Does DVD+R work on the wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MeowMix, Sep 28, 2008.

Sep 28, 2008

Does DVD+R work on the wii by MeowMix at 3:14 PM (4,910 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Do they without changing the book-type? I need confirmation from someone who has tried. (Using LIBDI-DVDX)
     


  2. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, they do. I have HP Lightscribe DVD+R's, and you don't need to change the Booktype.
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. If you have a half-decent modchip.

    DVD+R Is not supported by libdi/DVDX without changing the book type.
     
  4. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Using LIBDI?
     
  5. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why, would you want to use =+Rs anyway -Rs are the discs to use, alot better for the wii.
     
  6. Zarox

    Newcomer Zarox Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    DVD+R's work for me by changing the booktype.
     
  7. vegetossj4

    Newcomer vegetossj4 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    sony dvd+r work for you ??
     
  8. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Umm cos i got 15 DVD+R's for the wii i thoght i had to bring +r and i cant change booktype with my drive and they dont have a return policy for the dvds.
     
  9. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong. I didn't change the book type on mine at all, and they are working with Pokemon Battle Revolution using WiiGator's backup loader. I'll be trying it with SMG when it's done downloading,
     
  10. mkfx

    Newcomer mkfx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States

    Well, I don't have a modchip and DVD+R's don't seem to work. I've installed the CIOS (Patchmii installer) and DVDx (Advanced -> IOS249), as well as wiigator's loader (wad version).

    I burned the DVD+R at 2x (The disc said max 4x), and it just causes the Wii to make weird noises (click, buzz, click, buzz, click, buzz, on and on).. This is NHL 2k9 NTSC patched with waninkoko's patcher exe.

    I cannot set the book type with my laptop's burner... Maybe yours is doing it automatically? Does this happen???
     
  11. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I have to agree... no mod chip here... DVD+R (Memorex) burnt at 8x (max burner speed, but rated at 16x)... if you want, I can make a video to prove it, lol
     
  12. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, it works fine. I burn mine at 4x with ImgBurn. Also, install cIOS (rev5, not rev4...It won't work unless you have rev5, I think.) with WAD Manager (You kind of have to, since it's a .wad file). Get the right files here. BTW, are you burning the original iso, or the "patched" iso, since you need to burn the "patched" iso that comes from the backup creator program.
     
  13. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Thanks so much! Now dont have to worry about buying wrong disks. last question.. can I use waninkoko's patcher i cant compile the other one.
     
  14. mkfx

    Newcomer mkfx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States

    With this cIOS rev5 do I need DVDx? What version?

    Also, do you guys have the same noises coming from the Wii? It really doesn't sound like it's working. Thanks!
     
  15. huhster

    Newcomer huhster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can use waninkoko's "patcher."


    On a side note check out what is happening over at tehskeen,

    "UPDATE BY BRAKKEN: Due to the questionable nature of this application along with respect for [nuke] this thread has been purged of all of it's posts (sorry) and closed. Please seek this application elsewhere as it will not be supported by TehSkeen. This should prove to the anti-brakken trolls that I'm not here to get hits.

    - brakken"

    Source
     
  16. mkfx

    Newcomer mkfx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, sorry to flood this thread but I have more info...

    I have cIOS rev5 now...

    When I try to load my DVD+R disk with the wiigator loader, it says something about DVD Identification error and doesn't load

    Wanankiko's loader gives me the -4100 error (or whatever number it was.. -4900 maybe..)

    I'll see if i can find a DVD-R i guess...
     
  17. tweak201

    Newcomer tweak201 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I have had success with +RW and +R, including using a +RW that I used once and formatted. make sure to set the booktype to DVD-ROM.

    If you are having problems changing your booktype, check out this link at the imgburn forums

    http://forum.imgburn.com/lofiversion/index.php/t3623.html

    worked for me.
     
  18. ralphyboy

    Newcomer ralphyboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    They work if you burn with a speed 4x or higher
    (it didn't work for me with lower speed)

    WITHOUT BOOKTYPE

    DVD+R Vebratim
     
  19. Zarox

    Newcomer Zarox Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Some drives do not do it automatically and are not able to be set in IMGBURN. I had to flash my dvd+rw drive to change the book type automatically. I have the Pioneer 112D.
     
  20. tweak201

    Newcomer tweak201 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    My drive does not do it automatically. With Imgburn i need to manually input it under Samsung to get it to work. You need to find out who is the true manufacturer of your drive, and change it under advanced settings in booktype.

    I fixed the issue with my drive by searching the imgburn forums
    http://forum.imgburn.com/lofiversion/index.php/f5.html
     

Share This Page