Contra 4, working?

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Urza, Jan 15, 2008.

?

Contra 4 working on your TTDS

  1. Yes, works fine on 1.07 kernel without having to perform any trickery

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes, works after replacing with the Chinese kernel

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No, tried the both Chinese and English with no success

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Jan 15, 2008

Contra 4, working? by Urza at 12:04 AM (2,736 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    PLEASE COMPLETE BOTH STEPS BEFORE VOTING

    Make sure you're using the 1.07 kernel located here, and not the Neoflash version.

    If the english version doesn't work, try using the simplified Chinese (chs) version, then replacing the "language.ini" with the one from the English folder (language.ini is located in the TTMenu folder). Please post if this fixes the problem.

    And by working, I mean it generates the save correctly.
     
  2. juancarlos234

    Newcomer juancarlos234 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It couldn't generate o proper Save for me. I was given one off here, and it worked perfectly. It's not the game that's the problem, just appears to be the .sav generating
     
  3. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you need the new kernal
     
  4. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Contra 4 works. I got the "can't find save file" error, but when I looked on the TF card there was a CONTRA4.SAV file there. Something about that ROM causes the kernel to write the filename with all caps. I renamed it to "Contra4.sav" and now it works fine. [​IMG]
     
  5. pinobot

    Newcomer pinobot Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, i had the same problem with FIFA06, changed .SAV to .sav and it worked. [​IMG]
     
  6. bxjoe

    Newcomer bxjoe Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks man you saved me some frustration there, worked just as you said. I ran into a similar problem with my geometry wars save. the DSTT decided to change the extension to .SAV and didn't recognize it, thought I had lost my progress, but your info helped me out big time. thanks again. [​IMG]
     
  7. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Urza should probably add this to his FAQ.
     
  8. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Its already in the FAQ. People just need to start reading it before asking.
     
  9. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm that is wierd... That happens to me on many m3 simpyl games... Contra 4 included. It renames the sav file in all-caps, and even if i rename it it goes back to caps after i save again XD
    On the simply (r4) it doesn't really matter though, except when choosing a ganme all of them are at the top of the list because it does capitalizations and folders first.
     
  10. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
     
  11. XmemphistoX

    Member XmemphistoX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    My contra 4 used to crash right after the first level. Blank black screen. I turned on DMA mode and it works fine now.
     
  12. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
     
  13. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Well, for one thing, just changing ".SAV" to ".sav" won't always fix the problem. The rest of the file name needs to match the ROM file name, at least in the case of Contra 4 (Meteos created a "METEOS.SAV" file, and my DSTT boots it just fine). Also, I think that the error message text "save file not found" (or whatever the exact text is) should be in there for people who are scanning the FAQ for that specific problem, but it's your FAQ not mine.

    Just don't ding people for not reading the FAQ if it doesn't, in fact, answer all of the frequently asked questions.
     
  14. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I guess I just give people too much credit when it comes to common sense.

    I'll go update it now.
     
  15. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    That you do. Never understood why it's called common sense when it's not so common. ~.~

    I apologize, Urza, reading over my previous posts I realize I come off sounding like an asshole. That's not my intention, it's just the tone that my writing sometimes takes. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page