CycloDS - Should I Buy Another One?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by EliteKill, Sep 23, 2009.

Sep 23, 2009
  1. EliteKill
    OP

    Member EliteKill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I think I might have some bad luck with this story. Around a year ago I read about how good is CyloDS and I got one. Around 3 months later it started going crappy, with games freezing and many other problems. Now, I'm still reading about how the Cyclo is still considered one of if not the best flashcart. So, should I buy another one or stick around with my old one?
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, sounds like you ended up with a defective unit; they're rare but not unheard of. Unless you're planning to get a DSi in the future I'd say to get another one from a reliable source [​IMG] I've had mine for over 13 months and it's still going [​IMG]
     
  3. EliteKill
    OP

    Member EliteKill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I got mine from Real Hot Stuff... Where do you suggest?
     
  4. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Ehh with the release of AKAIO 1.5 the Cyclo isn't as good anymore...
     
  5. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    what's so good about akaio 1.5?
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wasn't suggesting anywhere in particular (I can't even remember which site mine was from), but RHS should be fine [​IMG]
     
  7. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Try getting another flash cart like the Acekard, because it's cheaper and that way you'll be able to figure out if it's a problem with the microSD or not.

    Also, a way to fix many freezing problems with the Cyclo is to tape a piece of paper onto the sticker of the Cyclo (this is commonly referred to as the "paper trick"). This allows the Cyclo to fit more firmly inside the DS, making the contacts connect better. This has fixed many Cyclos, but mainly it was for people who have really old Cyclos (first batch), I'm inclined to believe that your problem is either a defective cart or a slow microSD.
     
  8. Codify

    Newcomer Codify Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My CycloDS is well over a year old now. Served me well, but is now starting to flake out - not making good contact with the DS Lite slot, so freezes up and has to be ejected/reinserted.

    Was going to buy another one but the price (£35) is prohibitive compared to all the other cards on the market - it's good, but not THAT good. Not going to pay triple the price of an Acekard2i.
     

Share This Page