compmgmt.msc help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by JoshiYoshi64, Nov 24, 2017.

  1. JoshiYoshi64
    OP

    JoshiYoshi64 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    203
    6
    Feb 15, 2017
    OK so I want to change the admin password and it says this:

    If you click ok the following will occur:

    This user account will immediately lose access to all of it's encrypted files, stored passwords and personal security certificates.

    If you click cancel, the password will not be changed and no data loss will occur.


    So I just wanted to know if it's safe to do.

    Screenshot uploaded below.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Member
    4,136
    1,949
    Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    It's referring mainly to this feature (which very few people I suspect actually use):

    Capture.PNG

    Since you probably never used that account, it's not going to be an issue - anyway, Administrator has no password by default, so you could simply enable it, log in, and set a password the proper way (control panel or ctrl+alt+del menu), which don't have those consequences
     
  3. JoshiYoshi64
    OP

    JoshiYoshi64 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    203
    6
    Feb 15, 2017
    How do I enable it?

    And I found out administrator does have a password.

    Is there an app for free that lets you make a password reset disk (usb)
     
  4. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Member
    4,136
    1,949
    Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    It already is - there's no down-arrow icon on it (but from that very own windows, instead of right clicking > set password, you right click > properties)

    Too bad then, go ahead with your original plan :)

    It's built into windows - press ctrl+alt+del then select change password... but you must create it using the account you want to reset in the first place
     
  5. JoshiYoshi64
    OP

    JoshiYoshi64 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    203
    6
    Feb 15, 2017
    My orginal plan said there would be data loss, is that a safe plan???
    When I click ctrl+alt+del I only get two options on my account, sign out or switch user
     
  6. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Member
    4,136
    1,949
    Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    The data loss applies to the account victim of the forced password change, and only if they're using those encryption features (and even then backups could have been made)
     
Loading...