cant get pass blue screen after update ?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by -=oopeteroo=-, Mar 17, 2013.

Mar 17, 2013
  1. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    hi i have a psp3000 firmware 5.03.

    and i updated it to 6.20 OFW

    it says update completed, then it restarted.

    and a blue screen pop up with '' setting information is corrupted.. press O to repair and restore default settings''

    Press O and it restart and to blue screen again, cant get pass this.... what happend ? and how to fix this ?
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    the psp's Flash1 is not resting

    try this
    power the system off
    HOLD SELECT, START, TRIANGLE, and SQUARE all at the same time while holding them power the system on
     
  3. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden

    didnt work still the same, but i manage to go pass it sometimes but when reset still the same =/
     
  4. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    okey

    after like 50-100 restarts i can lucky by pass the blue screen, manage to install cfw 6.20 pro c2.

    But the blue screen with ''setting information is corrupted.. press O to repair and restore default settings'' still always comes back after a real shutdown.
    And i cant still by pass it, tried everything.

    and after like a few hundreds of tries i manage to by pass it again.

    and i got a solution:

    when i shut down the psp completely and turn if on.
    the blue screen will come
    then i need to reset vhs and the psp will auto restart
    the blue screen will be back.
    But now when i press the O and every settings restore to default and i can launch my psp again.
    but i need to do that everytime i completely shut it down.

    any fixes? and know whats wrong ?

    iam running psp 3000 3g with 6.20 cfw pro c2
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Does it do this with the /seplugins/ folder on the memory stick removed or renamed?
     
  6. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    still the same even with the seplugins folder renamed
     
  7. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
  8. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a corrupt flash1. If you can run Nandtool do a check for bad blocks....if you see lots then that's your problem (JUST check for bad blocks, don't play around with the other functions)
     
  9. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    and if thats it can i somehow fix it ?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well I know the official Sony firmware installer will look for bad blocks and write around them, but if there's too many and it can't, it'd be easier to get a new PSP than replace the NAND chip, I assume.
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. There are spare blocks to give the system redundancy, but if it's already bad enough to cause this error it's irreparable.

    However, you need to diagnose what's wrong rather than guess what's wrong. Your flash1 is doing something funny...we need to work out why. This test eliminates one potential issue.
     
  12. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
  13. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    cant run flash1 formatter as when i run it in recovert it restart and i will be in blue screen again

    checked nandtool

    says bad block: page 98272 block 3071
    1 bad block found
     
  14. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    bump.... hope anyone can help me more
     
  15. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
  16. dragonblood9999

    Member dragonblood9999 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    Canada
    try re updating the firmware or upgrade to 6.60 and use lcfw
     
  17. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At this point i'm unsure whether you've accessed the recovery menu and formatted flash1 from there (or maybe i've missed it).
     
  18. -=oopeteroo=-
    OP

    Member -=oopeteroo=- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Sweden
    no have not reformatted flash1 cuz i cant run it in recovery, it just restarted when i try to run the format eboot.

    how do i reupdate the firmware ? iam on a custom firmware..just flash the ofw ?
     

Share This Page