Broken dvd drive having some side effects

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gamemasterkobs, Sep 21, 2010.

Sep 21, 2010
  1. gamemasterkobs
    OP

    Newcomer gamemasterkobs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    angeles city
    Country:
    Philippines
    My wii doesnt accept any disc once you've tried to put a disc inside it wont go in the eject button works i sometimes use it to power on my wii, maybe it's because i often use it to copy games to wfbs partition/usbloader.

    side effects-

    -channels doesnt work once loaded it will work for 10 sec then black screen
    -usbloader games doesnt work im having "error has occurred pls press eject button etc." some games work (nfs undercover, excitebots and sonic black knight)

    working apps-

    -homebrew channel
    -emulators
    -priiloader

    ive read some forums and they said that wii will not work well if the dvd drive is broken

    ive also tried using neogamma and gecko os it says error no dvd detected

    -is there anyway to bypass the wii from detecting the defective dvd drive?

    thing that ive tried so far...

    -updated system menu from 3.2 to 4.0 usa
    -used pimp my wii
    -used cios 38 rev 13b (only rev that works for my usbloader)
    -priiloader options to stop dvd at start
    -nand back up

    -pls help me

    sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS61 (rev 4890).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.0U (v417)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 37089081
    Boot2 v2

    Found 60 titles.
    Found 37 IOS on this console. 7 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 3): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access
    IOS9 (rev 1034): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): Trucha Bug
    IOS13 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS14 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access
    IOS16 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access
    IOS17 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 1294): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 1807): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS33 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS35 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS36 (rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS38 (rev 4124): Trucha Bug
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS55 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 5919): Trucha Bug
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 4890): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): Trucha Bug
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 13): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v2
    MIOS v5

    Report generated on 2010/09/21.
     
  2. arasium

    Member arasium GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    use sneek [​IMG]
     
  3. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dude, you're totally out of date.
    The usb loader issue is simply fixed if you update to cIOS rev 20- Base 56- slot 249.
    Update your usb loader app.

    So your retail disc do not work either?
    You can still copy games to .wbfs ?

    How can you be on SM 4.0?
    IOS 60 is stubbed!

    I think your SM is 4.3
     
  4. gamemasterkobs
    OP

    Newcomer gamemasterkobs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    angeles city
    Country:
    Philippines
    but when my wii start it says 4.0 usa at the bottom left,, ive tried updating to rev 20b but it seems the usbloader is not detecting the partition,,, by the way im using configurable usbloader
     
  5. gamemasterkobs
    OP

    Newcomer gamemasterkobs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    angeles city
    Country:
    Philippines
    Im reading an article about sneek its very complictated ill try reading some more what does it actually do???
     
  6. arasium

    Member arasium GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Paris
    Country:
    France
    It emulates a wii. So you can put your wii on your sd (it prevents your wii from damages because all the system modification will be done on the sd, not the wii).

    Then, you can load games from an usb drive. The games will be loaded in the Wii Disc channel like if you've putted a disc.
     
  7. gamemasterkobs
    OP

    Newcomer gamemasterkobs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    angeles city
    Country:
    Philippines

    Already updated to rev 20b still doesnt work
     
  8. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    Philippines
    why not try to remove your modchip if you have one?
     
  9. jelmew

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Even when using usb-loaders, the games do need to spin up the disc from time to time. so if the dvd-drive is broken, games will simply not work. No softmod-fix is available for this. An option is to use sneek+di to run your games. This acts basicly the same as an usb-loader, but also emulates the rest of the wii (so faking the disc-drive). This way, games will still work from usb.
     
  10. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    Philippines
    i thought you just need the motherboard of the drive to use usb loaders and i belive there's i mod i've seen here that did just that to internalize his 2.5 HDD on the wii
     
  11. gamemasterkobs
    OP

    Newcomer gamemasterkobs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    angeles city
    Country:
    Philippines
    I dont have any modchip software mod only,,, well tnx anyways if anything comes up just post it so i could try it,,, i'll try to look other methods to fix this
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    That's correct. The mechanical portion can be completely missing as long as the board is still present. Someone I know had a wii with that mod (until he bricked it). If you think the drive is the issue, try seeing if a friend would let you swap drives for testing. If your wii works fine with the other drive in it, replace your drive.
     

Share This Page