CycloDS Evolution not recognizing EZ Flash 3IN1

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Bobbarooskie, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,
    Sorry for the nOOb question, I just received my EZ Flash 3IN1 today and am trying to use it with my cycloDS evolution card. I have the GBA roms on my microsdhc card and can see them within the cyclos menus, but when I go to start them I get this error message.

    -A compatible Slot 2 device was not found.- [​IMG]

    My Cyclos is updated with firmware version 1.51.

    Do I need to use Rudolph's ExpLoader in order for the EZ Flash to be recognized? Again sorry if this has been answered before, I was not able to find anything with the search function.

    [​IMG] Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.
    Regards
     
  2. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Never mind I got it working.

    Damn, I like my DS more for the GBA games lol [​IMG] .
     
  3. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Can I hear how you did this? Exploader is all I can get to work...the CycloDS doesn't want to recognize it. You get the RAM expansion to work?
     
  4. Nathan-NL

    Member Nathan-NL GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Tried to load a GBA game to the NOR memory and then again with the CycloDS?
     
  5. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yup. says "no compatible slot 2 device".

    GBA Exploader shows it as being a 3in1Pls, which I'm guessing means the CycloDS support just isn't there yet.
     
  6. Nathan-NL

    Member Nathan-NL GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You have a 3-in-1 Plus already? 0.0

    Well, yeah..

    That could be the problem..
     
  7. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, go figure. just ordered one with a cyclods and that's what came. I mean, cool that I got the latest and greatest, but sucks that things don't seem to work too well with it right now.
     
  8. Santee

    Member Santee Jalapeño

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
    yep but i saw that there was a download for an updated source code for the plus does anybody know if it works on the cyclods
     
  9. dwulf

    Newcomer dwulf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys. I am having the same problem. I have a cyclo ds evolution, updated to 1.51 firmware, and just received my EZ 3in1 today in the mail. When I turn the DS on and get to the main nintendo menu, it says there is no gba gamepak inserted. Then, when I try to load EXPloader v0.57 thru the cyclo, it tells me that a Slot2 expansion pack was not found and powers off. Are there any other utilities/files I need to get the cyclo talking to the EZ 3in1? As far as I can tell, I don't have the 3in1 plus, just the standard 3in1. My endless thanks in advance to any help you guys might be able to offer.
     
  10. Santee

    Member Santee Jalapeño

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
    get gbaxploder v0.58b see if that works and if it says it's a plus if neither then it's probably defective sry
     
  11. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    You need to get Exploader .58b to use it. CycloDS will not recognize it. After speaking with the CycloDS tech support, it's a known issue that will be addressed in a future firmware update for the CycloDS (they need to integrate the code for the 3in1Pls into the CycloDS firmware).

    For now, though, you can use Exploader to play GBA games. Rumble and the RAM expansion don't seem to work.
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You need to copy SoftReset.CEVO on the root of your microSD to be able to use Rumble and RAM expansion under GBAexploader.
     
  13. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    indeed... and that makes Exploader see them, and act like it's enabling them (brief rumble), but Opera (patched/unpatched), or games patched/unpatched (for rumble) do not work.

    I've seen others complain about this with the 3in1Plus on the teamcyclops forums, as well as on the forums that EZFlash uses.
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This bug must be reported to rudolph then. [​IMG]

    BTW, i think TC will integrate the new 3in1plus source code to their firmware. It's just a question of time, as usual
     
  15. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, they've said they will:

    From TC earlier today via email:

    "Hello,

    We are aware of the new hardware EZ 3in1(PLUS) and the R&D team have been
    informed.

    Please frequently visit our web page to see if a new firmware supporting
    the device is avalaible.


    Thanks for you support."
     
  16. dwulf

    Newcomer dwulf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi again. I was able to get the GBA games working with the EXPloader 0.58b. Thanks a lot for your help, guys! I thought I had the latest version of exploader but I guess not. I'll be sure to keep checking the cyclo site for further updates that will provide full functionality for the 3in1. The main reason I purchased the EZ 3in1 was to play GBA games, so I'm happy! Thanks again. [​IMG]
     
  17. JeriSting

    Newcomer JeriSting Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Hey All!

    New guy here. New to this world of Homebrew, new to all of it.

    Seems like I'm *too* new, and could use some help.

    My CycloDS also does not read my EZ flash 3 in 1. I'm running v.1.53 on the Cyclo, and just received a brand spankin new EZ Flash V.

    No matter how I try to remedy this problem, nothing will let my card or my DS recognize that the EZ flash is in. All programs have failed... and when I try to register at Cyclo's forums, it seems my email was banned, and no email's are allowed to the admin... even though I've *never* been a member there [​IMG] Go Figure. Does that mean the EZ is busted? Am I missing some crucial step?


    I took EZ out of the box. Put it in my DS. Tried to load GBA Exploader. "SLot2 expansion pack not found". Tried to boot from CycloDS. "Compatible Slot 2 device not found". I feel like I'm missing some sort of software.... or something. Searches in google lead me anywhere but to an answer. Can someone please walk me through this like I'm slow? [​IMG]



    EDIT: EUREKA! With the new CycloDS 1.54B1, Games are enabled from the CycloDS Menu.... just no RAM or Browser support.... *yet*
     
  18. xtinct84

    Newcomer xtinct84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Us 3in1 plus users will have to wait a few months to get full functionality. Since the total pop of the users is still fairly low the push for the RAM/Rumble source code has been placed on the back burner. For now.
     
  19. staze

    Newcomer staze Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Where do you find Beta's?

    UPDATE: nevermind... found it.
     

Share This Page