Hacking Bricked Wii.

frankiejones

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
91
Country
So, someone I know decided that they had to have a Wii with the HBC for no real reason, so they installed Preloader 0.29, BootMii and stuff. She made a backup of the NAND and still has it.
Naturally, she decided 'Mario and Sonic together? Must try! Oh look, an update! Let's install it!'
and so the Wii bricked itself. She could still load preloader, but for some reason when she tried to restore the NAND, it would tell her to push A-B-X-Y together but when she does, it exits.
"My gosh, I should play around with the settings" she mentally declares.
Now to quote the SMS I recieved:
"it said something like open first and it was set on preloader or disabled and I saved the setting to systemmenu and then it saved"
Talking to her later, she tells me 'It no longer turns on into preloader, when I turn on the Wii the green light comes on but my TV stays on the blue AV image like nothings plugged in (and it is plugged in).

Summary:
Wii Bricked
Had preloader and NAND backup
NAND backup screen just quit after A+B+X+Y were pressed
She changed the default start up thing from Preloader to Systemmenu (Smart, eh?)
Wii starts up but stays on TV image

Thought a lame story would make what would be yet another bricking thread slightly more interesting. I know it didn't, but I aint deleting all that now!

(Also, removing the SD card didn't work)

Can it be fixed? Can it be repaired (by a mod shop or Ninty?).

Thanks

Last minute thought: She still has her nand backup and everything on her computer, can she just copy that over what's on the SD card and it will revert the settings back to making preloader the default start up thing? (She doesn't have a card reader, so I can't really ask her to try before I post as I need to lend her mine and we finished school last week >_>)
 

frankiejones

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
91
Country
Well, yeah, she could access preloader until she changed it to System Menu default. Now she can't load preloader because the TV won't acknowledge that the Wii is plugged in when she turns it on.
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
Can it be fixed?
Depends if you get preloader to work again. It's weird that it stopped after changing the default boot setting in preloader. The default boot setting shouldn't prevent you from getting to the preloader menu using RESET. Try holding reset while turning on, and keep holding it for a few seconds after turning it on.

QUOTE said:
Talking to her later, she tells me 'It no longer turns on into preloader, when I turn on the Wii the green light comes on but my TV stays on the blue AV image like nothings plugged in (and it is plugged in).
The TV ignoring the wii is because the wii isn't outputting anything. That's normal for a bricked wii.

QUOTE
Can it be repaired (by a mod shop or Ninty?).
Ninty typically throws the bricks in a stack and stuffs a refurb unit in the box. If you want to send it in, don't expect the same unit back. A shop might be able to manually restore the nand backup with an infectus, assuming they know how to do so.
 

FenrirWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
4,347
Trophies
1
Location
Sandy, UT
XP
615
Country
United States
nkbswe5 said:
Well, yeah, she could access preloader until she changed it to System Menu default. Now she can't load preloader because the TV won't acknowledge that the Wii is plugged in when she turns it on.
But when you hold reset, Preloader should turn on regardless of its preset configuration.
 

ziddey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
542
Trophies
0
XP
119
Country
United States
still got the wii box? grab a new one somewhere and return the old one. look for one that's older and will support disc loading.


fuck best buy
 

nabster92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,630
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
51
Country
United States
Also from what it sounds like, she has bootmii only as an IOS. That should not be used to restore a backup in any case. Only boot2 bootmii is used for recovery from a brick. The IOS version gives you a last resort of being able to use an Infectus to directly flash that NAND backup to your chip.
 

tanis698

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
165
Trophies
0
XP
87
Country
United States
you can use bootmii as a ios to restore a nand.. the only reason they say not too is because if something goes wrong like power outage etc you are screwed. preloader is better then bootmii as a ios honestly=[
 

nabster92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,630
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
51
Country
United States
tanis698 said:
you can use bootmii as a ios to restore a nand.. the only reason they say not too is because if something goes wrong like power outage etc you are screwed. preloader is better then bootmii as a ios honestly=[

Yea you CAN, but because of that having the possibility of screwing you over even harder is why they repeatedly shove the warnings against continuing with it with only the IOS version and make you press the stupid button combination to do it anyways. And if you can get into bootmii as an IOS at all, chances are you can fix your brick in a much more sane fashion anyways, so it makes it even more worthless for brick protection. So again, it's basically just a last resort if EVERYTHING stops working then you can at least use an infectus to restore the backup from IOS bootmii.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He claims it's a concept album but I don't really get how it all lined up just what you'd expect
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe it's just that, death of Slim Shady, birth of the new adult mature Marshall Mathers Whatever. Very concept, much
    meta.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah the media stand point we miss his old material but shit on new songs so much it was just pretty mid
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Few good singles kamikaze was still better imo
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He will wind up like Ice Cube selling depends and rolaids lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    "I wear depends because my bladder leaks sending me off the deep end!!!"
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Better than ending up like Kid Rock who should be called Senile Grampa Cuntry now.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "I'm still edgy!" Yeah yeah, time for your prune juice and pills.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kid rock ft jelly roll I'm not old!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My dentures are fake my joints ache my feet are cold I'm not old! Lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Hold my budweiser
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Nursing home nursery rhyme, Eminem is running out of time!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's hard to rap when your dentures flap, make sure you use poly grip and don't confuse your preparation H with the gel that grips!
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Owe my hip
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is why Eminem got clean and shady didn't
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He said mean awful things to me I need a new record
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't he just make a dis track about Drake, that's popular these days.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Drake Paul?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I think Drake took out Hailey so he has his blessing
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So Intel is gonna be in trouble for a while lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Stock is gonna nose dive, time to buy lol
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    you have lost the game
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol