Dragon Quest V Not Loading in TwiLight Menu ++

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Cidland45, Oct 17, 2019.

  1. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    Been having issues with Dragon Quest 5 for the DS in TwiLight Menu++. When first applying the NDS Bootstrap, the screens get locked with the top screen going black and bottom going white. After restarting, upon relaunching the game I am stuck with white screens. I looked up the compatibility list and DQ5 should work. Other games load up just fine. Holding L at startup does nothing. Updating to the latest version of ndsBootstrap did not help. Anyone have a similar issue or a possible solution?
     
    Last edited by Cidland45, Oct 17, 2019
  2. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Make sure the ROM isn't modified in any way, like being AP-patched, and make sure there's no cheats applied.
    It works fine for me.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Oct 17, 2019
  3. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    No AP Patch or cheats. It is a clean ROM. Tried all three bootstrapping methods, no luck. I don't want to reinstall TwiLight Menu++ since every other ROM works fine. Any other ideas?
     
  4. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    What bootstrapping methods?
     
  5. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    Default, Release, and Nightly.
     
  6. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Ah, Default is which one of those is currently set in TWLMenu++ settings.

    Which console are you using?
     
  7. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    New 3DS XL
     
  8. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    What region is the ROM?
     
  9. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    USA
     
  10. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan

    Member
    15
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Glasgow
    Just wanna say dragon Quest V works perfectly for me. Played from start to finish with no issues.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  11. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Ok, so I was testing on DSi.
    Just tried it on N3DSXL, and works for me there as well.
    The ROM I'm using, is the Xenophobia dump, if it helps.

    EDIT: Sounds like your ROM is just corrupted.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Oct 17, 2019
    Cidland45 likes this.
  12. Cidland45
    OP

    Cidland45 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    Yup, I was using some bad ROMs. Thanks for the help!
     
    Robz8 likes this.
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...