Bricked Wii - Priiloader won't load.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RyuKisargi, Aug 31, 2010.

Aug 31, 2010
  1. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii bricked while I was playing Metroid Other M off USB Loader GX.

    Specifically, after a cutscene went black, I attempted to reboot my Wii to get to a black screen.

    I have Priiloader as a.... Boot1 or whatever it is, it loads when I hold reset.

    Well right now, it isn't reloading.

    I'm going to unplug my Wii for about 15 minutes and see if it works.
     


  2. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Strange, I haven't seen any reports of people bricking their wii's by playing a game. Maybe it's a hardware failure?
     
  3. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know. I know I updated a couple IOSs to run the ISO of the game, so.
     
  4. GHBAimen

    Member GHBAimen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Sweden
    Remove all cables from your Wii and wait about 15 minutes as you said earlier. Then plug everything back EXCEPT YOUR USB HDD and boot up your Wii.
     
  5. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, that should do like a power cycle or something, right?

    I'm worried that my Priiloader isn't loading. I used it this morning! @_@
     
  6. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I've taken out the SD card, removed all the cords for a set time, all that jazz.

    When I do cut it on, the blue light blinks once, but when I hold the reset button to bring up Priiloader, nothing.


    Isn't there -ANYTHING-, a USBkey program I can put on a flashdrive, a CD I can burn with something that autoboots it to something, JUST ANYTHING?!

    I'm going out of mind here.
     
  7. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know which IOSes you updated?
     
  8. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I ran these WADs, it was said that they were needed to fix issues for it.

    IOS58-64-v6175.wad
    cIOS223[37-38]-v4.wad
    IOS61-v5405.wad
     
  9. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    None of those are related to the system menu, so the IOS update likely didn't brick it.

    Can you turn on the console using the wiimote (even if you only get a black screen once it's on)?
     
  10. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    Kill it with fire?
     
  11. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, yes I can. I've read in another topic that it could be the bluetooth module. That isn't the case here.


    Troll: Believe me. I want to.
     
  12. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    if it flashes blue when you power on you might have bootmii in boot2. try constructing an sd card with the proper files to launch bootmii from boot2. if that works you can fix this.

    you did something more than install those custom ios's...and playing metroid other m did not you brick you as well. either hardware failed, or you did something wrong that you are not saying.
     
  13. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I messed with MultiModManager a bit, but....

    Is there a tutorial here for doing that? An SD card for that.

    And would I just do the same thing like with PriiLoader?
     
  14. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    No if you have bootmii boot2, having the files on the sd card (with the sd in the wii of course) would auto boot it to bootmii
     
  15. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Where do I get the exact files that do boot it to bootmii?

    Just the packager, or what?
     
  16. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I figured out how thanks to a theread of BootMii.

    My Wii still has the black screen of death. I can turn it on via WiiMote, and the drive -does- flash.

    I have several SD cards, and although I've only tried once, I'm about to try it with all 4 of them.

    My BootMii.ini looks like this.

    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=NTSC

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    #AUTOBOOT=HBC

    # Autoboot delay, in seconds:
    # Default is 5
    #BOOTDELAY=3


    I'm gonna try to get it to go straight to HBC.


    Otherwise, is there a USB or a CD/DVD I can burn with something that'll -force- it to go to BootMii? As I said before, holding the reset button while powering on isn't doing anything.


    I -really- don't want to get a new Wii. (( Although a black one would be nice. ))
     
  17. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I recommend you run the bootmii configurator from ModMii (see my signature). You need more than just the bootmii.ini file, u also need an armboot.bin and a ppcSomething.elf (or something, my memory is fuzzy). Both of these can be downloaded via ModMii (but generally people get these files by either installing bootmii or using the hackmii installer to prepare an SD card).
     
  18. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I just did that. No BootMii. :|

    I -know- I have BootMii as an OS, why doesn't it wanna show up, or Priiloader?
     
  19. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    as an os?! :wtf:;
     
  20. RyuKisargi
    OP

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Whatever the term is. Boot1 or 2 or whatever.

    Before this happened, I could press and hold reset and go into Priiloader, and go to BootMii through HBC.

    I know I pulled some Priiloader hacks yesterday morning, but I had rebooted it several timed throughout the day. My problem happened -after- I used USB Loader GX -w- Metroid Other M.
     

Share This Page