Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Jamio88, Jan 27, 2011.

Jan 27, 2011

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow by Jamio88 at 12:41 AM (942 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Jamio88
    OP

    Newcomer Jamio88 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Well this actually happened a few years back (with 4 DS phats in a row). Here is what happened:

    Was playing Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (Actual legit store bought copy) on my DS phat, All of a sudden my DS made like a loud "pop" sound and just went dead. So I figured alright, battery must have died. So I go to plug it in and nothing, it won't respond to my charger.

    So I take the DS back and this happens again (So again, return the DS just to have it happen again for the 3rd time). So the final time I decide to take back the DS and the Game. So I get both replaced and all is fine until I get to about 8hrs into the game and then it does it again.

    After this point I gave up on the DS for quite some time (This was prior to the DS lite being launched, which of course got me interested in the DS again).

    So I ordered a new DS lite (Crimson & Onyx) it will be here tomorrow and I got LoZ:PH and C:PoR as well, however I would like to grab up C:DoS again and play it before starting on C:PoR again (Both for the fact that I like to play games in the order they launch, and because DoS is one of my favorite DS games of all time), however I am nervous as to why this happened in the first place and if anyone thinks it could happen again?

    I kind of feel safe playing it since this all happened on my DS phat and now I have a DS lite, but also don't want to jump back through the many hoops of returns.

    Thanks for any incite on what could have caused this problem. It was so long ago now its not really a problem anymore and more of just a curiosity.

    Thanks for reading and any input.
     
  2. thetorsoboy

    Newcomer thetorsoboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I would assume a faulty gamecard. I had a legitimate store-bought copy of DoS as well that I played on my DS Phat forever ago, and nothing ever happened to it.
     
  3. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Has to be a faulty game card or just absolutely terrible luck. I've had my copy of Dawn of Sorrow for awhile now (played in my DS Phat and everything). No issues with it ever.
     
  4. Jamio88
    OP

    Newcomer Jamio88 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    That is kind of what I figured, but just wanted a second opinion before buying another copy of DoS (I just CAN'T stay away from that game).

    Though would be super ****** off if I buy it again and it happens again.

    (Should also add that I played that copy of DoS for like a year solid before this issue started with it)
     
  5. yewbowguy

    Newcomer yewbowguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    did you attempt to pull of the infamous teleport glitch?
    i heard of it breaking your gamecard if you do that too many times, but i never heard anything that affects the ds itself.
     
  6. Jamio88
    OP

    Newcomer Jamio88 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Nope never did any glitches on it (Not due to a moral sense of not wanting to cheat, just did not know of any glitches). So honestly who knows, as far as I know I might have tried it, no idea honestly.

    All I know is that after 4 broken DS's I got ****** off, threw the (last) DS at a brick wall and then bought a PSP. However tomorrow my new DS will show up (Along with Phantom Hourglass and Portrait of Ruin) and then Friday I will be buying the Supercard DSTwo

    (The DSTwo will allow me to run my GBA & DS Backups correct??) I also noticed that on dscartshop they have a few different models of the Supercard, which is the one I want for playing my [legit...actually legit] DS & GBA backups?
     
  7. windwakr

    Member windwakr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    You want the one called "Supercard DSTWO". That's the only Supercard that has the extra processor and is capable of playing GBA games.
     

Share This Page