Can you use a...

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by .Chris, Jul 20, 2011.

Jul 20, 2011

Can you use a... by .Chris at 12:21 AM (643 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Can you use a GameBoy Advance SP replacement screen for a regular GameBoy Advance?
     
  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the gba sp has a smaller screen i don't think it would fit.
     
  3. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    removed.
     
  4. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Even is the screen is smaller, what about the ribbon cables?
     
  5. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    GPA SP has 2 extra pins. Their pinout may not be the same.

    Edit: There is backlight/front light mods for GBA if that is what you are seeking.
     
  6. .Chris
    OP

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Do you think it will work if I tried to remove the two extra pins?
     
  7. MajinCry

    Newcomer MajinCry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think he may have a gubbed SP or a spare SP screen lying around, and wants to use that on his GBA.



    Eh..You'll be needing to do a bit of research, I guess. Google is yer friend.
    I really, really advise against taking out any pins. For all you know, those two could be important. Or not. Whatever.
    And even if you did fit the SP screen in the GBA, you'll need to do some case modding to get it to fit snugly, and not move about.
     

Share This Page