CFW noob questions

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by LatentAxis, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    alright, so, since Im a complete newbie about cfw on the 3ds, I just wanted to ask, what are my options?
    I'm on N3DS FW10.2
    Also, is there any way to install CIA packages for me?
     
  2. EmanueleBGN

    EmanueleBGN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    353
    Jul 22, 2015
    Italy
    To install a CFW you must have a firmware version between 4.x and 9.2
     
  3. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    ohh I see... that sucks.
    Is there any way to downgrade then?
    btw, what about the homebrew exploit, can I somehow use CIA files through that? NVM, you cant :/
     
    Last edited by LatentAxis, Nov 27, 2015
  4. EmanueleBGN

    EmanueleBGN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    353
    Jul 22, 2015
    Italy
    No, you can't downgrade your New 3DS.
    With homebrew you can't load pirated games, .3ds nor .cia
     
  5. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    hmm... so basically, I'm outta luck for now... damn...
     
  6. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    For now?, I'd say forever :rofl2:
     
  7. Jao Chu

    Jao Chu GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,919
    1,211
    Aug 20, 2013
    straya m8
    Somehow, I think OP will have thee CIA install far quicker if they sell their current unit and obtain a 9.2 and below one.
     
  8. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    yeah I was thinking about that too. just cant find anyone who hasnt updated it yet
     
  9. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    Just buy a New old 3DS or a Sky3ds cart.
     
  10. RaMon90

    RaMon90 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    592
    150
    Dec 3, 2013
    Italy
    Your only option is sky3ds but you know its not free and you cant play latest games. Changing n3ds isnt worth, you gonna lose money selling and getting another exploitable n3ds. Or if you do have money, you could find a o3ds with firmware between 4.x-9.2.
     
  11. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    Tony: why an O3DS??
    Yeah, I would have to try to find one.

    Btw, does anyone kow what firmware they come in if bought new?
     
    Last edited by LatentAxis, Nov 27, 2015
  12. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    N3DS = Harder to find, more expensive, harder to set up a CFW, new encryption 9.5 maximum emunand.

    O3DS = Easy to find, cheaper second hand like new ($120), easy CFW setup, full 10.3 emunand, same games (except for a single exclusive game).
     
    Last edited by Tony_93, Nov 27, 2015
  13. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    wait, so old 3DS is harder to set up CFW? haha
    You confused me
     
  14. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    I meant N3DS, edited.

    Anyways, if you buy a N3DS you have 9/10 chances it's going to be above 9.2

    Buy an o3DS new and you'll have an exploitable one.
     
  15. LatentAxis
    OP

    LatentAxis Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 27, 2015
    alright, thats better.
    and ohhh, so it's pretty much guaranteed to be equal or below 9.2?
     
  16. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    As long as you buy it new (and not the newest bundle with 3D Mario Land) it should be in 9.2 or less.
     
  17. Dakani

    Dakani Member

    Newcomer
    20
    1
    May 10, 2014
    Netherlands
    Hey can anyone help me, I just found a 3.0.0-5E 3DS and would like to know what my best option is to do with it
     
  18. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,173
    990
    Jun 13, 2015
    United States
    California
    *Get a game that has the 4.5 update.
    *Use the mset exploit.
    *Install rxTools + emunand
    Optional: Manually update to 9.2 to use the Menuhax + ctrbootmanager combo.
     
  19. Dakani

    Dakani Member

    Newcomer
    20
    1
    May 10, 2014
    Netherlands
    I'm sorry Tony but could you please link me Some tutorials? And also do I need to buy anything except the 3DS?
     
  20. rotebrotobias

    rotebrotobias GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,039
    255
    Jan 31, 2015
    Before making a thread, atleast read the "READ FIRST" sticky thread...