downgraded wii and installed gamma but need help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by redmoorphil, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. redmoorphil
    OP

    Newcomer redmoorphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys - I have searched extensively for a solution as I like to try myself if I can but I now need help.
    I followed EmperorOfCanadas excellent tutorial and successfully managed to complete it by downgrading my wii from 3.4e to 3.2e and installing the gamma backup launcher channel with the djtaz loader.
    I have burnt an iso of Shaun White road trip to test it but now have hit a problem.
    When I run the gamma channel it shows an exception error (DSI) and then dumps some code on screen and freezes. The only way out is to power off the wii and restart it.
    I have tried running a couple of official games throught the gamma channel and they work fine so could this just be a burning issue?
    Any help or pointers that you could give me would be very much appreciated!
    Many thanks.
     
  2. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    you did not chose the best game for a test, that game as a few issues, your better of getting another game and test it
     
  3. redmoorphil
    OP

    Newcomer redmoorphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks,
    DLing Wii Music now to try again.
    I have also reburned Shaun White and tried that again - although the exception error no longer appears the screen just goes black and freezes.
    Will report back when I try Music.
     
  4. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    good luck
     
  5. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you tried to use a different loader? the one you might have got is the one before he did the fix, i had a similar problem, tried a different loader then.. NeoRames loader, autoboot no force.... just try it for curiousity. although could be something else here is the link for neorames thread.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=125940
     
  6. swf3

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    None of the launcher have ever code dumped me.......maybe you have a bad launcher like screamq3 said...!! [​IMG]
     
  8. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeh just give it a go might work lol, happened to me when i tried nfsu all ok now though. you do have cios rev 7 installed also yeh?
     
  9. redmoorphil
    OP

    Newcomer redmoorphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help and suggestions guys - I will investigate further tomorrow.
    Pleased to report that wii music has downloaded and booted/played successfully so it looks
    like it was an issue with the .iso or the burning.
    The info is much appreciated.
     
  10. redmoorphil
    OP

    Newcomer redmoorphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a quickie guys - I have downloaded neorames loader - do I need to uninstall the gamma backup channel first or will they happily coexist?
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page