Hacking Card Identity

HuwBaldwin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
11
Hi,

Can anyone ID this card and recommend the correct firmware, ive trued various one from r4ultra.com and r4igold.net but still get "an error has occured".

I got this card from a friend who upgraded to a 3ds, from day one it had roms on it and he has never needed to change the firmware (nor does he have the box)

When trying new firmware I ensure I format the card with the panasonic tool.

Many thanks in advance.

img1337nn.jpg


img1339b.jpg
 

EyeZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
2,652
Trophies
0
XP
1,106
Without the web address for this card it will be impossible to identify the correct firmware, the only thing i can suggest is go to http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/

and try to identify your card. You may have to download various firmwares and try them until you find the correct firmware for your card.
 

pyromaniac123

ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
2,006
Trophies
2
XP
1,770
Country
It's an www.r4-pro.com card
 

HuwBaldwin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
11
could it also be that the cart's firmware most likely needs an update for 1.4.3? I did try the cart when my unit was at 4.0, its probably at 1.4.1 or 1.4.2 I bet.
 

HuwBaldwin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
11
Firmware upgrades for your flash card.
Use RetroGameFan's kernel to be able to play almost any game. "R4i-SDHC Revolution - www.r4-pro.com (Use R4_Clone folder)"
And by the way, the firmware of your DSi is 1.41, 1.42 or 1.43, not 4.1 or 4.2 or 4.0.

Thanks for that, I'll need to see if I can get hold of the original DSi as my device firmware is too high (and 1.40 was too low)
 

jimmyemunoz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
1,958
Trophies
0
Location
Louisiana
XP
487
Country
United States
"and 1.40 was too low"
What are you talking about? If you have a 3DS the highest firmware your card supports is 2.0. And the highest firmware ever made for the DSi is 1.43. I don't know where you are getting these versions of firmware that don't exist? 4.0? 4.1? 4.2? Good luck with the upgrade of the firmware.
 

HuwBaldwin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
11
"and 1.40 was too low"
What are you talking about? If you have a 3DS the highest firmware your card supports is 2.0. And the highest firmware ever made for the DSi is 1.43. I don't know where you are getting these versions of firmware that don't exist? 4.0? 4.1? 4.2? Good luck with the upgrade of the firmware.

Sorry for the confusion :

I purchased a preowned DSi yesterday that was at 1.40A > Inserted Flashcart (with SD card containing kernel) > Tap Start > "an error has occured..."
Upgrade DSi to 1.43A > Inserted Flashcart (with SD card containing kernel) > Tap Start > "an error has occured..."

Therefore the the firmware on the card needs to be updated, which requires finding a DSi that is at a compatible firmware level > run the firmware update for the cart to 1.43 > put it back in my DSi?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's why gas price in California is nearly $5 a gallon because the minimum wage rate is higher in my states it's around $3 a gallon but minimum wage is lower so there is a cost to living to blame
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Per state that is
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But if everyone in the world was rich you'd pay rich prices
  • Veho @ Veho:
    So the fact the gas station attendant gets paid 1 dollar per hour more means gas that sells a few hundred gallons per hour has to cost 2 dollars per gallon more, to compensate?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's an example their workers make more in that state so they can charge higher prices
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "We had to increase prices by $200 per hour because one guy makes $1 per hour."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    That's some 5D math that only makes sense in America.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its different prices per state because state taxes are different, Cali taxes are higher than most, its has nothing to do w min wage.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It does at the end of the day because they'd demand more and go on strike
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You admit the corporations charge more because people can afford it, not because it really costs more, right?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yes companies look at average costs of what people can afford to sale products
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And there's no competition?
  • HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX:
    Competition in companies here are like crazy
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Sure but competition does the same if anything at lower rates because they don't have the same resources
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Usually like a 10-20% difference
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I was told the market would "self regulate".
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still feel as if prices would've gone up in America regardless of whose in office
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Of course they would, both your parties are spineless corporate stooges.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What about companies that are nationwide. Do you think they charge in that states stores based on state economic situation. No they charge the same, but taxes per state make the price difference. (Exception maybe Alaska, Hawaii)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Once you minimize cost of living a $500 gaming console could feel like a $1,000 console to a average home
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But even they look at data charts and mostly have contacts in other country wide offices that talk to each other to make a fair msrp
  • Veho @ Veho:
    BigOnYa, taxes are calculated at checkout in Murrika so it's easy to compare.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's how China sales so cheap each baby out the womb is given a soldering iron and told good luck
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: http://aliexpress.us/item/3256805688348193.html?aff_fcid=9e822958f82b44eab6ff54fc100d3784-1721067...