Can I play online with softmii? What are the risks?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zuil10, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. zuil10
    OP

    Newcomer zuil10 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hello
    I own a wii for about one week and have now installed softmii with preloader 0.27, every backup (iso) i tried worked perfectly (even the black screens on some games after loading throught the disc channel have dissapeared after disabling the force region free and video mode on the preloder settings) but now i want to go to the next step, so i want to know if i can go online with my softmodded wii and play the backups normally.
    Is there the risk, like on a Xbox360 of the servers detect the mods and brick the console or the backups won´t even run?
    Tell me your experiences
    thanks
     
  2. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Nintendo doesn't have any banning system at all on any of they're consoles. You should be safe.
     
  3. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    You sure about that? Pretty sure they banned some Pokecheats for the DS...
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    but not on the Wii.

    Played online, still fine/
     
  5. franky86

    Newcomer franky86 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    no real network for them to ban you from. its not like xbox live or home where you have to sign up(or pay in xbox live) and not a big enough online community for them to bother.
     
  6. Heykrop

    Newcomer Heykrop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    No banning. The biggest issue is getting disconnected from servers for not having the latest system menu. Been booted a bunch of times while trying to play Mario Kart.
     
  7. FireFreek

    Member FireFreek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    That makes no sense, the highest firmware you could have through means of disc updates is 3.2 right? That is assuming you have 3.2.

    EDIT: Oh wait, i'm stupid. You're playing online. So you have access to online updates.
     

Share This Page