Hardware Computer Temporarily crashes when playing certain games?

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
HI! I've been receiving this issue for about as long as i've had this pc. What happens is when i play certain games (nier automata, dmc5, doom etc.) My entire computer crashes randomly in the middle of the session. Sometimes it happens at launch, sometimes it's after i change a setting, sometimes it's completely random and im just navigating a menu. Here is a video of it happening in the middle of nier automata:
(crash happens at 0:52). The monitor goes black and says it isn't getting a signal. A few moments later the computer comes back on and regardless of the game, it will be in windowed mode with a white screen, though the game is still running since the audio keeps playing, even it cutscenes.
Here are my pc specs:


[UserBenchmarks: Game 103%, Desk 87%, Work 72%](https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/18992002)
||Model|Bench
:----|:----|:----|
**CPU**|[AMD Ryzen 5 2600X](https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/AMD-Ryzen-5-2600X/Rating/3956)|81.6%
**GPU**|[AMD RX Vega 56](https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/AMD-RX-Vega-56/Rating/3938)|118.7%
**SSD**|[Samsung 860 Evo 250GB](https://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Samsung-860-Evo-250GB/Rating/3949)|116.7%
**HDD**|[Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2018)](https://hdd.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/466743/ST2000DM008-2FR102)|90%
**HDD**|[Seagate BUP Slim BK 2TB](https://hdd.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/10960/Seagate-BUP-Slim-BK)|43.2%
**RAM**|[Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 C16 2x8GB](https://ram.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/471131/Corsair-Vengeance-LPX-CMK16GX4M2D3000C16-2x8GB)|77.8%
**MBD**|[Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO WIFI](https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Gigabyte-GA-B450-AORUS-PRO-WIFI-CF/93991)|

also not listed is my power supply, which is a Corsair CX Series 750 Watt 80 Plus



I don't have even the slightest issue of what is going on. I really appreciate anybody who could take the time and attempt to work out what might be going on. Thank you!
 

Captain_N

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2010
Messages
1,893
Trophies
1
XP
1,713
Country
United States
sounds to me like the gpu is crashing. The ati wonder gpu i have back in 2005 used to do it. It then did say the gpu recovered from a crash and had enables software mode . maybe the drivers need new a update? Your gpu could be bad also.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,130
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,472
Country
Norway
HI! I've been receiving this issue for about as long as i've had this pc. What happens is when i play certain games (nier automata, dmc5, doom etc.) My entire computer crashes randomly in the middle of the session. Sometimes it happens at launch, sometimes it's after i change a setting, sometimes it's completely random and im just navigating a menu. Here is a video of it happening in the middle of nier automata:
(crash happens at 0:52). The monitor goes black and says it isn't getting a signal. A few moments later the computer comes back on and regardless of the game, it will be in windowed mode with a white screen, though the game is still running since the audio keeps playing, even it cutscenes.
Here are my pc specs:


[UserBenchmarks: Game 103%, Desk 87%, Work 72%](https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/18992002)
||Model|Bench
:----|:----|:----|
**CPU**|[AMD Ryzen 5 2600X](https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/AMD-Ryzen-5-2600X/Rating/3956)|81.6%
**GPU**|[AMD RX Vega 56](https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/AMD-RX-Vega-56/Rating/3938)|118.7%
**SSD**|[Samsung 860 Evo 250GB](https://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Samsung-860-Evo-250GB/Rating/3949)|116.7%
**HDD**|[Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2018)](https://hdd.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/466743/ST2000DM008-2FR102)|90%
**HDD**|[Seagate BUP Slim BK 2TB](https://hdd.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/10960/Seagate-BUP-Slim-BK)|43.2%
**RAM**|[Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 C16 2x8GB](https://ram.userbenchmark.com/SpeedTest/471131/Corsair-Vengeance-LPX-CMK16GX4M2D3000C16-2x8GB)|77.8%
**MBD**|[Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO WIFI](https://www.userbenchmark.com/System/Gigabyte-GA-B450-AORUS-PRO-WIFI-CF/93991)|

also not listed is my power supply, which is a Corsair CX Series 750 Watt 80 Plus



I don't have even the slightest issue of what is going on. I really appreciate anybody who could take the time and attempt to work out what might be going on. Thank you!
Definitely sounds like a GPU driver crash. You should get a message in the bottom right saying something like "Windows has recovered from a graphics driver crash"
Maybe your GPU is overheating? Doesn't necessarily have to overheat to crash, but that would be an easy thing to fix.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
XP
1,547
Country
United States
Tough to say for sure, but some quick high-level debugging:

- Seems to be a GPU-related issue, specifically graphics. You are probably routing the audio of the game through the audio codecs on the GPU, and the audio seems to continue, so doesn't seem like the entire GPU locks up. AMD isn't known to have the most robust graphics drivers, so it is probably related to that. Have you tried a different monitor? Maybe there is some corner case/out of spec behavior by that specific monitor which isn't handled specifically by the card.

