Homebrew Can't compile freetype

YugamiSekai

Mr. Picross
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2014
Messages
2,015
Trophies
1
Age
22
XP
2,386
Country
United States
I'm trying to build xerpi's 3ds_portlibs and I installed zlib, but when I tried to install freetype I get,

configure: error: cannot find native C compiler
make[1]: *** [setup] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/c/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs/freetype-2.5.4'
make: *** [freetype] Error 2

Is there a fix for this?
 

Pokéidiot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Location
\n?
XP
209
Country
Brazil
Try reinstalling devkitpro. This may fix the issue.
Anyways, Linux is better for 3DS development. You don't have to use if you don't want to, I'm just sayin'...
 

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,044
Trophies
1
XP
3,035
Country
United States
Try reinstalling devkitpro. This may fix the issue.
Anyways, Linux is better for 3DS development. You don't have to use if you don't want to, I'm just sayin'...
I keep seeing this assertion that Linux is better for 3ds development - without any particular justification. Any particular reason? I use Windows myself and haven't run into any problems. I would imagine whichever environment you are more comfortable using is just fine.
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,857
Country
Belgium
Did you build zlib first?

Currently supports the following portlibs:

  • freetype (requires zlib)

Below are 2 scripts, copy/paste and save as .bat file
Those .bat files build/compiles and installs!

(For example: portlibs_zlib.bat and portlibs_freetype.bat)

Code:
@echo off
%~d0
cd %~dp0
cls
if exist "3ds_portlibs" (
    cd 3ds_portlibs
    Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Update^)...
    echo Updating repo...
    git pull origin master
    git submodule update --init --recursive
) else (
    Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Clone^)...
    echo Cloning repo...
    git clone --recursive https://github.com/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs.git
    cd 3ds_portlibs
)
echo Installing...
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Clean^)...
make clean
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Release^)...
make zlib
make install-zlib
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Done^)
echo.
cd %~dp0
echo.
echo ##################################################################
color A
echo Done. Files are in the "3ds_portlibs" folder. && echo Press any key to continue ...
Pause >nul
exit

Code:
@echo off
%~d0
cd %~dp0
cls
if exist "3ds_portlibs" (
    cd 3ds_portlibs
    Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Update^)...
    echo Updating repo...
    git pull origin master
    git submodule update --init --recursive
) else (
    Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Clone^)...
    echo Cloning repo...
    git clone --recursive https://github.com/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs.git
    cd 3ds_portlibs
)
echo Installing...
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Clean^)...
make clean
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Release^)...
make freetype
make install
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Done^)
echo.
cd %~dp0
echo.
echo ##################################################################
color A
echo Done. Files are in the "3ds_portlibs" folder. && echo Press any key to continue ...
Pause >nul
exit

[EDIT]
- You need to have devkitpro/devkitarm installed and configured correctly
- You need to check if your path is configured (C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\bin;c:\devkitPro\msys\bin)
-etc...
 
Last edited by DjoeN,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,381
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,010
Country
Norway

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,806
Country
Spain

Magicrafter13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
134
Trophies
0
Website
matthewrease.net
XP
245
Country
United States
Now I'm having the same problem, and I was going to try the rar file, but the downloads been removed... :/

when it first runs it shows my platform as unix... which isn't true, because I'm using windows. And it crashes with this error: configure: error: cannot find native C compiler

checked the install docs in the docs folder, but they didn't help at all.

HOW I DO? Literally this should work too, I downloaded the 3ds portlibs, and that's how I acquired freetype, yet it doesn't work.
Please help.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Taco Tuesday and Wetback Wednesday Thott Thursday Freaky Friday lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Midget Monday is best
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2, mexican tacos existed before taco bell
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Taco Bell is about as Mexican as Pizza Hut
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Taco bell is authentic Mexican food what are you talking about
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    California is Mexico
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    oled gbasp pl0x
    +1
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    touchscreen?????
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    is there any gba homebrew that would offer use for that?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The Touchscreen makes using system menu options for brightness and filter adjustments easier
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @ColdBlitz, who said anything about touchscreen?
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    the video title is
    "We Now Have A Touch Screen And OLED Modded Game Boy Color"
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    On screen keys would be cool if the rubber ever fails
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I feel like at that point might as well go emulation lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One of those RG things
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some people just like using original hardware for the hobby point of it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You can easily buy replacement buttons but it's a good fall back
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    on screen keys would be cool but the gba screen is pretty tiny though :(
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd rather use emulation but it's cool regardless again the main point of the Touchscreen isn't just for buttons but for menu options
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    would be way better for menu options
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    although I have huge doubts anyone would be able to make homebrew that would give support for the touch screen
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    then again theres still people who develop games on systems as old as the nes for fun
  • ColdBlitz @ ColdBlitz:
    (
    micromages is amazing btw)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I doubted 360 emulation would be possible
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: I doubted 360 emulation would be possible