Hacking Question Can't bypass "a system update is required in order to play software" anymore, any help?

Tomakage

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
186
Country
United Kingdom
I was able to do this with tinfoil but then I updated one of my games and it just failed to open. So I deleted the game and every time I try to reinstall it even whilst using tinfoil it still gives me the update message when trying to open it.

I have the game physically too but it doesn't seem to matter, problem still persists.

Any reason behind this?

Is there any thing I'll be missing out on if I do just update my system?

Thanks
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,364
Trophies
2
XP
2,684
Country
United States
More details are needed. What CFW are you using? Are you using emuNAND? What firmware are you on?

If you're on an unpatched switch and update your sysNAND to the latest version, you'll burn fuses and potentially miss out on a future exploit that would negate the need for a RCM jig or payload dongle. Depending on your situation, this might not matter to you.

If you're on an ipatched system, updating your system will stop you from using any currently-known exploits, and you might never be able to run homebrew or CFW in the future.

With emuNAND you can upgrade your emuNAND to the latest system version while leaving your sysNAND on a lower version, which will also prevent you from burning fuses.

Double-check the message, it could be that you don't need a system firmware update, but that the game itself requires an update and refuses to start without it. I've run into that situation multiple times.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tomakage

Tomakage

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2018
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
186
Country
United Kingdom
More details are needed. What CFW are you using? Are you using emuNAND? What firmware are you on?

If you're on an unpatched switch and update your sysNAND to the latest version, you'll burn fuses and potentially miss out on a future exploit that would negate the need for a RCM jig or payload dongle. Depending on your situation, this might not matter to you.

If you're on an ipatched system, updating your system will stop you from using any currently-known exploits, and you might never be able to run homebrew or CFW in the future.

With emuNAND you can upgrade your emuNAND to the latest system version while leaving your sysNAND on a lower version, which will also prevent you from burning fuses.

Double-check the message, it could be that you don't need a system firmware update, but that the game itself requires an update and refuses to start without it. I've run into that situation multiple times.

Thank you! Was exactly this, just needed to update the actual game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RHOPKINS13

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
321
Trophies
0
Age
124
XP
967
Country
Australia
If you update a game and uninstall it. When you re install it you need the update you used or it will give you this error
Anyone who wants to play unpatched needs to use dev menu to reset the games version number
 

foxgre

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
57
Country
Greece
I was able to do this with tinfoil but then I updated one of my games and it just failed to open. So I deleted the game and every time I try to reinstall it even whilst using tinfoil it still gives me the update message when trying to open it.

I have the game physically too but it doesn't seem to matter, problem still persists.

Any reason behind this?

Is there any thing I'll be missing out on if I do just update my system?

Thanks

I had the same problem with you for months and couldn't find a solution untill yesterday. All you have to do is to get dev menu definitive edition, install it via Goldleaf, open it, select your cartridge game and select ResetRequiredVersion option. You're done.
 
Last edited by Joe88, , Reason: Please do not offer to send warez through pm

grcd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
168
Trophies
1
XP
628
Country
I had the same problem with you for months and couldn't find a solution untill yesterday. All you have to do is to get dev menu definitive edition, install it via Goldleaf, open it, select your cartridge game and select ResetRequiredVersion option. You're done.

'Definitiv Edition' Can you provide a link? I thought DevMenu was not recommended to be used anymore?
 

foxgre

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
57
Country
Greece
'Definitiv Edition' Can you provide a link? I thought DevMenu was not recommended to be used anymore?
Just search for DevMenu 6.x Definitive edition.
You will have no problem using it. It is .nsp file and you can add it or remove it with GoldLeaf
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: mods don't do news stuffs, that's what we got the magstaff for +1