- The OS doesn't crash, which means it isn't a critical system component causing the issue. Windows decoupled the OS from most high-level drivers a while ago now, so this doesn't rule out much, though. However, Windows will alert you if it needed to restart the GPU driver due to timeouts, so in this case it doesn't seem your GPU is entirely locking up.

- The system itself does not restart, so it is not a heat issue. Probably not a power issue, either, but tough to say w.r.t. discrete components like GPU.

- Your GPU isn't super new, so hopefully they have ironed out most of the specific bugs with that chip by this point.

My first instinct would be to try a different monitor if possible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
Uninstall and reinstall the vega 56 drivers, seems like a gpu problem. Is your compute running cool?
not particularly, i can run this thing pretty hot in the specific games that dont crash for whatever reason.
Definitely sounds like a GPU driver crash. You should get a message in the bottom right saying something like "Windows has recovered from a graphics driver crash"
Maybe your GPU is overheating? Doesn't necessarily have to overheat to crash, but that would be an easy thing to fix.
Definitely not overheating. In this scenario it doesnt get very hot, and in games like forza the temperature goes way higher without a hitch.
sounds to me like the gpu is crashing. The ati wonder gpu i have back in 2005 used to do it. It then did say the gpu recovered from a crash and had enables software mode . maybe the drivers need new a update? Your gpu could be bad also.
uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers now.
Tough to say for sure, but some quick high-level debugging:

- Seems to be a GPU-related issue, specifically graphics. You are probably routing the audio of the game through the audio codecs on the GPU, and the audio seems to continue, so doesn't seem like the entire GPU locks up. AMD isn't known to have the most robust graphics drivers, so it is probably related to that. Have you tried a different monitor? Maybe there is some corner case/out of spec behavior by that specific monitor which isn't handled specifically by the card.

- The OS doesn't crash, which means it isn't a critical system component causing the issue. Windows decoupled the OS from most high-level drivers a while ago now, so this doesn't rule out much, though. However, Windows will alert you if it needed to restart the GPU driver due to timeouts, so in this case it doesn't seem your GPU is entirely locking up.

- The system itself does not restart, so it is not a heat issue. Probably not a power issue, either, but tough to say w.r.t. discrete components like GPU.

- Your GPU isn't super new, so hopefully they have ironed out most of the specific bugs with that chip by this point.

My first instinct would be to try a different monitor if possible.
Will try my second monitor the second these drivers finish.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,130
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,472
Country
Norway
not particularly, i can run this thing pretty hot in the specific games that dont crash for whatever reason.

Definitely not overheating. In this scenario it doesnt get very hot, and in games like forza the temperature goes way higher without a hitch.

uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers now.

Will try my second monitor the second these drivers finish.
Is the GPU overclocked?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
Is the GPU overclocked?
Tried my second monitor and went nuts with the nier automata settings. Oddly enough, no crashes. This monitor is a standard 1080p 60hz MO itor for office work, while my main monitor is 144hz with freesync and is also 1080p. When the 144hz monitor is primary, regardless if both monitors are connected, I get consistent crashing. Any clue what I should do? I don't want to have to go to back to bad frame pacing.
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
XP
1,547
Country
United States
Tried my second monitor and went nuts with the nier automata settings. Oddly enough, no crashes. This monitor is a standard 1080p 60hz MO itor for office work, while my main monitor is 144hz with freesync and is also 1080p. When the 144hz monitor is primary, regardless if both monitors are connected, I get consistent crashing. Any clue what I should do? I don't want to have to go to back to bad frame pacing.

3774rw.jpg


Due to lax requirements in the official spec, "Freesync" basically comes with no guarantees. If that was a budget monitor, it is likely that it is either (a) slightly out of spec or (b) within spec but using a specific, corner-case mode which the AMD drivers do not fully support.

If you can, I would try turning off Freesync in the monitor settings and seeing what happens then. From there, it sounds like you have a choice to make.
 
Last edited by PityOnU,
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
3774rw.jpg


Due to lax requirements in the official spec, "Freesync" basically comes with no guarantees. If that was a budget monitor, it is likely that it is either (a) slightly out of spec or (b) within spec but using a specific, corner-case mode which the AMD drivers do not support.

