1. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,992
    Country:
    Norway
    @cpasjuste I don't know if it's NH2.5's fault or this, but when I install the NH2.5 payload manually in themehax, the boot rate becomes really bad, and it gets stuck on the garbled screen more often than not. I went back to the old payload and that seems to have helped.
     
  2. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    For me old3ds 9.2 the boot rate are better with themehax on 2.5
     
  3. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,992
    Country:
    Norway
    The boot rate was perfect before I updated to 2.5. Maybe it's just 2.5 being buggy, I've heard that there are some issues with it.
     
  4. cpasjuste

    OP cpasjuste GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,084
    Country:
    France
    Hi,

    I noticed the same thing, I think the problem should comes from nh2.5 and themehax but I'll try to test boot rate with hbl instead to see what happen.
     
  5. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    Strange for me its better
     
  6. Krude

    Krude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    With the new NH2.5, i haven't managed a single boot into ReiNand so far. Had to go back to the old 2.1 payload.

    Maybe we need to adjust the offset somehow? I dunno what the offset actually is or does, i just copied the 0x12000 from the template for ReiNand and it worked (for old 2.1), but no chance so far on 2.5.
     
  7. OctopusRift

    OctopusRift GBATemp's Local Octopus, Open 9am-2am. "Not Yet"
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,460
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Hey, can I have the old payloads?? I can't find them anywhere.
     
  8. Krude

    Krude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    If i read your other thread right, you need it for o3DS, i have only the payloads for n3DS, sorry!
     
  9. OctopusRift

    OctopusRift GBATemp's Local Octopus, Open 9am-2am. "Not Yet"
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,460
    Country:
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    could i have those to give to someone of importance?
     
  10. Ericjwg

    Ericjwg GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    3,711
    Country:
    Canada
    2.5 is buggy.....
    I have same coldboot issue.
    I mod payload file to boot cakes.3dsx directly, the boot rate is bad... so bad...:gun:
     
  11. clock

    clock Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    strange that with 2.5 my boot rate seems to be better and faster too, I can boot into reiNand pretty much everytime unlike before.
     
  12. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,490
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, i just want to have the option to boot into smealums HBL and boot into Mashers HBL with grid layout.
    Code:
        // Boot menu entries (11 max)
        entries =
        (
            {
                title  = "Homebrew Menu";
                path = "/boot_hb.3dsx";
            },
            {
                title  = "Homebrew Menu with Grid Layout";
                path = "/boot_mg.3dsx";
            },
        );
    };
    But they don't show up, i can manually browse to the .3dsx and boot it, but i can't choose
    The only options showing are:
    - Browse for file to boot
    - Netload 3dsx
    - Reboot
    - Power Off

    [EDIT]

    Stupid me, found the error :/ -> no comma after last entry and it solved the problem
    Code:
        // Boot menu entries (11 max)
        entries =
        (
            {
                title  = "Homebrew Menu";
                path = "/boot_hb.3dsx";
            },
            {
                title  = "Homebrew Menu with Grid Layout";
                path = "/boot_mg.3dsx";
            }
        );
    };
     
    Last edited by DjoeN, Oct 27, 2015
    AileenLumina likes this.
  13. andrexd

    andrexd Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    I cant seem to autoboot reinand cfw, i just get a black screen... anyone knows why?
     
  14. m45t3r

    m45t3r GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    Brazil
    Changing offset will not help you, it will only make it even worse (actually, it shouldn't boot at all). Changing the delay/autobootfix may help, however it may not.

    If someone with boot problems is interested to help, I may try some ideas in my HBL-Emergency (please post in the linked topic your 3DS version and if you're a N3DS or O3DS user). I would need someone to test if some modifications in the source code improve (or decrease) the boot rate. I now know that CakeBrah uses the GFX and you need to proper initialize it first before running it, or the boot rate will be pretty bad, so maybe cleaning the GPU memory first or something in these lines may help (and I want to test).

    I wanna try there since I actually known my code, however if I find something that works I could share the code with @cpasjuste, since some ideas (like autobootfix) are taken from his code anyway.
     
    fmkid likes this.
  15. RustInPeace

    RustInPeace Samurai Cop
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,910
    Country:
    United States
    How? What did you do?
     
  16. Orcastraw

    Orcastraw Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get this to boot into RX tools for me and I have the same problem as DjoeN where I only get the 4 options and not the applications I chose to boot in the config.
     
  17. halop

    halop Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    now i get a >90% bootrate on my N3DS:

    RXTools nightly 2015-10-27
    Theamehax 1.3
    autobootfix = 2

    :)
     
    Last edited by halop, Oct 29, 2015
  18. pdapanda

    pdapanda GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Country:
    Switzerland
  19. Krude

    Krude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I'm never actually auto-booting into CFW, i always manually select the option, so delay/autobootfix should do precisely nothing.
    I'm currently booting ReiNand.dat directly, since trying to boot it via .3dsx from CBM has never worked.
     
  20. m45t3r

    m45t3r GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep, exactly, what I want to try is not related to delay*. They're related to trying to clean the GFX memory and do a proper initialization before running the payload. However I don't have N3DS to test so I need testers.

    *: actually, the autobootfix code is basically a looped Vsync of the main thread, so it already fix something using GFX initialization. What I want to try is explore this idea even further.
     
    Last edited by m45t3r, Oct 29, 2015
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - CtrBootManager, (HomeMenuHax), manager