Homebrew Can't compile freetype

YugamiSekai

Mr. Picross
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2014
Messages
2,015
Trophies
1
Age
22
XP
2,386
Country
United States
I'm trying to build xerpi's 3ds_portlibs and I installed zlib, but when I tried to install freetype I get,

configure: error: cannot find native C compiler
make[1]: *** [setup] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/c/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs/freetype-2.5.4'
make: *** [freetype] Error 2

Is there a fix for this?
 

Pokéidiot

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2015
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Location
\n?
XP
209
Country
Brazil
Try reinstalling devkitpro. This may fix the issue.
Anyways, Linux is better for 3DS development. You don't have to use if you don't want to, I'm just sayin'...
 

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,044
Trophies
1
XP
3,035
Country
United States
Try reinstalling devkitpro. This may fix the issue.
Anyways, Linux is better for 3DS development. You don't have to use if you don't want to, I'm just sayin'...
I keep seeing this assertion that Linux is better for 3ds development - without any particular justification. Any particular reason? I use Windows myself and haven't run into any problems. I would imagine whichever environment you are more comfortable using is just fine.
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,857
Country
Belgium
Did you build zlib first?

Currently supports the following portlibs:

  • freetype (requires zlib)

Below are 2 scripts, copy/paste and save as .bat file
Those .bat files build/compiles and installs!

(For example: portlibs_zlib.bat and portlibs_freetype.bat)

Code:
@echo off
%~d0
cd %~dp0
cls
if exist "3ds_portlibs" (
    cd 3ds_portlibs
    Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Update^)...
    echo Updating repo...
    git pull origin master
    git submodule update --init --recursive
) else (
    Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Clone^)...
    echo Cloning repo...
    git clone --recursive https://github.com/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs.git
    cd 3ds_portlibs
)
echo Installing...
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Clean^)...
make clean
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Release^)...
make zlib
make install-zlib
Title = Installing Portlibs_zlib ^(Done^)
echo.
cd %~dp0
echo.
echo ##################################################################
color A
echo Done. Files are in the "3ds_portlibs" folder. && echo Press any key to continue ...
Pause >nul
exit

Code:
@echo off
%~d0
cd %~dp0
cls
if exist "3ds_portlibs" (
    cd 3ds_portlibs
    Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Update^)...
    echo Updating repo...
    git pull origin master
    git submodule update --init --recursive
) else (
    Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Clone^)...
    echo Cloning repo...
    git clone --recursive https://github.com/devkitPro/3ds_portlibs.git
    cd 3ds_portlibs
)
echo Installing...
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Clean^)...
make clean
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Release^)...
make freetype
make install
Title = Installing Portlibs_freetype ^(Done^)
echo.
cd %~dp0
echo.
echo ##################################################################
color A
echo Done. Files are in the "3ds_portlibs" folder. && echo Press any key to continue ...
Pause >nul
exit

[EDIT]
- You need to have devkitpro/devkitarm installed and configured correctly
- You need to check if your path is configured (C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\bin;c:\devkitPro\msys\bin)
-etc...
 
Last edited by DjoeN,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,380
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,007
Country
Norway

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,806
Country
Spain

Magicrafter13

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
134
Trophies
0
Website
matthewrease.net
XP
245
Country
United States
Now I'm having the same problem, and I was going to try the rar file, but the downloads been removed... :/

when it first runs it shows my platform as unix... which isn't true, because I'm using windows. And it crashes with this error: configure: error: cannot find native C compiler

checked the install docs in the docs folder, but they didn't help at all.

HOW I DO? Literally this should work too, I downloaded the 3ds portlibs, and that's how I acquired freetype, yet it doesn't work.
Please help.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if that was the point of game streaming
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But it's a dead end
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, people who cant download it can still play the game
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If your internet speeds are fast enough. Streaming 4k takes alot. I used to only have 20mb sec, and 4k struggled. Now I have 300mb sec and 4k plays fine.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i only have like 1 or 2 mb sec
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you feed the hamster in your internet router? It prob died and is running slow now.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, why did you start saying my pc has a hamster in the first place?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its actua!ly just a old joke, meaning its slow. Was just kidding around with you.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I bet @AncientBoi has some hamsters hidden somewhere tho....
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think Game streaming should work like this.... Local Hardware able the run the game fine, game engine and common assets stored locally, all FMV and music and textures could be streaming
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Some temporary storage
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also @BigOnYa im making some progress on my gdevelop project, implemented various mechanics
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They went all in on streaming, should have been more of a hybrid approach
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or free government supplied high speed internet be nice also. Like Obama care. Xdqwerty that's cool, its time consuming but rewarding once done or playable, to see what you've made from scratch. Animations take forever, but worth it.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, although the bullets are a bit buggy
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Not to mention this would be a massive pain to pirate
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa,
    and the visual aspect of the game is quite crude (the sprite that looks best is that of the protagonist just because he is a stickman with sunglasses)
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    There is a bullets behaviour you assign to your character, that makes the code easier, under "behaviours"
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i meant that when the character is pointing to the right, the bullets spawn where they should, but when he is on the right, they move to the right but the spawn point is incorrect
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Itch.io has lots of free assets also. Under the bullets behavior tab, there is a "rotate bullets" option, can try that. Or in the code can try
    - fire bullet Player.X(PlayerDirection)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    im taking a break for today anyway
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    YEa gotta after a while, looking at code for long periods will bug your eyes.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's cool tho, I'm proud of you going back to it, not giving up. It is difficult at first to learn, but fun once you get the hang of it. I think I've watched every tutorial video there is, but I still struggle sometimes to get stuff to work right. But gotta keep trying dif things, and eventually you will get it right.
    +1
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: That's cool tho, I'm proud of you going back to it, not giving up. It is difficult at first to... +1