If you can, I would try turning of Freesync in the monitor settings and seeing what happens then. From there, it sounds like you have a choice to make.
Can confirm turning off freesync does not fix the issue whatsoever. Here's my monitor for comparison BTW. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07794JYLJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_bia_widget_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
XP
1,547
Country
United States
Can confirm turning off freesync does not fix the issue whatsoever. Here's my monitor for comparison BTW. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07794JYLJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_bia_widget_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Hmmm... Well the only additional difference between 1080p60hz and 1080p144hz would be the amount of data getting pumped down the cable.

Citation needed, but off the top of my head, as you send more data down the cable, your pixel clock will need to go up. Higher frequency signals will be less robust to noise and line capacitance/inductance.

Can you try with a different (potentially shorter) HDMI/DisplayPort cable? The monitor may be coming out of sync with the signal from your PC.
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
Hmmm... Well the only additional difference between 1080p60hz and 1080p144hz would be the amount of data getting pumped down the cable.

Citation needed, but off the top of my head, as you send more data down the cable, your pixel clock will need to go up. Higher frequency signals will be less robust to noise and line capacitance/inductance.

Can you try with a different (potentially shorter) HDMI/DisplayPort cable? The monitor may be coming out of sync with the signal from your PC.
I have the hdmi and display port cable that came with it, not much more. Since im using the display port, ill try the hdmi. Also, isnt hdmi worse than display port from what i hear? I'll test it, but isn't it only like 120hz?
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
XP
1,547
Country
United States
I have the hdmi and display port cable that came with it, not much more. Since im using the display port, ill try the hdmi. Also, isnt hdmi worse than display port from what i hear? I'll test it, but isn't it only like 120hz?

Depends on the revision.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_comparison

Anything less than HDMI 2.0 will be limited to 1080p120hz

Seems Vega 56 supports HDMI 2.0 (but the official spec has 1.5m cable length limit).
 
Last edited by PityOnU,

AbyssalMonkey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
362
Trophies
0
Location
Prox
XP
2,048
Country
Antarctica
This is almost 100% a GPU driver crash.

If you open up the windows event viewer, you will in all likelyhood see an error stating something like "Display driver XXXXXXXXX stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

Try grinding your GPU with Furmark on max settings and see if you can create the crash again. If possible, just to rule out any inconsistencies, use a monitoring tool like afterburner and record all the logs. You might notice something funky in the logs which could be your clue as to why it's crashing, like perhaps VRAM is being oversaturated.
I have the hdmi and display port cable that came with it, not much more. Since im using the display port, ill try the hdmi. Also, isnt hdmi worse than display port from what i hear? I'll test it, but isn't it only like 120hz?
They're just standards, so if you have an old standard, a newer one could be better than it.
 

PityOnU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,171
Trophies
0
XP
1,547
Country
United States
Try grinding your GPU with Furmark on max settings and see if you can create the crash again. If possible, just to rule out any inconsistencies, use a monitoring tool like afterburner and record all the logs. You might notice something funky in the logs which could be your clue as to why it's crashing, like perhaps VRAM is being oversaturated.

That's interesting - I didn't think of the increase in memory bandwidth at higher refresh rates...

AMD chose HBM2 specifically for higher bandwidth, though, so you would hope that's not the problem here...
 

Y0shII

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,453
Country
Costa Rica
It looks like what happened to my old Geforce 780 and it end up with some graphical glitches even on the bios/uefi screen. By any chance, did you check on the event viewer for any graphic driver recovery attempts? I saw those recoveries with some drives and others end up with a nasty bluescreen but only running games. No need to reinstall windows since it happens only with apps that make heavy use of the video card (unless you are getting those issues with regular usage).

Can you try with a different (potentially shorter) HDMI/DisplayPort cable? The monitor may be coming out of sync with the signal from your PC.

I suggest to test that card using all the inputs to discard any hardware issue affecting one of those video ports (HDMI/DisplayPort/DVI if available).
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
OP
Member
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
New York
XP
2,715
Country
United States
Depends on the revision.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_comparison

Anything less than HDMI 2.0 will be limited to 1080p120hz

Seems Vega 56 supports HDMI 2.0 (but the official spec has 1.5m cable length limit).
Has the same issue with hdmi, though now I can only go up to 60hz for some reason.
This is almost 100% a GPU driver crash.

If you open up the windows event viewer, you will in all likelyhood see an error stating something like "Display driver XXXXXXXXX stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

Try grinding your GPU with Furmark on max settings and see if you can create the crash again. If possible, just to rule out any inconsistencies, use a monitoring tool like afterburner and record all the logs. You might notice something funky in the logs which could be your clue as to why it's crashing, like perhaps VRAM is being oversaturated.

They're just standards, so if you have an old standard, a newer one could be better than it.
Downloading furmark now.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol