Gaming Can you change ssb4 music without sm4sh explorer?

Phil9943

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
42
Country
United States
I'm running Sm4sh off of a disk and the dump registered it as version 113, even though I've updated to patch 1.1.6.

This is a problem because the music plugin of sm4sh explorer will not run on any game version under version 208. It also says a seperate plug named "stageDB" won't run, but that isn't a problem for me.

Is there a way to either re-dump to a later version or to get custom music without sm4sh explorer?

Other mods (i.e. Menu, CSP's, and character skins) work just fine, I just can't do music. I have multiple nus3banks ready, can you do music modding via just loading files directly onto the SD? Or do I need to do another dump?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 

Duckling

Sorry for being dumb ;(
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
489
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
409
Country
Laos
Pretty sure you can just run Cafiine and then go to make the folders sound/bgm (bgm inside of sound) and then choose a .brstm song that will replace the song that you want it to replace and then rename it exactly to the name of the song that it appears as in the console and then you'll have to refresh the values somehow to make the song that you choose be played.

You can get brstm files from Here

TL;DR
  • Cafiine
  • make sound folder and inside that a bgm folder
  • get a song from Here and place it in the bgm folder and then rename it to the song that you want to replace it.
  • Refresh the game so that the game will play that custom song
  • Done
If you want you can go to the Smash 4 Setting and make it so that the 1 song that you want to replace will always get chosen and this will make it so that the song which you want to be outputted be chosen every time.

(Note: I myself have not done this on Sm4sh so some things may be wrong, I am just using the technique that I did for when replacing Splatoon's music)

-edit-

If you have any other questions or curious on some vague matters that I covered please reply. I don't mind answering questions
 
Last edited by Duckling,

Phil9943

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
42
Country
United States
Pretty sure you can just run Cafiine and then go to make the folders sound/bgm (bgm inside of sound) and then choose a .brstm song that will replace the song that you want it to replace and then rename it exactly to the name of the song that it appears as in the console and then you'll have to refresh the values somehow to make the song that you choose be played.

You can get brstm files from Here

TL;DR
  • Cafiine
  • make sound folder and inside that a bgm folder
  • get a song from Here and place it in the bgm folder and then rename it to the song that you want to replace it.
  • Refresh the game so that the game will play that custom song
  • Done
If you want you can go to the Smash 4 Setting and make it so that the 1 song that you want to replace will always get chosen and this will make it so that the song which you want to be outputted be chosen every time.

(Note: I myself have not done this on Sm4sh so some things may be wrong, I am just using the technique that I did for when replacing Splatoon's music)

-edit-

If you have any other questions or curious on some vague matters that I covered please reply. I don't mind answering questions

First off, thanks for the lengthy and detailed reply. Really I didn't expect more than a 3 line answer but extra detail always helps.

Anyway, I'll try the bgm folder method out soon. I have a question though. How do I know which song has which file name? Is there a list somewhere? I tried looking but I didn't see any. I know there was a list for brawl, but do you know of any for smash 4?

Also, just curious do you know why the version number for mine is so low even though I've updated to the latest patch? It's not really important now, I'm just wondering.
 

Duckling

Sorry for being dumb ;(
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
489
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
409
Country
Laos
First off, thanks for the lengthy and detailed reply. Really I didn't expect more than a 3 line answer but extra detail always helps.

Anyway, I'll try the bgm folder method out soon. I have a question though. How do I know which song has which file name? Is there a list somewhere? I tried looking but I didn't see any. I know there was a list for brawl, but do you know of any for smash 4?

Also, just curious do you know why the version number for mine is so low even though I've updated to the latest patch? It's not really important now, I'm just wondering.
You'll know the name of the song from the Cafiine console. As you enter a stage packages are going to loaded and the console (on your PC) is going to show those packages being unpackaged and it should show one with a .bftsm which is the song that you're planning on replacing and (if you want) you can dump the song and then you can copy the name of the file and then rename it to "originalsong" (you don't really have to dump it) but anyways you have to rename the bftsm that you want to be played into the original name of the song so that the game knows which song it needs to play.

^ hopefully you understand what I mean if not then reply with uncertainties
-

I don't know about your version number problem sorry.

-edit-

I forgot how to dump files but I'm pretty sure there's info on that if you look it up.
I think it's like this:

<full location + file-name.type>/dump
 
Last edited by Duckling,

Phil9943

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
42
Country
United States
You'll know the name of the song from the Cafiine console. As you enter a stage packages are going to loaded and the console (on your PC) is going to show those packages being unpackaged and it should show one with a .bftsm which is the song that you're planning on replacing and (if you want) you can dump the song and then you can copy the name of the file and then rename it to "originalsong" (you don't really have to dump it) but anyways you have to rename the bftsm that you want to be played into the original name of the song so that the game knows which song it needs to play.

^ hopefully you understand what I mean if not then reply with uncertainties
-

I don't know about your version number problem sorry.

-edit-

I forgot how to dump files but I'm pretty sure there's info on that if you look it up.
I think it's like this:

<full location + file-name.type>/dump

I don't actually look at my computer while I'm playing smash but you're saying that something like a command prompt window should pop up and I should see all the file names of files being loaded displayed? Like as a part of Cafiine?
 

Duckling

Sorry for being dumb ;(
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
489
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
409
Country
Laos
I don't actually look at my computer while I'm playing smash but you're saying that something like a command prompt window should pop up and I should see all the file names of files being loaded displayed? Like as a part of Cafiine?
Yes the part of Cafiine is what I mean. It should look like a command prompt
 

Phil9943

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
42
Country
United States
Yes the part of Cafiine is what I mean. It should look like a command prompt
I loaded up cafiine, however in the cmd window, it will begin loading files but then say "found invalid data while decoding" and then it will exit. It will not display any of the games' actual files loading. I've attached a log. Do you know what may be the problem?

Log:
[0] Accepted connection from client 192.168.1.7:4590
[0] TitleID: 00050000-10144F00
[0] /vol/content//ls
[0] Found invalid data while decoding.

This will repeat 12 times, each with the beginning number in brackets changing.

In my cafiine master folder, I do emulate the folders correctly.

I have :

server/cafiine_root/0050000-10144F00/vol/content/

This content folder is empty

neither the game id, vol, or content folders have .ds_store files in them, do they need them? And if so, where could I get them? Should I just copy the .ds_store from the cafiine_root folder?
 

Duckling

Sorry for being dumb ;(
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
489
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
409
Country
Laos
I loaded up cafiine, however in the cmd window, it will begin loading files but then say "found invalid data while decoding" and then it will exit. It will not display any of the games' actual files loading. I've attached a log. Do you know what may be the problem?

Log:
[0] Accepted connection from client 192.168.1.7:4590
[0] TitleID: 00050000-10144F00
[0] /vol/content//ls
[0] Found invalid data while decoding.

This will repeat 12 times, each with the beginning number in brackets changing.

In my cafiine master folder, I do emulate the folders correctly.

I have :

server/cafiine_root/
-10144F00/vol/content/

This content folder is empty

neither the game id, vol, or content folders have .ds_store files in them, do they need them? And if so, where could I get them? Should I just copy the .ds_store from the cafiine_root folder?
The first time I did this I messed up the Title ID, sadly I don't think that's the issue with your problem. If I have time today I'll look into this (I haven't used Cafiine in a while so I can't really help you with that). In the meantime you can ask someone else. I know that TuneRudy is pretty good at using Cafiine. Sorry m8
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @sombrerosonic, No you aren't wrong