Donkey Kong Returns Disk Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Black_Knight, Nov 22, 2010.

Nov 22, 2010
  1. Black_Knight
    OP

    Newcomer Black_Knight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    First off, you're asking "What the hell? You got homebrew, there's a way to just deactivate these updates." Two things, Been modding, restoring and reworking my Wii for the past 2 years and it's a mess. Trucha Bug doesn't work (When ever I try to reactivate it, it just puts me in an endless loop of 'do this other thing first' and it would feel better just to reset most things and just reinstall stuff instead of only having access to about 3/4 of everything. 2. That 4.3 wanakano update that puts 'Wan' in what you system you have, is just a giant eyesore for me. I hate it.

    So, more than going the route of deactivating disk system updates (I forgot how to do that), anything else I can do to try and get back what was lost over the times, and get rid of that 'wan.' or should I just go through with the disk update and see what happens? (The obvious being homebrew gets deleted or I get bricked.)
     


  2. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Rumour has it that its just 4.3 systemmenu... so just update your HBC first and you'll be fine. My experience has been that Hermes 5.1 cios's dont get overwritten and neither do newer Wanin releases so if they are current they'll be fine. You could always install ios236 first to be safe.
     
  3. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Try using xzxero's mod guide from the start, including the update part. After that, install DARKCORP which will not only let you play backups from the disc channel, but also trucha patch all IOS's.
     
  4. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Both options would work, it depends what you want to do. If you're just USB loading, trucha patching all the ios's doesnt make alot of sense. Plus, then you might run into issues with Shop channel.
     
  5. W hat

    Member W hat Rhythm Heaven Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    United States
    DO NOT INSTALL DARKCORP

    It causes many problems. Just search the forums for darkcorp and uninstall and you'll see what I mean.

    Use ModMii or DOP-Mii (MAKE SURE NOT TO INSTALL STUB IOS). You could probably update your HBC and then update your Wii to 4.3 through Internet update and re-patch everything in less than 20 minutes. Then install Priiloader and skip disc updates.
     
  6. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    What? DARKCORP doesn't cause any problems [​IMG]
     
  7. Black_Knight
    OP

    Newcomer Black_Knight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I installed everything to run Metroid Other M so all the needed mods are in place (ios236, etc), so I'm betting this is a repeat. Anyways. I might as well make a backup of all my major saves just encase the worse case occurs.

    I'M UPDATING VIA DISK CHANNEL, STAND THE FUCK BACK

    Edit: Gonna be delayed. the Savegame manager DX I downloaded from the homebrew browser freezes and says 'no save games.' Which kinda shows the issues I'm having as is. And the normal save game manager just gave me a DSI error screen.

    This is gonna be a long night.
     
  8. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    if you really want to update just use the online update. there really is no reason to do this man. just update your IOS's and you'll be good.
     
  9. Teep

    Member Teep GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't it possible to just remove the update partition or am I missing something?
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    I agree, it does not cause issue.
     
  11. Black_Knight
    OP

    Newcomer Black_Knight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, none of the save data managers are working, getting various errors or they say nothing is found. Any ideas what the heck is going on?
     
  12. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    get the ios needed to update. install them and you are good to go. no need to back up anything.
     
  13. retrogamermatt

    Member retrogamermatt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Australia
    Wouldn't it be easier to just grab a spare 4GB flash drive, throw wiiflow on it, launch wiiflow, copy game to flash drive, PLAY!!

    Or install priiloader 0.5 and block disc updates.
     
  14. Captain_N

    Member Captain_N GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Just use the Gecko os to launch the game. you can also use any a backup launcher to launch a officla disc. both methods bypass the update. if you need a new ios the Gecko os will install it for you.
     
  15. George Dawes

    Member George Dawes Wanker

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    your wife's corpus uteri
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    It causes lots of issues.
     
  16. Captain_N

    Member Captain_N GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    it can yeah. I never used any of those tools. I dont mess with the system menu. My system menu is 3.2U. I use Uloader to load my games. Uloader will also boot dvds
     
  17. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    @all the people saying how to skip updates:
    The OP doesn't just want a way to load the disk without updating. They just want to rehack their wii from scratch. So you don't have to give suggestions on how to load disks and skip the update, because that's not really what they are looking for.

    @Black_Night:
    Why not just use the default wii save game manager in the wii settings, and use priiloader to let you copy all the blocked saves (If you have or can install priiloader). Updating your wii won't affect the saves anyway, unless it is bricked. If you have bootmii I would suggest making a NAND backup, just in case.

    Also, Darkorp is usually OK, but it is known to cause problems, not to mention the fact that USB loaders are far better in my opinion.
     
  18. Black_Knight
    OP

    Newcomer Black_Knight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    It would be, but believe it or don't. I'm an honorable gamer and Buy all the games I play. I have homebrew more for the emulation (aka Tecmo Super Bowl) And certain channels (Earthbound).

    I was doing the save manager as a back up in case the worst occurred, but I'm still having issues. Shows how wonky my current set is.
     
  19. Black_Knight
    OP

    Newcomer Black_Knight Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I did the disk update, nothing changed at first glance, even that damn u4.3 'Wan.' is still there.

    I might as well just keep an archive of my saves anyway. I'll give you want suggested a shot person66.
     
  20. HiroshiYamauchi

    Member HiroshiYamauchi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    Brazil
    But doing what x_r3ap3r_x said wouldn't hurt your honour because, as you said, you bought the game. I did the same with Metroid - Other M, i have the game, but i only play it through USB loaders.
     

Share This Page