Can one flash the black Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jul3s, Nov 14, 2009.

Nov 14, 2009

Can one flash the black Wii? by Jul3s at 12:14 PM (5,751 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Jul3s
    OP

    Newcomer Jul3s Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey,
    I'm playing with the though to buy a black UK Wii in the next few days. My only concern: Is it flashable? I read here that one can't install Botmii for example, and now I'm wondering if I should instead buy a white Wii, because I want to play backups from my hdd and stuff. I hope someone can answer my question =)

    Regards
     
  2. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Don´t know exactly about the PAL(German) release of the black Wii but I have 2 black japanese Wiis which can do everything what a white one can do, can be hacked.

    Just buy it and try it. If its not working you have 2 weeks(after the day of purchase) to bring it back where you bought it and get your money back.(Konsumentenschutzgesetz).

    No risk for you!
     
  3. Jul3s
    OP

    Newcomer Jul3s Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for the quick reply, but I should have made myself a bit more clearer: I'm going to buy an UK WII. Sorry for that.
     
  4. norain

    Newcomer norain Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Every brand new Wii comes with either 4.0 or 4.2... both of which can be hacked. So I don't see a problem.

    Boot2 is blocked on every new Wii *regardless* of whether it's black or white (so there's probably a 70% chance that any brand new Wii you pick up will have Boot2 blocked) so it really doesn't matter.

    The good news is you don't NEED boot2 to hack the Wii. You can backup your nand by installing BootMii to IOS instead of Boot2. And getting the homebrew channel doesn't really change.

    So if you want black... then it's probably worth the shot of getting black and doing what you need to do to get it working.
     
  5. kh4tri

    Newcomer kh4tri Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have a pal black wii.

    i have manaed to backup the nand, install the homebrew channel, but i just cant get my usb loader gx channel to work, plug in my harddrive, but just get balck screen
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Once you go black you never go back so they say..........
     
  7. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States

    Did you install a cIOS?
     
  8. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Tried reinstalling cIOS 38? This will mostly solve your black screen...
     
  9. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most black pal wii's come with d3-2 drives. So everything works except burnt disks. Mine modded perfectly [​IMG]
     
  10. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    My 2 black jpn ones can play burned media, maybe this is for the new PAL and NTSC ones.
     
  11. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If you get a D3-2 drive, you can always go buy another drive if playing burnt discs is of importance. Cheapest i've seen is $69 for a D2B unit though.
     
  12. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,176
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    USB ftw
     
  13. kh4tri

    Newcomer kh4tri Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    if tried to install cIOS 38, but when it loads it says iso249, and wii just freezes
     
  14. kh4tri

    Newcomer kh4tri Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yahoo

    my black wii is all softmodded and working fine.

    i deleted the iso222,223,249,250 via anytitledeleter and reinstalled the wads, then reinstalled cISO38 and working fine now. had over 100 games on my harddrive and now am a happy bunny.
     

Share This Page