Broken part from Wii board !!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ultraburn, Jul 8, 2009.

Jul 8, 2009
  1. ultraburn
    OP

    Newcomer ultraburn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just picked up another Wii , after looking at the board I noticed abit missing off the board , I think its a resistor ?
    The Wii seems to work ok , can anyone tell me if its essential and how to replace it without too much fuss....
    I have arrowed the missing part....

    http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/4152/wiiclipresistorl.jpg
     
  2. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a component number listed next to (or near) it?
    For resistors it will start with R such as R203
    Capacitors start with C such as C203
    Diodes, D203
    etc
     
  3. ultraburn
    OP

    Newcomer ultraburn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No numbers or letters next to it , the same for the other two as in the picture...
     
  4. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    It looks like a resistor....
    No need to wory about it. I wouldn't do anything, if your Wii's working fine.

    BTW: As I did the X-Clamp fix on my Xbox360 I blew about 3 to 4 film capacitors (the big ones which stabilize the voltage) and even without them my 360 works fine since last winter.....
    What I'm trying to say is, that not every part is essential for the whole schematic to work. Mostly they are built in as "best practise"...
     
  5. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now come on tell the truth, did you break it whilst trying to fit the Wii Clip lol why else would you be looking at that particular part [​IMG]
     
  6. ultraburn
    OP

    Newcomer ultraburn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for help...what do resistors do ?
    I did try to solder it back on but I may as well have been trying to put C3PO's head back on with my soldering skills..
     
  7. berlinka

    Member berlinka You have sustained a lethal injury.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,147
    Location:
    Harderwijk, Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
     
  8. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    Resistors limit the current.
    Google Ohm's Law: U=R*I
     
  9. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SMD (surface mount devices) are notoriously difficult to solder especially with hobbyist irons, you can end up, either if the iron is too low damaging chips by leaving it on too long or if you have it too hot you can lift the tracks off the PCB. Don't bother unless you have the right kit ie. temp controlled ESD safe soldering iron, illuminated magnifier glass, lots of experience and a steady hand!

    Posts merged

    V=I*R
     
  10. Benjay

    Member Benjay Hardstyle Addict

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Amiens
    Country:
    France
    Depends on which country you live.
    in France for exemple , it is U=R*I
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    If it doesn't have anything written next to it, it might be a ferrite bead.

    Just bridge the two pads with a wire. It should work. If your soldering iron is too big, or you don't have 30AWG wires (aka Kynar Wires) just put a blob of tin on it, and make the two pads bridge. Be sure to not put too much, or you could get other components in the blob and create a REAL MESS.

    Even better, try to get a REAL ferrite bead (you can see them here) but be aware that SMD soldering isn't easy. Do that only if you're really confident with your soldering skills.

    Ferrite beads are there to suppress high frequency noise in electronic circuits. Nothing bad should happen if you just bridge the pads.

    Obviously:
    DISCLAIMER: I'm in no WAY responsible, liable or anything if you totally kill your Wii by doing this. This is totally at your own risk.
     
  12. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well whoever is doing that should be using the term Volt (V)
    (SI unit)
     
  13. ultraburn
    OP

    Newcomer ultraburn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    Thats exactly what it is a "ferrite bead" I looked at the others ....I think I'll leave soldering it for know....and practice on some of my motherboard graveyard items [​IMG]
     

Share This Page