Hardware Broken HDD?

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
So yea, few days ago, I had a big trouble with my PC and had to reinstall windows
Everything seemed right, but after the installation, I noticed that my HDD was absent from everywhere in my PC

Windows browser, Disc manager, BIOS, everywhere

So I called for help on Facebook (I was suspended at the time)
And they all told me it was broken and I had to change
They also told me it was just a coincidence if it broke when i reinstalled windows

Do you believe them?
Do you think I need a new HDD?
Because right now, I'm working only with my 120GB SSD

thanks
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,454
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,107
Country
Antarctica
It could very well be that your HDD is dead, is it spinning up tho? does the R/W arm perform any actions?
Anyway, I suggest attaching it to a different SATA port to atleast rule out the SATA port isn't borked (slim chance but might happen)
Other thing you could try it attaching it to a SATA-USB bridge and see if it gets detected.

If it doesn't, it's time to get a new one.
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
It could very well be that your HDD is dead, is it spinning up tho? does the R/W arm perform any actions?
Anyway, I suggest attaching it to a different SATA port to atleast rule out the SATA port isn't borked (slim chance but might happen)
Other thing you could try it attaching it to a SATA-USB bridge and see if it gets detected.

If it doesn't, it's time to get a new one.
It does work, I mean, power goes in and it is spinning
I tryed changing of SATA port, still doesnt work

As for trying with another computer, I only have mom's laptop, and I never opened a laptop, so I'm a bit nervous doing it, scared of breaking something or be unable to reclose it lol

So, I guess I'll have to buy a new one :(
But hey, do you really think that the fact it broke right when I reinstall windows is just a coincidence?
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
No need to disassemble a laptop.
A SATA-USB bridge will suffice.

Harddrives can die, just like any other thing.
I hardly doubt you installing windows borked it.

Edit: you sure it doesn't show up as uninitialized in disk manager?
I get this
upload_2018-9-19_7-38-20.png

The 111 GB one is my SSD
The 2794GB is my external HDD
So no, it doesn'T show up :(

As for Usb-sata bridge, I don't have such adapter, so I can't really test it
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
Hmm.
Is your external easy to disassemble?
If yes, then I'd say disassemble it and attach the "dead" drive to it to see if it really is dead.

I'm afraid you have to get a new drive lad.
mmmh... nah I won't take the risk, anyway, there was only games on that HDD, I can easily redownload them
And anyway, I ordered a new one yesterday

And btw, maybe you can explain this weird thing when I ordered it
I had 3 options for shippng
1st : free regular shipping
2nd : free 2-day shipping
3rd : free 1-day shipping

...
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,296
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,692
Country
Poland
nah, as i said, there was just games and others thing i can redownload :P
What you *can* do is order the exact same model, hope it's not a different revision, swap the boards, rescue your data, swap them back and transfer to the new platters. If you're buying a new one and feel adventurous, that's a good way to save your data without having to redownload anything.
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
What you *can* do is order the exact same model, hope it's not a different revision, swap the boards, rescue your data, swap them back and transfer to the new platters. If you're buying a new one and feel adventurous, that's a good way to save your data without having to redownload anything.
nah its ok, I'm not that good with computer, I can build one and all, but toying INSIDE those part, nah... I'm not that handy
 
  • Like
Reactions: Foxi4

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,296
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,692
Country
Poland
nah its ok, I'm not that good with computer, I can build one and all, but toying INSIDE those part, nah... I'm not that handy
To be fair, a transplant doesn't always work anyways - sometimes you also have to swap the logic board ROM's on a rework station, so you must be confident to do this. Like I said, it's too much trouble for too little gain unless the platter has vital information, in which case it sounds like it doesn't. Sorry about your loss, perhaps the drive will be fixable in the future, maybe it's just the adapter that's faulty. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Noctosphere

DSAndi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
377
Country
Germany
Why buy a new HDD ? SSDs are dirt cheap atm. 250GB for 50€ or even cheaper (seeing 240GB for 40€ already) or 500GB for 80€ while 480GB is only 70€.

I only buy HDDs for my NAS for mass storage, while my PCs are all SSD only exept my very old one.
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
Why buy a new HDD ? SSDs are dirt cheap atm. 250GB for 50€ or even cheaper (seeing 240GB for 40€ already) or 500GB for 80€ while 480GB is only 70€.

I only buy HDDs for my NAS for mass storage, while my PCs are all SSD only exept my very old one.
well you see, I don't have the same fund as you
Plus, I download a lot
Plus plus, we don't have the same currency
CAD makes it like 33-50% more expansive
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,296
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
25,692
Country
Poland
Why buy a new HDD ? SSDs are dirt cheap atm. 250GB for 50€ or even cheaper (seeing 240GB for 40€ already) or 500GB for 80€ while 480GB is only 70€.

I only buy HDDs for my NAS for mass storage, while my PCs are all SSD only exept my very old one.
If it's a storage drive, you can get significantly more capacity for the buck with a conventional HDD. Unless a high read speed is required, there's no reason to invest in solid state storage.
 

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
5,300
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
In my sister's basement with kitty Zelda
XP
6,297
Country
Canada
If it's a storage drive, you can get significantly more capacity for the buck with a conventional HDD. Unless a high read speed is required, there's no reason to invest in solid state storage.
Exactly, when there's a game I play a lot for a while, I move it to my small SSD
but other than that, I can work with HDD
 

DSAndi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
377
Country
Germany
Sure if you need it cheap get a HDD.
SSDs just save me a lot time and are generally better for gaming.

For Storrage i got a 4 bay NAS with WD Red.
 

DinohScene

Gay boy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,454
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
17,107
Country
Antarctica
Why buy a new HDD ? SSDs are dirt cheap atm. 250GB for 50€ or even cheaper (seeing 240GB for 40€ already) or 500GB for 80€ while 480GB is only 70€.

I only buy HDDs for my NAS for mass storage, while my PCs are all SSD only exept my very old one.

I'm continuing to purchase HDDs.
I need them for mass storage on which speed isn't a issue.
It's financially wiser to get harddrives instead of SSDs.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Ordering more China virus air again