Broken HDD?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Noctosphere, Sep 19, 2018.

  1. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    So yea, few days ago, I had a big trouble with my PC and had to reinstall windows
    Everything seemed right, but after the installation, I noticed that my HDD was absent from everywhere in my PC

    Windows browser, Disc manager, BIOS, everywhere

    So I called for help on Facebook (I was suspended at the time)
    And they all told me it was broken and I had to change
    They also told me it was just a coincidence if it broke when i reinstalled windows

    Do you believe them?
    Do you think I need a new HDD?
    Because right now, I'm working only with my 120GB SSD

    thanks
     
  2. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    22
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    It could very well be that your HDD is dead, is it spinning up tho? does the R/W arm perform any actions?
    Anyway, I suggest attaching it to a different SATA port to atleast rule out the SATA port isn't borked (slim chance but might happen)
    Other thing you could try it attaching it to a SATA-USB bridge and see if it gets detected.

    If it doesn't, it's time to get a new one.
     
  3. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    It does work, I mean, power goes in and it is spinning
    I tryed changing of SATA port, still doesnt work

    As for trying with another computer, I only have mom's laptop, and I never opened a laptop, so I'm a bit nervous doing it, scared of breaking something or be unable to reclose it lol

    So, I guess I'll have to buy a new one :(
    But hey, do you really think that the fact it broke right when I reinstall windows is just a coincidence?
     
  4. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    22
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    No need to disassemble a laptop.
    A SATA-USB bridge will suffice.

    Harddrives can die, just like any other thing.
    I hardly doubt you installing windows borked it.

    Edit: you sure it doesn't show up as uninitialized in disk manager?
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  5. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    I get this
    upload_2018-9-19_7-38-20.
    The 111 GB one is my SSD
    The 2794GB is my external HDD
    So no, it doesn'T show up :(

    As for Usb-sata bridge, I don't have such adapter, so I can't really test it
     
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    22
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    Hmm.
    Is your external easy to disassemble?
    If yes, then I'd say disassemble it and attach the "dead" drive to it to see if it really is dead.

    I'm afraid you have to get a new drive lad.
     
  7. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    mmmh... nah I won't take the risk, anyway, there was only games on that HDD, I can easily redownload them
    And anyway, I ordered a new one yesterday

    And btw, maybe you can explain this weird thing when I ordered it
    I had 3 options for shippng
    1st : free regular shipping
    2nd : free 2-day shipping
    3rd : free 1-day shipping

    ...
     
  8. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    22
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    Hm, I'd say put a sticker on it and write "DEAD?" on it.
    Perhaps in the future you might be able to verify it.

    Unfortunately no, not really.
    Idk where you ordered it.
    But I assume that regular shipping comes with more risks attached.
     
  9. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
  10. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    27
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Sounds like a faulty logic board to me. Fixable if you want to recover the data, but it really depends on whether you care about it or not.
     
    DinohScene likes this.
  11. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    nah, as i said, there was just games and others thing i can redownload :P
     
  12. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    27
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    What you *can* do is order the exact same model, hope it's not a different revision, swap the boards, rescue your data, swap them back and transfer to the new platters. If you're buying a new one and feel adventurous, that's a good way to save your data without having to redownload anything.
     
  13. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    nah its ok, I'm not that good with computer, I can build one and all, but toying INSIDE those part, nah... I'm not that handy
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  14. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    27
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    To be fair, a transplant doesn't always work anyways - sometimes you also have to swap the logic board ROM's on a rework station, so you must be confident to do this. Like I said, it's too much trouble for too little gain unless the platter has vital information, in which case it sounds like it doesn't. Sorry about your loss, perhaps the drive will be fixable in the future, maybe it's just the adapter that's faulty. ;)
     
    Noctosphere likes this.
  15. DSAndi

    DSAndi GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jul 18, 2008
    Gambia, The
    Why buy a new HDD ? SSDs are dirt cheap atm. 250GB for 50€ or even cheaper (seeing 240GB for 40€ already) or 500GB for 80€ while 480GB is only 70€.

    I only buy HDDs for my NAS for mass storage, while my PCs are all SSD only exept my very old one.
     
  16. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    well you see, I don't have the same fund as you
    Plus, I download a lot
    Plus plus, we don't have the same currency
    CAD makes it like 33-50% more expansive
     
  17. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    27
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    If it's a storage drive, you can get significantly more capacity for the buck with a conventional HDD. Unless a high read speed is required, there's no reason to invest in solid state storage.
     
  18. Noctosphere
    OP

    Noctosphere Adoptive father of my kitty named Zelda

    Member
    12
    GBAtemp Patron
    Noctosphere is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Dec 30, 2013
    Canada
    Back with kitty Zelda forever :D
    Exactly, when there's a game I play a lot for a while, I move it to my small SSD
    but other than that, I can work with HDD
     
  19. DSAndi

    DSAndi GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Jul 18, 2008
    Gambia, The
    Sure if you need it cheap get a HDD.
    SSDs just save me a lot time and are generally better for gaming.

    For Storrage i got a 4 bay NAS with WD Red.
     
  20. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    22
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    I'm continuing to purchase HDDs.
    I need them for mass storage on which speed isn't a issue.
    It's financially wiser to get harddrives instead of SSDs.
     
Loading...