does ROM Trimming do anything to gameplay?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by philip11, Nov 15, 2011.

Nov 15, 2011
  1. philip11
    OP

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering.
     
  2. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Nope. I believe it only removes the unused space on the rom.
     
  3. philip11
    OP

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    One other thing I played a game for a while and If I trim the ROM will the .SAV File work with the trimmed ROM?
     
  4. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it will work.

    Although there are times when my ak2i won't play trimmed dsi games (always white screens), I think that was a bug with NDS Tokyo Trimmer. But it has the ability to skip dsi games, so no problem.
     
  5. philip11
    OP

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you both very much :D
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    By design it shouldn't, but some trimmers had issues with DSi-enhanced games. The recent trimming utilities have that fixed, but there's still a risk of something going wrong.

    Though, if it tells you anything I trim all my games and don't run into issues...
     
  7. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    eh? I heard tokyotrim's author has fixed the dsi issue in new version... not yet?
     
  8. iSubaru

    Member iSubaru Kitsune

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    Poland
    Also sometimes cheats may not work, tough I don't have recent info about trimming
    I had to repack the game (Japan Voices I wanted) and the tools trimmed it without asking me first, that killed cheats out, I don't mind that, nobody will accuse me of using cheats xD
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It is fixed.

    In fact I don't know if any trimmers that don't have it fixed.
     
  10. philip11
    OP

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the R4 DS ROM Trimmer from the website
     

Share This Page