Broken sensor bar

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by rdurbin, Feb 17, 2008.

Feb 17, 2008

Broken sensor bar by rdurbin at 6:13 AM (1,639 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. rdurbin
    OP

    Member rdurbin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know if its possible to fix a broken sensor bar. My sensor bar stopped working suddenly earlier today. After I did some test, I found out the left sensor works fine and right does not. I can kinda still move the cursor around, but its extremely eratic. If I take the cursor off the screen it can take up to 30 seconds for the wii to display the cursor again.

    I found a temp. solution. I can stick a flashlight on top of the right side and the wii-remotes will work perfectly, but that gonna really kill batteries of flashlights. For some reason the light of the flashlight has the same effect as the sensor bar.

    Anyone know a simple solution or am I just gonna have to buy a new one. Yes, I did go to adjust sentisivity but it shows only 1 dot on each of the 5 settings, but with flashlight it shows two.
     
  2. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    They work on Infrared LEDs.

    The human eye cannot see infrared rays but a lot of cameras and sensors can (hence the Wiimote has a crude IR camera). The sun produces IR rays as well as traditional lightbulbs.

    You should probably buy a new sensor bar...its probably not worth your efforts to fix it cause you probably gonna have to do some soldering or LED replacement.
     
  3. rdurbin
    OP

    Member rdurbin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    I just ended up buying one at gamecrazy, they were the only ones that had it. I went to Walmart, target, gamestop, bestbuy, toys r us and NONE of them had it and most of them didnt even know what a wii sensor bar is....

    funny thing is when I went there they were asking if I wanted to reserve any games, he mentioned super smash bros. I said no thanks. He than said he just imported it and I said I did the same. He than asked do I have a japanesse wii or modded, I said modded. First time I ever told a retailer that I have a modded wii. Oh well

    Anyways I got one of those wireless bars, anyone know how long they last, battery wise. I would of got wired, but no one had it
     
  4. Edwii

    Member Edwii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Canada
    if all else fails u can use 2 candles on top or below the screen(fire gives off IR light), just be careful when doing this and watch for wax run off.

    and yes this dose really work i have done it my self when i have forgotten my bar,

    infact i find it works quite a bit better. the added light can take away the effect from the game if u play in a dark room tho.
     
  5. quadomatic

    Member quadomatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    Just buy a new sensor bar, or buy a couple infrared leds, stick them on a pcb and power them by a battery or something.
     
  6. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a new one. At gamestop, i saw one for $5. Not that big a deal. Or buy a used one(i dont recommend) it was $3.
     
  7. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    as retarded as this sounds, you can use 2 candles instead of a sensor bar. i forgot mine when i took my wii to a party and we tried the candle trick. it worked just as good if not better as a sensor bar.
     
  8. rdurbin
    OP

    Member rdurbin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i know of the candle trick, was using flash lights for a couple of days. I ended up buying a wireless, which use batteries of course. Which comes to my next question.

    Does anyone know of a way to automatically boot Gamecube games using wii, I do have a modchip, if its needed. Sensor bar ran out of power and need it to point at the gamecube game. Batteries are charging now, but it would be nice to have a way to do it.
     
  9. ben_r_

    Member ben_r_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Yes that would be! Anyone know if thats possible?
     

Share This Page