people aren't aware of?

    I've got access to Sudokuhax if I can be bothered to hardmod, but it's a huge barrier to entry, as things stand.
     
    Last edited by sieroi, May 8, 2017
  7. leerz

    leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    now the quest on how to get a main entrypoint working begins! (I would but have no experience lol!)
     
  8. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it's possible one could appear in the future.
     
  9. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed the latest TWLoader and bootstrap and I tried to launch Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Sky (USA version) which is listed as compatible on the compatibility list, but is unable to launch and get's stuck at white screen after nds boot screen. I'm pretty sure I installed everything correctly, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong? The game is listed as compatible with 0.3.1 0.3.2 and 0.4.0 and I'm using 0.4.1. Does anyone know if Pokemon Explorers of Sky no longer compatible on 0.4.1?
     
  10. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    Should still be compatible. Do any other games work?
     
  11. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't tried yet, but i'm about to

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I just tried Super Mario 64 DS and that's also not working.
     
  12. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    Is bootstrap set to official, and is Lock ARM9 SCFG_EXT off?
     
  13. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    yes, bootstrap is set to official and Lock ARM9 SCFG_EXT is off
     
  14. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    Set console output to On. If that doesn't work, set it to "On (with Debug)".
     
  15. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    That still doesn't fix it. I left it on to load for around 5 minutes each time so I must have done something wrong during installation?
     
  16. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    Try updating official bootstrap in the Settings screen.
     
    Inkadinkadoo likes this.
  17. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    This worked, thank you so much! Also found out that Super Mario 64 DS has an audio bug that makes everything sound "staticy" but changing the in game audio from Surround Sound to Stereo fixes this. I don't know if it's because Surround isn't fully supported from DS games or if it's the game itself, but just thought i'd throw that out there.

    EDIT: Also the Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Sky intro sequence is very stuttery when transitioning between screens. Possibly will be like this through the entire game with "transitioning" effects or loading.
     
    Last edited by Inkadinkadoo, May 10, 2017
  18. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    That's already said in the compatibility list.
     
  19. Inkadinkadoo

    Inkadinkadoo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Ah okay. I didn't notice the horizontal slider on the compatibility list LOL sorry.
     
  20. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,441
    Country:
    United States
    SRLoader progress photo.

    DSi Menu theme.
    PICT0213 (resized).png
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - progress, hacking, thread