Can game disk updates harm a softmodded Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by z-fighter, May 6, 2010.

May 6, 2010
  1. z-fighter
    OP

Newcomer z-fighter Member

Romania
    Im a noob and i need some info about this. So i installed HomeBrewChannel, DVDx, MIOS patcher, IOS249 and GameCube backup launcher for GC backups. Newer Wii games have updates on them right? I want to know if the updates can harm my Wii or remove the HomeBrewChannel. Any help is appreciated.

2. jaybee

Member jaybee GBAtemp Regular

United Kingdom
    Most definitely yes. HB Channel will only be affected if its the older version. I think the newer one is unaffected but i'm pretty certain that the updates will wipe out the custom CIOSes and replace them with stubs. Blank files in other words. If you update and it wipes your softmod you will have to softmod again. If I were you I would block updates with priiloader and update manually but take a backup of your nand first with bootmii backup.

3. z-fighter
    OP

Romania
    The problem is i cant install bootmii as boot2, only as IOS. And the update cant brick the Wii right?

4. ace1o1

Newcomer ace1o1 Member

United States
    The update off of a disc can brick your Wii. It is possible whether or not you have Homebrew or not, but more likely if you have Homebrew installed. [​IMG]

It will remove everything from your Wii if you update by disc.

Try loading from USB for Wii games if you're able to.
    This requires Hermes cIOS222 installer v4 or v5.

5. z-fighter
    OP

Romania
    Do you suggest i dont get into these things because i dont have a NAND backup and i cant install as boot2. If i get it bricked i can throw it out the window and i dont want take that risk. Maybe i should just buy the games second hand. [​IMG]

6. olliepop2000

Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
    You don't need to install Bootmii as boot2 to be able to install Priiloader/Starpatch and use the patch to block disc updates.

7. z-fighter
    OP