1. Polarise

    OP Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I've been having this issue where when I try to log in to my computer, it freezes after I type the password and press enter. A minute later it gives the error KMODE EXCEPTION...

    I know that I could reset my computer but there are a few problems,
    1. My computer doesn't have a BIOS.
    2. I've tried booting into safe mode and it works there.

    My computer is a Lenovo ideapad U310 from 2015. 8gb ram and i7.
     
  2. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    Sounds like either a bad startup program or corrupt system files.

    Since you can get into safe mode, you should be able to access and post the dump reports from your BSoD and post them here so the people who know can find out exactly which files are causing your crash.

    Meanwhile one thing you can try is disabling startup programs using msconfig. Also scan your drive for errors.
     
  3. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,893
    Country:
    Portugal
    wait, "does not have a BIOS"? Doubt that. Unless it has UEFI instead, as most currently do, but it must have one of those for sure. You probably have fast boot or smth enabled.
     
  4. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    It's a 2015 laptop, it definitely has UEFI.
     
  5. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,893
    Country:
    Portugal
    either way, I find the "does not have a BIOS" is the OP saying it has no way of accessing the BIOS/UEFI.
     
  6. spotanjo3

    spotanjo3 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,751
    Country:
    United States
    Just format it to a brand new factory setting and you are all set. Unless you have important information and pics there then you should back up your files before you do this. To be honest with you, Lenovo sucks.
     
    gnmmarechal likes this.
  7. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    How many antiviruses do you have installed? This can happen if you have more than one due to the way they hook into the kernel.
     
  8. Polarise

    OP Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Country:
    United States
    I have decided to just reset my computer with a fresh install of Windows 10. I'll report back if any issues happen again.
     
    spotanjo3 likes this.
  9. Polarise

    OP Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Country:
    United States
    Update: So I decided to play BotW on the Switch leaving my computer on, then an hour or two later, a blue screen came up with an error code of: [MEMMORY MANAGEMENT].
     
  10. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a bad RAM stick.
     
  11. Polarise

    OP Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Country:
    United States
    UPDATE: So I am playing a bit more of BotW leaving the computer on. Every 20 minutes or so it gives a blue screen with CRITICAL PROCESS FAILED... I don't even touch the computer while playing and this has happened 5 times already. Keep in mind that I installed Windows 10 fresh one week ago.
     
  12. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like your video card or RAM sticks are dying then.
     
  13. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,707
    Country:
    Or possibly a hard drive IO failure.

    Edit: a memtest would identify a RAM error, a stress test from a live CD or USB would identify a graphics/CPU failure, but I get the feeling it's a dying HDD.
     
    Last edited by Originality, Mar 19, 2017
  14. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Same. OP can test the SMART status with an inbuilt OEM test or with something like Parted Magic.
     
  15. th3_r3v

    th3_r3v Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    The KMODE error usually happens around the bootloader file time... however, I do believe it represents a fatal corruption in the windows kernel. I do not personally know of any workarounds or fixes besides a format and reimage with a good copy. Tough to say how the win kernel gets corrupted but it happens.

    If you can get in via safe mode, I would try to get to the error logs and look to see if it's one of the win authentication processes that's causing the login corrupt. mdam, uac, or other...
     
  16. SpiffyJUNIOR

    SpiffyJUNIOR GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    Medicat might help.
     
  17. Youkai

    Youkai Demon
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,467
    Country:
    Germany
    have a look at your "even display?" or however this is called in English ... in German it is "Ereignisanzeige"
    there Windows shows you a propper error message with time stamp and whatever.

    Usually it give an error code you can search up online to find out the problem.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Computer, freezes, logging