1. FTommy

    OP FTommy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Hungary
    So i have a TP-Link Wifi router configured at my flat and for safety reasons i have to use WPA security on it but this way,i can't connect to WFC via games such as MM Starforce 3 or Pokemon. In the system menu on my DSi i can connect to it via Advanced Internet Settings and i can go on the DSiware shop as well this way, but in the games,i can only access the old DS Internet menu and that way it can only work with WEP security and i don't wanna change the security every time i wanna play these on WFC. Is there a way to go around this or Acekard will never be able to do such things? [​IMG]
     
  2. GreatZimkogway

    GreatZimkogway Still a Touhou Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,141
    Country:
    United States
    No. It is utterly impossible for any current flashcard, minus the iEvo, to use DSi Mode. Either you have to downgrade to WEP, or you can't use it. Very few games, and only recent ones(Black/White is an example) can use WPA, and that's retail only
     
  3. FTommy

    OP FTommy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Hungary
    Darn....thanks for the reply though.
     
  4. vyperstrike

    vyperstrike Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I set up a second wireless access point to use just for the DS. MAC filtering, so I can leave it without regular security.

    Not a bad workaround if you have old networking stuff laying around.
     
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    MAC spoofing is easy.
     
  6. Schlupi

    Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Country:
    United States
    People can still crack WPA if they wanna, you know...

    Just use a WEP and if you notice any strange activity or bandwith usage change it back.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Connecting, protected, routers