Does DSTT scan for Virus Roms

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by gbadl, Sep 24, 2009.

Sep 24, 2009

Does DSTT scan for Virus Roms by gbadl at 4:02 AM (1,591 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. gbadl
    OP

    Member gbadl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    I was just wondering if the official DSTT or maybe an alternative checks to see if the roms contain a virus before loading.
     
  2. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    If there is such a function I've never heard of it.
     
  3. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    yes you get a rom loading error if you run a bad rom but if your planning to buy a dstt i think you shouldnt because its not that great you should get an acekard 2i or mm3i zero
     
  4. gbadl
    OP

    Member gbadl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    I already have a dstt, I was just wondering in case I get a rom that is a virus. Its good to no the the firmware has a built in virus detector so I don't brick my ds.
     
  5. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    NDS virus...that's a new one on me. O.o;
     
  6. Oh Really?

    Member Oh Really? GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    If you download a "rom with a virus" your computer would get infected before your DSTT. o_o

    Just download from a reliable source and you will be fine.
     
  7. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    There aren't any NDS Viruses. Only 1 which is the DQ game
     
  8. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    There are no viruses for the DS. There is a trojan though, which bricks older DS's. r0mloader.nds and taihen.nds.

    I think moonlight made something too, but I haven't seen it around.

    also if you're paranoid about getting a fake rom with the trojan in it, you could use a rom trimmer that can scan your roms for it. Only one I know of it NDSTokyoTrim.

    downloadable from here. http://techsuki.net/nintendo-ds-rom-trimmer/
     
  9. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    What about M3 Zero? Isn't it based of moonshell.
     
  10. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Moonshell 2, actually, and the bricker trojans can't brick DS lites or DSi's.
    So unless you have a phat, don't stress.
     
  11. gbadl
    OP

    Member gbadl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    I have heard of ds lites getting bricked by the trojan, where are you getting this information of the virus not affecting dslites.
     
  12. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    ... Well, you need to short the SL-1 contacts to overwrite the firmware, down't you?
    I don't know who told me, but he (a several-thousand-post person in the FlashMe section) said that only the user-settings can be erased without shorting the contact.
    Am I wrong then?
     
  13. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Umm, GBAtemp? Google? Anywhere?
     

Share This Page