ChickHen

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by lukands, Jul 19, 2010.

Jul 19, 2010

ChickHen by lukands at 12:26 AM (1,312 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    I had to reset the 5.03 ChickHEN R2 (because the PSP was accidently shut off) but now in the Game menu it says that the memory stick has no games. I have ISO files in the ISO folder? Is there a setting I need to change to read the memory stick games?
     
  2. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    You're in ChickHen mode? I'm not sure because I just used a Pandora, but I think to play ISOs you need to go from OFW -> ChickHen -> any cfw (m33, gen, prometheus)
     
  3. gamefreak94

    Member gamefreak94 GBAtemps (Un)Official Illogical Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    At your window!
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have ChickHen but try pressing select then go to umd iso load and change to M33 driver.
    Edit: I am an idiot forget what i said and follow what Blaze said.
     
  4. Blaze163

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'm fairly sure ChickHen is just the mid-point on the journey between official and custom firmwares. Now you've got it in ChickHen mode the hard part's over. Upgrade to whatever CFW you'd be most comfortable with (personally I went for 5.50 Prometheus) and play away.
     
  5. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Is anyone actually reading the OP's post? He had to reactivate Chick Hen R2 because his PSP shut off -> he's a temp CFW user.
     
  6. melvox

    Member melvox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
    You need to activate the Temp CFW 1st....5.03 Gen or CFWenabler. I don't think you can run ISOs off chickhen. It's just a homebrew enabler.
     
  7. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Exactly.......somehow the CFWenabler file was deleted off the memory stick, thats the part I was missing!!!!
     
  8. Okami Wolfen

    Member Okami Wolfen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    ChichkHEN doesn't do ISOs, just homebrew. You need Custom Firmware to do game backups.
     
  9. Pavichokche

    Newcomer Pavichokche Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    Every time you turn off your PSP (or it freezes or w/e) you need to successfully run ChickHEN and then run some CFW (5.03 GEN-A/B/C, Prometheus) to be able to run ISOs. You should also change the "UMD ISO mode" in the GEN VSH menu to "Sony NP9660".
     
  10. MLRX

    Member MLRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    I keep hearing that everywhere. What does that do exactly?
     
  11. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    It changes the driver in the PSP so it allows you to run ISOs. Normal ofw doesn't allow that.


    And everyone's pretty much just repeating what I stated first >_>
     
  12. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually not, since the OFW will still not read ISOs (and btw, that option's only in CFWs).
    Usually CFWs use the M33 Driver, but you can also choose the NP9660 driver, which being made by Sony itself, is touted by some as more compatible than M33's.
    I've personally found problems with it, and switched back to M33's ages ago.
     
  13. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    The above poster is incorrect, because UMDs contain ISO files. That explains the existance of a sony-made ISO-loading driver.
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uhm...whut?
    ISO is an image file created by a computer. Its like a RAR or ZIP archive that contains all the other files. When you burn it to a CD the ISO file does not exist on that CD your computer just burns all the files within that ISO file to the Disc in their correct placements and structure.
    I'm sure that Sony driver is infact a modified version that allows ISO loading.
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Also, THIS ^
     
  16. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Yeah, just switch USB device from Memory Stick to UMD and connect the PSP to the PC while there's a UMD in the drive.
     
  17. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    This is the filesystem of a usual UMD (in this case, GTA):
    [​IMG]

    No "ISO" files in there [​IMG]
     
  18. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's the CFW providing an easy ISO for you to copy. Basically when you copy it reads off the disc and creates that ISO on the fly to put on your PC.
     

Share This Page