DML is driving me insane.

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by dustyjo, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    I can't get it to work at all. I always get "Fatal error! apploader size is zero!" when there's no disc in the drive, and when there is, it just loads up the disc instead. I've tried different loaders, different ripping methods, compressed/uncompressed, nothing works.

    I'm pretty sure I'm doing this right. I have all my GCN games in sd:\games\, each as "game.iso" in their own folder. I'm using USBLoader GX r1204 (though I've tried WiiFlow 4.0.4 which had the same error) and DML 2.5. I'm also using CleanRip 1.0.5 to make the initial ISO and then converting it with DMToolbox. USBLoader GX detects DML 2.5 on the credits screen.

    I'm at an absolute loss here. Please help? :<
     


  2. lwiz

    lwiz Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    76
    10
    Sep 23, 2012
    Finland
    Have you tried/can you try without the converting step?
     
  3. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    Just tried that. Now I'm getting "Fatal error app_entry is not within the apploader area!" with no disc in the drive, and when there is one, it just loads up the disc.


    Edit: That was with WiiFlow. With USBLoader GX I still get the same error as before.
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
  5. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,837
    397
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
  6. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
  7. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,837
    397
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
    You posted r33 and I posted r34. If mine is not DML, then yours is not DML. They both have updates for the DML trunk, so either you messed up with your link, or I'm missing something. In fact, the changelog that you posted, said the bug they fixed was in DM (does not state DML).

    Edit: Oh, I see. it's released all under the same project. That's extremely messy. My bad.
     
  8. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
  9. gamax92

    gamax92 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 25, 2012
    United States
    You have to do this "conversion" process of DMToolbox because it not only renames the iso/gcm to the correct name, it also gives a correct folder name for the game, and generates a sys folder with two other files.

    Also, could you tell us what game this is and the status of it on the compatability list? http://crediar.no-ip.com/gc/
    If it is supported, try turning off any dml options like no-disc or widescreen hack just incase they might be confusing it.
     
  10. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    The game is F-Zero GX, and I figured the "conversion" was kind of important.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    It doesn't matter if it's class 4, because the read speed is almost the same as higher classes. Anyway, try using a clean, uncompressed ISO. Don't run it through DMToolbox or anything.
     
  12. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    I did, same error.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    You could try Devolution. The only downside is that it requires the retail disc
     
  14. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Member
    1,381
    963
    Oct 11, 2011
    United States
    Michigan, USA
    Try formatting with EaseUS Partition Master. Format to FAT32, 32k clustersize, set partition active, and make sure type is primary. EaseUS does all of that.
     
  15. Vanth88

    Vanth88 Private

    Member
    744
    200
    Oct 1, 2007
    United States
    Florida
    Backup everything, format card using SD Formatter(full erase, adjust on), download 2.6 DM or DML with the updated DMToolbox(not important but hey! why not?), convert F Zero with RAW or Extracted(Extracted is what I used for F Zero), make sure you setup the correct paths in GX(set gc games to SD:/Games), hope it works.

    OH! and this isn't reaaally important but you might want to update GX to the latest SVN http://code.google.com/p/usbloader-gui/issues/detail?id=1769#c3015
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    If you are using DML, you need to make it 64kb clusters.
     
  17. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    Oh, I've already got the latest GX (r1204).

    So, I've formatted the card as FAT32, 64kb sectors, using the windows formatting tool. (SD Formatter made it use 32kb sectors, and said my card didn't support full erase, which is strange. It didn't work either, same errors. I also couldn't get EaseUS Partition Master to work at all, it just showed a splash screen and did nothing for 10 minutes.) I've installed DML 2.6. I've converted F-Zero GX using the "extracted" setting in the latest version of DMToolbox, as suggested.

    Now it's having different errors depending on what app I use to load them. When I use WiiFlow, I get "app_entry not within the apploader area!", and with USBLoader GX I still get "apploader size is zero!" If there's a gamecube disc in the drive in either case, it just loads the disc. I am totally stumped now.
     
  18. dustyjo
    OP

    dustyjo Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Dec 1, 2012
    United States
    And I'm a moron and clcked "reply" instead of "edit. :\
     
  19. Vanth88

    Vanth88 Private

    Member
    744
    200
    Oct 1, 2007
    United States
    Florida
    There's gotta be something else going on here and I'm gonna guess it might be your SD card. The only thing left I can recommend is do a chkdsk(scan for bad sectors junk). However.. I've had the apploader issue before and what happened was I chose the wrong convert method. You're already using Extracted though. I'd try another loader like PostLoader or WiiFlow and see what errors those give you. If they STILL give you errors and you've already tried running a chkdsk then the only other solution is to use another ISO because chances are if all else fails its because the game itself is to blame. Of course if THAT fails you might want to try another SD card or USB drive.

    Also it's not uncommon if SD formatter says your SD card doesn't support full erase because it says that about my SD card too(actually its Micro SD with SD adapter). What you want to select is Full (OverWrite).
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,970
    3,755
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Just try Devolution.