Desperately in need of a USB adapter for DS/Wii that WORKS

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Rambo M, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Rambo M
    OP

    Newcomer Rambo M Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    (Before I get too ranty, please please please do not recommend a router for any reason. I have dialup at home and it's AOL which I can't get out from under of, so a router is useless, much less anything else. Using a USB adapter at other internet sources, which may or may not allow the DS in directly, is the only option i've got here.)

    Ahem.

    I would like to know, in very clear terms, answers one of the following, or preferably both:

    1)
    I have struggled mightily to make Nintendo's infamous USB Adapter work on Windows 7. Using Vista compatibility mode on the installer makes it appear to install just fine, but no matter what, the godforsaken piece of trash cannot pick up on any internet connection I try:

    [​IMG]

    ICS on or off, it makes no difference. I've tried messing with Windows Firewall and even turning it off altogether, that doesn't help any. I have no third party anti-virus software or any other utilites that are known to get in its' way. I've also tried having Windows bridge the internet connection and the adapter, which at first glance does the trick, but then it appears to make my connection chug to a halt. The thing just will not work. Is there some solution to this that I haven't found or am I better off going to plan B below?

    2)
    Failing the above (which wouldn't suprise me), I need some other USB-based solution that I can be as sure as possible will work with at least the DS. Yes, i've searched the forum and read this and the related pinned topic; unfortunately, a lot of the links in there are dead or otherwise advertising adapters that are out of production. I just want to know what will work and what I have to do to make it work, so I know what's more trouble than it's worth or not. Or, are these things just too unpredictable?

    And before I forget, [​IMG]

    Halp plz?
     
  2. ASkylitAngel

    Newcomer ASkylitAngel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't use the USB to connect to your internet connection. You set your ds up to connect to your USB which in turn then uses your internet. But I always thought you needed broadband. I didn't think Dial Up still existed
     
  3. Rambo M
    OP

    Newcomer Rambo M Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Don't remind me [​IMG] My situation ain't exactly common, unless you happen to know people who live out in the sticks.

    So the adapter is, normally, not supposed to go looking for an internet connection until a DS/Wii links up to it? If that's the case, I wonder what's getting in the way. Usually, it fails trying to perform the connection test with a "can't connect to the internet" or "can't find IP address" error, or something similar.
     
  4. ASkylitAngel

    Newcomer ASkylitAngel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you got the Nintendo software on your computer?
     
  5. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I also have the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Adapter and have not been able to get it to work on Windows 7 no matter what I did.

    It's a horrible adapter.

    As for getting a different USB adapter, I can't find a single one that is confirmed to work the 3DS.
     
  6. ASkylitAngel

    Newcomer ASkylitAngel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Nintendo USB only works on 32bit Windows 7 not 64bit
     
  7. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm running a 32-bit version of Windows 7 and still haven't got it to work.
     
  8. jcipher

    Newcomer jcipher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    As far as I know, the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector only works on Windows XP/Vista.

    To get it to work in Windows 7: Install Virtual PC with Windows XP Mode, enable the usb connector in Virtual PC, then install the drivers in XP.
     
  9. jcipher

    Newcomer jcipher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    double post..
     
  10. CrisR82

    Newcomer CrisR82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I'm not familiar with the DS WiFi adapter so I cant help with it...but have you tried a simple ad-hoc connection using a normal WiFi card?
    (connect the PC/Laptop via LAN to the router/modem, and use your WiFi card to create a ad-hoc connection between the DS and the PC/Laptop)

    If you have and it failed, I would suggest you check your router's settings (if you have one). Many routers have default potection settings that block many programs (like file shaing ones fo example).
     
  11. Rambo M
    OP

    Newcomer Rambo M Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    None of the above is even remotely an option for me right now.
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Does this really work?
     
  13. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    it's called reading comprehension.

    I didn't say it was horrible just because I "can't use it on Windows 7". It's horrible for a number of reasons that I can't be arsed to mention. One of those reasons is that it disconnects randomly even when it does work (on Windows XP/Vista).
     
  14. iggloovortex

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
  15. jcipher

    Newcomer jcipher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    I just tested on Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit and it appears to work. I changed the network adapter from Shared Networking (NAT) to my default adapter, and then restarted the OS.
    I haven't tried playing with people but I remained connected for the duration of my test. It also appears XP needs to be restarted every time virtual pc is closed (click Ctrl+Alt+Del in Virtual PC, select shutdown, select restart). I haven't used a dial-up modem but if it shows up as a networking adapter, it might work.

    Maybe VMware or another virtualization software would work better..
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Didn't happen for me.
     
  17. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I used it a couple times on Windows 7, but after I restart it messes up the ICS and it's hard to set up again.

    Try using version 1.06, run as administrator, and it will likely fail. Then if windows says the program might not have installed correctly, pick reinstall using selected settings and the setup will actually load on 7. ^^

    It those don't show up, which sometimes they don't, then I don't know what you could do. :/
     
  18. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
  19. Rambo M
    OP

    Newcomer Rambo M Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    This seems to to be it! Disable ICS completely, then install the drivers, but don't choose to restart. I assume this means you'd have to reinstall the drivers every time you restart the system, which is bullshit and not worth buying this thing for, but it works.
     
  20. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    If you have an Andriod Powered cell phone, try to set it up as a Wifi Hotspot, so your Wii will basically run off your phone's 3G network. I'm not sure if you have to pay extra, but if so, I think there are ROMs you can install that'll give you the ability to do so for free on a rooted phone.
     

Share This Page