1. lolboy

    OP lolboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    My GF got her own Switch. I backed the NAND and installed CFW. In order to play local wireless games we need to add each other as friends (my guess). Her Switch has never been online (4.10) and because of that she cannot add (local)friends. It says:
    ”Link your Nintendo Account to add friends”

    Is there anyway to bypass this?

    Thank you in advance!
     
    Last edited by lolboy, Aug 26, 2018
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Can you show us screens? You don't need to add each other as a friend. You only have to be on the same firnware and the game version has to be the same.
     
    lolboy likes this.
  3. AndyGJorgensen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Is this for Minecraft I have the same issue I never got passed it
     
  4. lolboy

    OP lolboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Country:
    Netherlands
    We are trying to play Minecraft but I cannot join (find) her. I assumed that this was because of not being friends.

    My Switch is on 5.10 and hers is on 4.10 (Minecraft both 1.5).

    So we do not have to be friends in order to play local wireless? The issue is firmware diff?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yes.
     
  5. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Wow.. That's a pretty tuff one. So (why ever) you actually have to add another person as a friend in order to play local multiplayer.
    Is there a reason why you want to stay at 4.1?

    I think that i maybe found a fix for your problem so don't update yet. I will let you know in some hours if the thing i am going to try works.
     
  6. lolboy

    OP lolboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Because updating without burning fuse is only possible with AutoRcm. She does not wish to have AutoRcm (for now).

    Thanks in advance! I hope you have good news.
     
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Ok. So I have the DevMenu on the Switch. It has an option called: Requires Nintendo Account for use of Network. So if you would untick the box it would work but unfortunately the DevMenu just hangs up when trying to do so.

    So we now know that it IS POSSIBLE to use Network features without an Nintendo Account. But Devmenu doesn't help us with the problem.
    Since i can (unfortunately) only do some HelloWorld stuff i can't help you. Maybe you could ask a Dev that has experience with the switch to help you with that?

    If no one of the Devs can help you, you don't come around to connect to the internet and log into your Nintendo Account.
     
    lolboy likes this.
  8. lolboy

    OP lolboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you very much for the effort!

    We will wait it out for sometime otherwise connect to internet.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Can’t, friend, Switch