Gaming Can my PSP be fixed?

Owenge

GbaTemp browser
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I was playing PSP zombies and all of a sudden it shut off, so I thought it crashed and turned off. So I took out the battery and put it back in, still wouldn't turn on. I then plugged it in to see if it would work. It turned on and I went to see what the battery was at, I was at 97%. So I decided to test if it would go without the charger and it shut off again, any help

Thanks in advance- Owenge

Sono

cripple piss
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hungary
So I was playing PSP zombies and all of a sudden it shut off, so I thought it crashed and turned off. So I took out the battery and put it back in, still wouldn't turn on. I then plugged it in to see if it would work. It turned on and I went to see what the battery was at, I was at 97%. So I decided to test if it would go without the charger and it shut off again, any help

Thanks in advance- Owenge

I'm no electronics expert, but sounds like some charger IC or a chip inside the battery went toast. Take out the battery and smell if it smells like toasted electronics. Mine has a similar problem, except it allows me to turn it back on after a few seconds.

Reactions: Owenge

Owenge

GbaTemp browser
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So a little update: I think it's the battery because when i took it out and used the old one that doesn't stay in it worked well I held it in.

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Trophies
XP
Country
Greece
Definitely battery, but most likely, instead of bad battery, it may just be the pins on it, perhaps not good contact or something, because even with a bad battery, it should still stay on for at least a couple seconds.

Owenge

GbaTemp browser
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States