Custom Frodo for C64 VC Injection

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiCrazy, Aug 26, 2008.

Aug 26, 2008
  1. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Download here : http://www.tepetaklak.com/data/frodosrc.rar

    Here is the readme :

    Custom Frodo to load And save C64 VC game snapshots.
    by WiiCrazy (I.R.on)

    Changes
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    07/10/2008 : Source release (Sound working, vic state enchanced(?))
    Tweaked to work in Visual Studio 2008 hence it's a bit deviated from original source, original can
    be downloaded from http://frodo.cebix.net/
    You need to have directx sdk installed or have the necessary libraries from directx sdk and set
    those in vs ide.

    Technical Details
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This custom frodo is based on the snapshot that comes with International Karate VC game
    and currently limited to the single file games.

    C64 VC emulator on Wii is probably a Frodo ported to this platform with changes
    in interface, controls and snapshot format.

    Frodo snapshot contains various chips states along with the contents of C64 RAM, 1541 RAM
    so on. Currently some of those state information is restored in the patched snapshot.
    The rest will come from the international karate snapshot file. Currently only ram, cpu, sid
    and vic state is restored. There are problems with the cia chips state. But that should not
    be a problem for most of the games.


    Usage
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    First of all you need the snapshot from International Karate game to make use of this. It's in
    the LZ77_snapshot.bin file. You need to decompress it first with gbalzss tool. I'm not going into
    details of how this file can be obtained. Once you got the decompressed snapshot file
    (it should be 68,928 bytes), name it as ik.fss and put it in the same folder as this app.

    Load a single file game in custom Frodo (in the preferences set the d64 file and load the game)
    Preferably in the crack intro or trainer (if there is any) or in any part of the game take a snapshot
    using Patch and Save snapshot option under Tools.

    Compress your taken snapshot with the gbalzss tool and replace the LZ77_snapshot.bin file in the
    original international karate wad file. Now you have an injected c64 VC game! Enjoy [​IMG]

    Thanks
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Bo_Frost : Finding out the snapshot thing and testing it packing, unpacking wads!
    FGOD, Da_GPer : Keeping the topic alive and supplying information


    Additional Info around injection
    BEWARE : non modded wii owners, take extra caution to change and install wads since the custom wad install can cause semi-bricks with incorrect banners and stuff. I am not responsible for any damage you got following the below guide. Take necessary steps before trying to change and install any custom wad!
    ---------------------------------------------------

    A. Getting LZ77_snapshot.bin
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    1. Unpack the international karate wad
    2. Extract the contents of the 5.app u8 archive
    3. There you have LZ77_snapshot.bin, using
    gbalzss d LZ77_snapshot.bin ik.fss
    decompress LZ77_snapshot.bin file with name ik.fss, and put this into the folder where the custom frodo resides.

    B. Creating snapshot for injection
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    1. Open Custom Frodo, load the game to inject using a disk image (d64 file).
    a. Tools/Preferences 8-> Browse and select d64 file. On C64 Basic prompt type LOAD"$",8:LIST
    b. Type LOAD"GAMENAME",8:RUN
    2. Once the game loaded and ran, select Tools->Patch and Save snapshot and give a name to your snapshot and save. (default is snap.fss)
    3. Test your game if it loads using the Load Snapshot option, if it doesn't, try taking the snapshot elsewhere in the game.

    C. Injecting
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    1. Compress your snapshot using gbalzss tool, like gbalzss e snap.fss LZ77_snapshot.bin
    2. Copy (and overwrite the file with the same name) the produced LZ77_snapshot.bin file to the folder where you extracted the 5.app file.
    3. Using u8coes.exe tool reconstruct the 5.app file. Run u8coes.exe, select the 5.app file you extracted out of the wad as original u8 file. The next folder will be automatically selected. For U8 archive to save, point to a safe and known location and click the create button. Now copy created 5.app file to its original location and overwrite the one there.
    4. If your wii is not pal then you need to patch the 1.app file using Wii Generic Patcher to change video mode.
    5. The rest is wad packing as usual and if your wii is not pal then you should use the freethewads to region free the resulting wad.

    Sorry I am not that good at creating easy to use guides [​IMG]

    Advice : After the "A. Getting LZ77_snapshot.bin" part make a backup copy of the wad contents or 5.app file so that when you want to inject another game you don't need to find a clean 5.app file. And after you got the ik.fss file you don't need to repeat this step to inject another game.
     


  2. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you're welcome wiicrazy :-)

    i hope some can figure how to inject multiple game file games...
    but this already more then we hoped for :-)

    ps: going to try and make a giana sisters wad myself. damn i loved that game back in the days...
     
