DosBOX Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by beegee7730, May 7, 2009.

May 7, 2009

DosBOX Wii by beegee7730 at 6:57 AM (45,347 Views / 0 Likes) 206 replies

  1. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/DOSBox_Wii

    Just released.

    Compiled here:
    http://"http://wiibrew.org/wiki/File:DOSBox_Wii-r40.zip
    Thanks to Dykam.

    Guide for installing:
    Place the boot.dol inside a folder called "DOSBox" in your "Apps" folder on your SD card.
    Create a folder called "DOSBox" in the root of your SD Card and place your DOS games in it.
    Load DOSBox on your wii.
    Type "C:" (You may need to unplug/plug back in your keyboard) then if the application is in a seperate folder "CD" then the folder name.
    Example:
    I want to load Ancient Empires. The folder is called AE and the application is called AEPROG.exe. I place it in my DOSBox folder and load up DOSBox Wii. I type This.
    "C:"
    "CD AE"
    "AEPROG"
    The application should load correctly if compatible.

    COMPATABILITY LIST:
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/DOS...patibility_List
     


  2. joshed

    Member joshed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    PHXAZ
    Country:
    United States
    um yeah i second this, i dont have the tools to compile
     
  3. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    Just trying it right now, if I get it compiled I'll test it and upload it.

    Edit: It compiled successfully (after I got SDL Wii installed properly), just gonna test it now. If it works then I'll package it up and upload it to sharebee. [​IMG]

    Edit 2: I tried it on the Wii, it loads but instantly gives me an error message about SDL_Quit() and then just returns to the homebrew channel. It may be because I didn't have SDL Wii installed properly the first time.. I'm trying a clean version now that SDL Wii is installed properly, I'll see how it turns out.
     
  4. ThaKillerKlown

    Member ThaKillerKlown GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Street Rod 2 Wii here we come!
     
  5. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm, the second compile (after SDL Wii installed properly) didn't work either, this is the error message it gives when trying to load:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->(SDL_Quit) : Enter! Calling QuitSubsystem()
    (SDL_Quit) : SDL_UninstallParachute()
    (SDL_Quit) : Returning!<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    It then returns to the homebrew channel after about 1 second.

    There are lots of warnings when trying to compile, however it does complete compiling and linking, it just seems there's something either a) going wrong with the compile process the way I have it set up, something is not working properly, or b) there is an error in the source code that causes this problem. I'm leaning towards a) since I don't have that much Wii dev experience.

    Anyone else willing to give it a shot? I'll keep tinkering in the meantime, if I make any progress I'll post again.

    Edit: Here's the output of the build process, it has warnings but no errors:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  6. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    I can't seem to get it to compile
    Maybe it's because I'm using an older release of DevkitPro (there doesn't seem to be a 32-Bit Linux binary for the latest release)

    Will try Wine next
     
  7. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
  8. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I did.

    I just installed devkitpro and sdl in Wine and I'm about to try to compile again

    EDIT:
    Failed again

    Will keep trying

    EDIT2:
    I tried compiling some older revisions, but it always seems to fail while linking
     
  9. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't bump a thread you only made today.
     
  11. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry dude.
     
  12. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so nobody can compile/get it to work?
     
  13. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If someone compiles it I might be able to get win95 to work...
     
  15. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    I've got it to compile however it doesn't seem to work on my Wii. I've tested it over and over and it just returns with the same message as I posted above:

    Code:
    (SDL_Quit) : Enter! Calling QuitSubsystem()
    (SDL_Quit) : SDL_UninstallParachute()
    (SDL_Quit) : Returning!
    I'll post it however, for testing purposes... maybe it's just my Wii, unlikely but still possible.

    USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. It shouldn't damage your Wii in any way but I ain't taking any flak if it somehow does.

    edit: download link removed, see full package with icon.png below
     
  16. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If only this worked :/
     
  17. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah it would be sweet, been wanting this to work for a while, DOSBox on the Wii would be super sweet.

    I'll send a message to Tantric or Carl Kenner to see if they can help, since I have no problem getting it to compile, I just can't get it to load once it's done compiling.
     
  18. beegee7730
    OP

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks.
    As I said if this works I might be able to get win3.1/95 working on the wii, as long as the haters dont flame me >.>
    But yeah, cool.
     
  19. ViRGE

    Member ViRGE GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    Not to be a negative Nancy, but I'm going to be surprised if game performance is anywhere near usable. DOSBox is a pure C++ x86 emulator; even fast chips like Core 2s can only reach the approximate performance of a 486 DX2/DX4. On a 733mhz PPC chip, this thing is probably only going to attain 386 speeds. There are going to be a lot of unplayable games at those speeds.[​IMG]
     
  20. Sashabel

    Newcomer Sashabel Newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Russia

Share This Page