ROM Hack CFW 3DS not booting with new SD card

Zizike

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
107
Country
Hungary
Hello there!

I have Luma3DS installed, and I decided to upgrade my SD card.
I copied the files from my SD card to my PC, then I copied the files to my new SD card.

The problem is, that my 3DS isn't booting with the new SD card, the blue light flashes and fades out. I checked the contents on the card, and even copied the boot.firm and arm9loaderhax.bin files again just to make sure, but it stays the same. It's a 32 GB SD card.

Can someone help me with it?
 
Last edited by Zizike,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,736
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
57
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Hello there!

I have Luma3DS installed, and I decided to upgrade my SD card.
I copied the files from my SD card to my PC, then I copied the files to my new SD card.

The problem is, that my 3DS isn't booting with the new SD card, the blue light flashes and fades out. I checked the contents on the card, and even copied the boot.firm and arm9loaderhax.bin files again just to make sure, but it stays the same. It's a 32 GB SD card.

Can someone help me with it?

Please be sure that your new SD Card is formatted with FAT32 (not exFAT or other).

Thank you.:)
 

Zizike

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
107
Country
Hungary
It's formatted with FAT32, I've formatted and copied the files again just to be sure, but it still doesn't work.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hello.:)



Please be sure that your new SD Card is formatted with FAT32 (not exFAT or other).

Thank you.:)

It's formatted with FAT32, I've formatted and copied the files again just to be sure, but it still doesn't work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,736
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
57
Country
Austria
Thank you.:)

It's formatted with FAT32, I've formatted and copied the files again just to be sure, but it still doesn't work.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



It's formatted with FAT32, I've formatted and copied the files again just to be sure, but it still doesn't work.

Do you maybe still have your previous SD Card (with Data on it) ? Is it still working please ?
Do you have an O3Ds or New3DS please ?
If it is an O3DS,is your SD Card an Regular one or an microSD with Adapter ?

And the Files
and even copied the boot.firm and arm9loaderhax.bin files again just to make sure
are really on the ROOT of your SD Card please ?

Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
  • Like
Reactions: Zizike

Zizike

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
107
Country
Hungary
Thank you.:)



Do you maybe still have your previous SD Card (with Data on it) ? Is it still working please ?
Do you have an O3Ds or New3DS please ?
If it is an O3DS,is your SD Card an Regular one or an microSD with Adapter ?

And the Files

are really on the ROOT of your SD Card please ?

Thank you.:)

Thank you for the quick answer.
Yes, my old SD Card still works, it only has problems with my new SD Card.
I have an Old 3DS.
Both my old and new SD Cards are microSD Cards with adapters.

Yes, both files are on the root of the SD card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,736
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
57
Country
Austria
Thank you.:)

Thank you for the quick answer.
Yes, my old SD Card still works, it only has problems with my new SD Card.
I have an Old 3DS.
Both my old and new SD Cards are microSD Cards with adapters.

Yes, both files are on the root of the SD card.

Thank you for your Informations regarding the SD Card(s).:yay:
Then maybe it is a "Communication" Issue with the 32 GB microSD Card - the Adapter - and the 3DS.

Would you be so kind and post a Picture from the 32 GB Card and the Adapter(s) please ?

Thank you.:)
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
First, try booting without your SD Card inserted. If it works, then delete the "boot.firm" from the your SD Card. If it doesn't work, then download this Luma3DS release and extract it to the root of your SD Card. If your 3DS boots, then follow this guide to update to B9S. If your 3DS still doesn't boot, then try something else.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fmkid

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
First, try booting without your SD Card inserted. If it works, then delete the "boot.firm" from the your SD Card. If it doesn't work, then download this Luma3DS release and extract it to the root of your SD Card. If your 3DS boots, then follow this guide to update to B9S. If your 3DS still doesn't boot, then try something else.
Also, it could be that the console has B9S 1.0. Then it will be good to try decompressing/putting boot.firm on root of the SD from this link:

https://github.com/LumaTeam/Luma3DS/releases/download/v7.1/Luma3DSv7.1.7z
 
Last edited by fmkid,
  • Like
Reactions: Ricken
D

Deleted User

Guest
You did try holding down START while booting the console, right? Note: You have to hold down START before and during boot-up, and you have to release it as soon as you see the chainloader screen. Then, press A to select a payload (if it works).
 
Last edited by ,

Zizike

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
107
Country
Hungary
Thank you for the help, everyone!

Turns out that the problem was with the new SD card itself. I tried using an other SD card, and everything works perfectly.

Thanks again, and I apologize for being such an idiot for not trying this earlier.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
D

Deleted User

Guest
Thank you for the help, everyone!

Turns out that the problem was with the new SD card itself. I tried using an other SD card, and everything works perfectly.

Thanks again, and I apologize for being such an idiot for not trying this earlier.
You need to follow Section VI - CTRNAND Luma3DS in the 3DS Hacks Guide's Finalizing Setup section so that your console will be able to boot without an SD Card inserted.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Hmm didn't know they made more Dusk Till Dawn movies watched part one on Pluto TV and they have...