Difference between R4 and M3 Real

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ExDee, Jan 11, 2008.

Jan 11, 2008
  1. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Help me out [​IMG]. Idk what the difference between them. I'm also thinking if I should get R4 or M3 Real. I know most will say R4 because it's popular. But what I want to know is the difference and what one has and what the other doesn't.

    Also a question. Do R4/M3 Simply and M3 Real rumble?
    If it does rumble, what Slot-2 rumble is recommended?

    And can you skin it with the skins of the R4/M3 Simply?


    Tyvm
     


  2. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Get the M3 Real.

    M3 Real is not similar to R4/Simply. Different GUI, completely different extra features. Different Loader altogether.

    Any Slot-1 Flash Cart can rumble. It's whether you buy a Slot-2 that can rumble that's the problem. (M3 Real Perfect Packages comes with a Rumble)

    Right now, it's extremely hard to find an R4 (most of them are pretty low qual these days too) and are extremely overpriced for what they can do.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say the M3 Real is the way to go in a comparison between the 2.

    The R4 is a great cart for compatibility and support, but it doesn't support SDHC cards or some of the features that newer carts have. It's kind of a dinosaur now. One of the "top of the food-chain" dinosaurs that brought slot1 cards to the forefront of many people's minds, but a dinosaur none-the-less.

    I really don't know much about the M3 Real, but since it's newer, it's likely much more feature-rich than an R4.

    If you want MY opinion, I'd say the card to get right now would be the CycloDS....but then, I don't really know anything about that one either.....but I hear it's really good.

    EDIT: Oh, and no, the R4/M3S skins are not compatible with the M3 Real, unfortunately.
     
  4. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    ... not to mention that it is completely different hardware, fab, and cartridge design
     
  5. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    M3 Real. Just cuz. The one complaint is that there is no SDHC with the R4 although you can buy a non-SDHC 4 GB, but they're kinda slow and not very stable. SO go for the M3 Real or Top Toy or Cyclo if you want more room. And Cyclo has Wii to DS connectivity.
     
  6. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Damn. I'm thinking of getting an M3 Real.... But Idk where to get GUI/Skins if there are any... If you cant change the skin, ill just get M3 Simply. M3 Simply rather than R4 because I heard they are the same so I should just get the 1 with the kooler case [​IMG]

    Unless like theres this feature the R4 has that the M3 Simply doesnt
     
  7. innercy

    Member innercy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    have u consider supercard dsone?.
    -skin is easy to customize
    -got extra features like realtime save, realtime cheat & guide
    -support sdhc
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Nestea80

    Member Nestea80 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Canada
    Some of you have your priorities backwards. You would prefer one cart over another just because you can find skins for it?
     
  9. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.. I'm pretty sure NDSThemes has M3 Real skins.

    ~Nero
     
  10. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope. They're the exact same.
     
  11. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States

    YEPP [​IMG] Btw ty for the other ppl

    Btw so does this mean if I get an M3 Simply,I can get homebrews for R4 and go in the r4 forums for my M3S?
     
  12. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Tehe, sounds like me too. I like the GUI to look nice and customizable. So picky I am.
     
  13. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    LOL yep [​IMG] just to make sure, the GUI is like the BG/Interface/Skin right?
     
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup. Any homebrew works on any card. Unless otherwise stated, like those that need extra RAM.
     
  15. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States

    Wow thank you so much. TO put moonshell is just drag and drop and replace right. I heard though overwriting isnt good. so u need to delete the old files and put the moonshell stuff in it
     
  16. tech673

    Newcomer tech673 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen problems with the Real and the soft reset option. One popular game that has this problem is Zelda. Plus, I think the GUI is ugly and not user friendly.

    The only question I ask people is this: are you going to use a 4gig card? If no then get the R4. Nearly every store still has the R4 and for price, just look around.

    Hell, a friend just got a Simply from a place called Echo Store or such just last week.
     
  17. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States

    I think it's a bit pricey in that store. The one with the cheapest R4 for me is Gameyeeeah.com



    Btw from what I've read, the M3 Simply has stronger WIFI and the R4 can have more GUI's
     
  18. 23qwerty

    Member 23qwerty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Canada
    But dinosaurs are cool [​IMG]
    Anyway I love my R4 it does everything I could want it plays every rom I've tried perfectly and it plays every homebrew I've tried perfectly [​IMG]
     
  19. innercy

    Member innercy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    m3 simply and r4 basically the same but if u compare r4 with m3 real it totally different... r4 is better choice for casual gaming. i think all roms working fine. we should reconsider future development. m3 real will get loader upgrade once in a while but how about m3 simply/r4?. plus r4 will not work with sdhc micro card so buying m3 real is an advantage here...

    i owned both r4 and m3 real but i still using r4 [​IMG]
     
  20. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States

    WAAAAIT . U what's the difference with micro sd'sa and micro sdhc's. WTF i thot ur suppose to use the micro sd on it.
     

Share This Page