  3. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    I'll be working on that. If I had a pal machine things would be a lot easier, yet there is now an open door in the emu so that I can run any c64 utilities out there. Also I'll look at other c64 vc titles to find the right snapshot format.

    Btw, what would be the most interesting disk based c64 game to play on wii? Last Ninja Series?
     
  4. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i loved the maniac mansion for C64 but another one i really loved was turbo outrun and run the gauntlet...

    but if you need somebody to test the pal versions... i would love to test them for you although you still have a delay cause you have to wait for me everytime, so yeah, a pal wii would be great, but maybe you could do that with any region changer...

    edit: btw, the other gbalzss from you worked, i guess i had the wrong version like you said...
     
  5. JPdensetsu

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    oh that's cool stuff, Thanks
     
  6. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is very very cool indeed. Even yesterday I was thinking how cool it would be to play C64 games on Wii. And now this is released. The only downside is that when I was halfway through reading the tutorial I got dizzy and a terrible headache. All this technical stuff hurts my feeble little brain.
     
  7. Bo Frost

    Newcomer Bo Frost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Germany
    you can play all lucasgames/arts adventures like maniac mansion in scummVM very comfortable.

    what i would like to play is pirates! a 2 disc game. a lot of files in those 2 disks.

    btw. i injected zorro and bruce lee but both dont work right.
    they run normally but in zorro the player does not appear and in bruce lee controls dont work.

    giana runs perfect! [​IMG]

    edit:this is a bit offtopic but i just thought how nice it would be if you could modify a competition pro joystick to play those games on wii. with the wiimote you dont get the authentic feeling. dont know if this is possible, anyone?
     
  8. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    bruce lee was so damn nice!

    i'm trying to inject duotris, a very nice tetris for C64 [​IMG]

    btw, maniac mansion on c64 is a bit different from the scummvm versions... and it brings up childhood memories [​IMG]
     
  9. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *Wets self*

    *Prepares to inject H.E.R.O.*

    Well ok I can pretty much emulate it on my Xbox & Dreamcast but they need plugging in so sweet stuff indeed.

    Ta very much.

    EDIT: Ah fuckery keeps crashing on me. I'll wait for something else I guess [​IMG]
     
  10. Bo Frost

    Newcomer Bo Frost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Germany
    yeah, i played mm on the c64 too. it was the greatest game i had ever seen in those days.very weird...
     
  11. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    having a "runtime error '6' overflow" error when trying to extract the banner.bin and icon.bin

    any ideas on how this can be and how to solve this?
     
  12. Bo Frost

    Newcomer Bo Frost Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Germany
    the easy way is to use VCFE Wip by HowardC
    you can do it manual with a hex editor too but the tool does that automatically.
     
  13. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay I give up. I really tried this but I can't even know how to extract that LZ77_snapshot.bin

    I really hope someone will put something together that more or less automates this whole tedious process.
     
  14. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    people are busy with that so don't worry ;-)
     
  15. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    looks bad [​IMG] may other snapshot point... but custom frodo emulates pretty fast maybe that is why it fails?
     
  16. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Try taking the snapshot before the game starts, the snapshot is nowhere near perfect. Probably unrestored cia state causing the problem. But in theory you could successfully load every single game if you take the snapshot after loading and typing run, then you can complete the enter keypress in the wii at every start of the game. Or you can compress (crunch) the game on the c64 side and you can take the snapshot near the completion of decompression which doesn't rely on vic or cia state much. Well in short you can run every single file game that the wii emu supports actually [​IMG]

    edit: About the bruce lee problem, possible solution is either use the second wiimote or gc controller plugged in the second gc port?
     
  17. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    You can limit the emulation speed in the preferences, just check the "Limit Speed" [​IMG]
     
  18. Da_GPer

    Newcomer Da_GPer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for having me on your thank list. I feel very honored. [​IMG]
     
  19. Da_GPer

    Newcomer Da_GPer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    I just used the program to inject Boulder Dash into the snapshot file. After following the instructions, the WAD didnt work on my Wii. [​IMG]
     
  20. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Today, I'll have a go at some games too.. let's see, what's working, what's not working...
    namely : Boulder Dash, Commando, Lazy Jones and maybe a few others

    edit :
    Commando (working, but make sure you take the snapshot before the initial screen is displayed)
    Boulder Dash (working, you need to start with the second wiimote or gc controller)
    Lazy Jones (possibly this will work too, so I am not testing it [​IMG] )
     

Share This Page