Hacking Contra 4, working?

Contra 4 working on your TTDS

  • Yes, works fine on 1.07 kernel without having to perform any trickery

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, works after replacing with the Chinese kernel

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, tried the both Chinese and English with no success

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0

Urza

hi
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
773
Country
United States
PLEASE COMPLETE BOTH STEPS BEFORE VOTING

Make sure you're using the 1.07 kernel located here, and not the Neoflash version.

If the english version doesn't work, try using the simplified Chinese (chs) version, then replacing the "language.ini" with the one from the English folder (language.ini is located in the TTMenu folder). Please post if this fixes the problem.

And by working, I mean it generates the save correctly.
 

juancarlos234

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
It couldn't generate o proper Save for me. I was given one off here, and it worked perfectly. It's not the game that's the problem, just appears to be the .sav generating
 

twit21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Anchorage, AK
XP
164
Country
United States
Contra 4 works. I got the "can't find save file" error, but when I looked on the TF card there was a CONTRA4.SAV file there. Something about that ROM causes the kernel to write the filename with all caps. I renamed it to "Contra4.sav" and now it works fine.
happy.gif
 

pinobot

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
Contra 4 works. I got the "can't find save file" error, but when I looked on the TF card there was a CONTRA4.SAV file there. Something about that ROM causes the kernel to write the filename with all caps. I renamed it to "Contra4.sav" and now it works fine.
happy.gif
Thanks, i had the same problem with FIFA06, changed .SAV to .sav and it worked.
bow.gif
 

bxjoe

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
Contra 4 works. I got the "can't find save file" error, but when I looked on the TF card there was a CONTRA4.SAV file there. Something about that ROM causes the kernel to write the filename with all caps. I renamed it to "Contra4.sav" and now it works fine.
happy.gif


Thanks man you saved me some frustration there, worked just as you said. I ran into a similar problem with my geometry wars save. the DSTT decided to change the extension to .SAV and didn't recognize it, thought I had lost my progress, but your info helped me out big time. thanks again.
yaynds.gif
 

dmonkey21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
373
Trophies
1
Age
32
Website
Visit site
XP
432
Country
United States
Contra 4 works. I got the "can't find save file" error, but when I looked on the TF card there was a CONTRA4.SAV file there. Something about that ROM causes the kernel to write the filename with all caps. I renamed it to "Contra4.sav" and now it works fine.
happy.gif
Hmmm that is wierd... That happens to me on many m3 simpyl games... Contra 4 included. It renames the sav file in all-caps, and even if i rename it it goes back to caps after i save again XD
On the simply (r4) it doesn't really matter though, except when choosing a ganme all of them are at the top of the list because it does capitalizations and folders first.
 

twit21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Anchorage, AK
XP
164
Country
United States
QUOTE(Urza's FAQ) said:
Q. How about Contra 4? I heard there were issues with that.
A. From my testing, Contra 4 runs perfectly on the 1.07 firmware.
lecture.gif
With all due respect for your work, Urza, this isn't quite what I meant when I posted about you adding to your FAQ. It doesn't answer the issue, which is Contra 4 creating a "CONTRA4.SAV" file that needs to be renamed to "Contra4.sav" before it will actually work. Something along these lines needs to be added:

Updated FAQQ. How about Contra 4? I heard there were issues with that.
A. From my testing, Contra 4 runs perfectly on the 1.07 firmware. If you run into an error message that tells you that the save file cannot be found, try renaming "CONTRA4.SAV" to "Contra4.sav" - removing the capital letters from the file name (especially the extension) while matching the ROM's file name.
 

Urza

hi
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
773
Country
United States
QUOTE(Urza's FAQ) said:
Q. How about Contra 4? I heard there were issues with that.
A. From my testing, Contra 4 runs perfectly on the 1.07 firmware.
lecture.gif
With all due respect for your work, Urza, this isn't quite what I meant when I posted about you adding to your FAQ. It doesn't answer the issue, which is Contra 4 creating a "CONTRA4.SAV" file that needs to be renamed to "Contra4.sav" before it will actually work. Something along these lines needs to be added:

Updated FAQ said:
Q. How about Contra 4? I heard there were issues with that.
A. From my testing, Contra 4 runs perfectly on the 1.07 firmware. If you run into an error message that tells you that the save file cannot be found, try renaming "CONTRA4.SAV" to "Contra4.sav" - removing the capital letters from the file name (especially the extension) while matching the ROM's file name.
Lets read the whole thing now, shall we?
QUOTE
Q. Why aren't the saves from my R4 working? Don't they have the same extension as the DSTT saves?
A. Capitalization is the key. Change the capitalized ".SAV" extension of the file to the lowercase ".sav".
 

twit21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Anchorage, AK
XP
164
Country
United States
Well, for one thing, just changing ".SAV" to ".sav" won't always fix the problem. The rest of the file name needs to match the ROM file name, at least in the case of Contra 4 (Meteos created a "METEOS.SAV" file, and my DSTT boots it just fine). Also, I think that the error message text "save file not found" (or whatever the exact text is) should be in there for people who are scanning the FAQ for that specific problem, but it's your FAQ not mine.

Just don't ding people for not reading the FAQ if it doesn't, in fact, answer all of the frequently asked questions.
 

twit21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
181
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
Anchorage, AK
XP
164
Country
United States
Well, I guess I just give people too much credit when it comes to common sense.

I'll go update it now.
That you do. Never understood why it's called common sense when it's not so common. ~.~

I apologize, Urza, reading over my previous posts I realize I come off sounding like an asshole. That's not my intention, it's just the tone that my writing sometimes takes.
biggrin.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    NinStar @ NinStar: @HiradeGirl I'm real during the moments you are sleeping