Configuring jEnesis

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Rokku, Dec 21, 2011.

Dec 21, 2011

Configuring jEnesis by Rokku at 4:10 AM (567 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Rokku
    OP

    Member Rokku GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Country:
    United States
    I have jEnesis 0.7.4, and it runs fine, but it won't recognize my .md ROM files, only the one .gen one.

    How do I get it to recognize my other ROM files so I can play the other games?
     
  2. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,479
    Country:
    United States
    trying changeing the file output like for example not sure you file is at the end try this

    contra.md= contra.bin

    see if that works.

    or contra.gen.
     
  3. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    idk if it supports .md... but .smd works fine for me.
     
  4. Rokku
    OP

    Member Rokku GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Country:
    United States
    So if I rename my .md files to .bin or .gen, they should work with jEnesis?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming it supports JP stuff, yeah.
     
  6. Rokku
    OP

    Member Rokku GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Country:
    United States
    Well it does have a JAP mode.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely you can just change the file extension and you'll be fine. At least on the SNES, all the various file formats pretty much only differ in the 512-byte header that all modern emulators ignore. It was important for proper copying back to an SNES copier, but for emulation purposes they're all the same. I suspect the same might be true on the Genesis as well, though I'm not 100% sure about that.
     
  8. Rokku
    OP

    Member Rokku GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Country:
    United States
    Changing the files to .gen worked! Now I can play Streets of Rage 2 and Rocket Knight Adventures and Vectorman!

    Thanks!
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Awesomesauce. Glad to hear it was just a file naming convention issue and not something more serious. Happy playing, dude! =D
     

Share This Page