Cannot transfer FF12...

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by wdjulez, Jan 11, 2008.

Jan 11, 2008

Cannot transfer FF12... by wdjulez at 7:03 PM (820 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. wdjulez
    OP

    Newcomer wdjulez Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys,

    I'm using the DS Fire Link and when I try to transfer FF12 over into the card, it would always get stuck at bout 15%. Then after about 2 minutes an error message would pop up on my computer and says "Error: cannot copy file, root is too deep."

    I have been trying Micronaut's dump and it would always get stuck at 15%, the same spot.

    I googled the error, "...root is too deep." and results of computer network problems would come up, which isn't related to the nintendo ds lol.

    So, if anyone has any possible solutions, please help!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you've ever made a full format ?
    If no: Make one, if yes: try it again :x#


    !!!! BACKUP ALL YOUR SAVES BEFORE !!!!
     
  3. wdjulez
    OP

    Newcomer wdjulez Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have done a format and tried transferring after the format. =[

    Well... it was a quick format... not a "full" format.
     
  4. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    Try a full format, you should min. do one full format with your cart so that the filesystem works normaly~
     
  5. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
    I have had this happen when copying big roms to my dslinker while its hooked to the computer through my monitor's usb hub. I usually find hooking the ds up to the back of the pc directly fixes it. Not 100% of the time, but 98%...

    Despite the error message it doesn't seem to have anything at all to do with where the file is on your computer, or where its going on the slot 1 card.

    I suggest switching off the ds, reboot the pc, make sure nothing else is running that access the hard disk like a scan of some sort. Plug the ds into another USB port, one not on a hub and try again.
     
  6. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep if all else fails try another pc.. It could be the ports on your pc playing up.
     
  7. wdjulez
    OP

    Newcomer wdjulez Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply guys.

    I have just tried using another computer and it works!
     

Share This Page