Hacking Converting RGH to retail Japanese console

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
855
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
2,940
Country
United States
This is probably nonsense to everyone but!

I found out awhile ago the 00000000x (insert NTSC-U/J/PAL) flag in your keyvault is not signed, and can be changed then booted on a normal dashboard. I have no clue is this is true now, but ideally, I want to make this Jasper I have a Live safe console running legit (flashed) but with NTSC-J.

Would it be as trivial as changing the KV to a Japanese flag and gut the chip? I also know that changing a KV makes it bootable only on a hacked system - this get patched later on or was it always on you booting a hacked system first?
 
Last edited by lisreal2401,

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
855
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
2,940
Country
United States
In my own time I figured out you can absolutely do this, but going on XBL might be a bad idea due to serial number/region not matching. Is there any identifier that would denote this assuming said console never connected?

Dump current nand edit KV to NTSC J region flag, convert nand to retail, flash and kill the power from the RGH - cheaper than purchasing a retail NTSC J.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,562
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,897
Country
Antarctica
Serial numbers can be registered at MS for repair purposes and looking at the registered consoles, it gives quite some details about said unit.
I'm fairly sure they keep a database of serial numbers assigned to regions altho I can't confirm this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,180
Country
United States
@DinohScene is probably right. I know they'll backup the console-specific id in a database at the factory. region is probably part of the id somewhere. I know a little about that sort of thing with the ps3 but almost nothing with the 360, so I could be totally wrong.
 

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
855
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
2,940
Country
United States
I can't once I did more reading.

Sometime during... 6717 a check was added to detect this change in KV - it will just give you some christmas lights, so... rip that idea.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
38,471
Trophies
3
XP
29,180
Country
United States
there's an app to change game region. I don't think it's its primary function. however, the irony is that the game can't be played on anything but a jtag/rgh, so it's pretty useless. I can't recall the app name, but I think it's something I came across when all I had was a flashed system. I'm a big shmup fan of those treasure, cave, and milestone games. I think some were jp only, which is why I looked that up many years ago.
 

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
855
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
2,940
Country
United States
Good news.

I found a Xenon with four RROD (no av cable) plugged in for 1000 yen and fingers crossed it's not for real fucked. I'm fully aware I might end up with a paperweight, but for that price, hoping it can live with light use.
 

WD_GASTER2

Hated by life itself.
Developer
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
779
Trophies
1
XP
1,853
Country
United States
By the way i ventured into this for fun. It can be done until a certain point. Later dashboards use kv type 2 which is hashed (RGH just doesnt give a crap about this and works regardless). It will not allow you to do tampering. I ended up with christmas lights on a xenon that i decided to temporarily rgh for funs and giggles. If your nand is a kv type 1 go to town my friend. lol. However this is moot if you get a new kv.bin it seems.
 
Last edited by WD_GASTER2,
  • Like
Reactions: DanielTaylorHagg

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oh Dragon Quest IX
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Spent like 5 hours on switch one never touched it again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sentinel of the stary skies
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ds is 20 years old this year
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So MJ no longer wants to play with it?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He put it down when the 3ds came out
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, RIP Felix does great videos on the PS3 yellow-light-of-death.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Eventhough the New 3DS XL is more powerful, I still feel like the DS Lite was a more polished system. It's a real shame that it never got an XL variant keeping the GBA slot. You'd have to go on AliExpress and buy an ML shell to give a DS phat the unofficial "DS Lite" treatment, and that's the best we'll ever get I'm afraid.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    The phat model had amazingly loud speakers tho.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5