Copy files off memory card while not hacked?

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Hacking & Homebrew' started by CompC, Feb 10, 2013.

Feb 10, 2013
  1. CompC
    OP

    Member CompC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    I updated my Vita to 2.05 so I could play Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time. Is there a way I can get to the files that ate still on the memory card? I have GBA save files on there from the GBA emulator. I can't use the emulator anymore since it's not hacked anymore but I want to use the save files with another emulator.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Regardless of whether you're on CFW or OFW, you should be able to transfer save files with your current OpenCMA setup as far as I know. All your saves are within the save file you dedicated for homebrew/eCFW.
     
  3. Arizato

    Member Arizato Memento Mori

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry. I think you are out of luck for now. Since I don't think Open CMA detects your emulator as an actual game. You should've used Vita FTP to transfer your files back to your PC before you updated.
     
  4. CompC
    OP

    Member CompC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I should have copied the save files first. I guess I'll have to wait a while to use those save files again.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It doesn't detect it as an actual game since everything's packed in a save file of his choosing. I'm not 100% sure, but I have a firm belief that his saves can be retrieved.
     
  6. Arizato

    Member Arizato Memento Mori

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've been trying to do it myself for a few hours now. I can't seem to find a way to copy the emulator or the saves back to the computer without FTP. It makes sense after all, because you disguise the exploit in the save folder along with any homebrew you want. You make ZIP and place them in the save folder to choose where to install the homebrew. But since it isn't really signed the Vita doesn't detect it, it shows up as corrupted files which can't be transferred back. He should be able to transfer when the next exploit comes around though. As long as he doesn't format his memory card.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, here's for hoping that a new exploit comes up soon then. I was convinced it's all zipped up in the save file, I guess I was wrong. :)

    I really can't wait till the system is hacked, even if just for the sake of "not having to deal with CMA or OpenCMA anymore" - I understand the core concept of introducing it to prevent foul play like piracy (or to be more accurate "make it as inconvenient as humanly possible") but I really, really miss drag and drop - the thing should just be detected as a removable drive just like everything else - using CMA is annoying even for standard use, like copying media.
     
  8. Arizato

    Member Arizato Memento Mori

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    Sweden
    I strongly agree on that. It's tedious as hell using CMA. It's just like when apple forces you to use iTunes, it's just a pain. Cheers to a new hack soon!
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It wouldn't be a problem to me if it was just a matter of being inconvenient for "the evil haxxorz" but this thing is a pain even for legitimate use, like copying songs or videos. I swear, the process takes at least twice as long using CMA compared to just "dragging and dropping stuff via Explorer".
     
    SuzieJoeBob likes this.

Share This Page