Hardware Bricked switch?

JJohnybravo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
65
Country
United States
I was using my switch on reinx playing a game and I got an error from reinx out of nowhere, telling me to press the power button to reset the console. After I did that, my switch started only booting into rcm mode. Is there anything I can do about this?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
I did not. It also boots me back into rcm mode when I try to inject reinx.bin
As a matter of troubleshooting, please do the following.
  1. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
  2. Download the latest Atmosphere from Github (currently 0.9.3)
  3. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  4. Download these signature patches
  5. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  6. Put the SD into your Switch
  7. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
What happens?
 
  • Like
Reactions: ELY_M

JJohnybravo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
65
Country
United States
The screen turns on, but it's just a black screen.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The screen turns on, but it's just a black screen.
This might have something to do with me installing incognito on my switch, I heard atmosphere does not boot up while in incognito mode.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
The screen turns on, but it's just a black screen.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


This might have something to do with me installing incognito on my switch, I heard atmosphere does not boot up while in incognito mode.
Atmosphere can't be used to install Incognito, but it runs just fine with it.

What happens if you restore a NAND backup?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
Last edited by Lacius,

JJohnybravo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
65
Country
United States
Yes to both and alright

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Can I use hekate and backup my nand despite not being able to get pass rcm mode?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,099
Trophies
3
XP
18,338
Country
United States
Yes to both and alright

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Can I use hekate and backup my nand despite not being able to get pass rcm mode?
There is no reason you shouldn't be able to launch Hekate. If you can enter Hekate, then you should backup your broken NAND, just in case.
 

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
Haven't been able to backup my nand, keep getting "failed to init eMMC!"

My switch is also on the latest firmware
"failed to init eMMC" now that seriously isn't good, either you've got a dead eMMC or your nand is a mess now.

(Try checking your eMMC is seated too, doubt that'll be the case but you never know)
 

JJohnybravo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
65
Country
United States
It can be recovered, either a manual read via hw then written to new eMMC(if hekate can't read it)

Also this would rule out whether it's the actual hardware or a software end that's messed up
I have a question, I checked fuses in hekate and it shows me a line of orange text saying "Burnt Fuses (ODM 7/6): 10-0"

Does this mean anything important? Asking because it's the only line of text colored orange. Also how would I do a manual read and what is hw?
 

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
I have a question, I checked fuses in hekate and it shows me a line of orange text saying "Burnt Fuses (ODM 7/6): 10-0"

Does this mean anything important? Asking because it's the only line of text colored orange. Also how would I do a manual read and what is hw?
hw= hardware, you'd basically use a MicroSD reader to read off the nand and fuses & etc are not stored on nand rather elsewhere.
 

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
Thanks for the answer and, I doubt so but, is there a guide for that or something?
Well not really a guide and now I'm 100% certain the switch doesn't even see the nand since it boots straight to RCM mode, just to check do you have AutoRCM?

Also if you want to do a manual read off and then write onto a new nand, grab a soldering iron, look for the Switch Nand pinout and see how they did it on the N3DS XL as an example of reading nand via SD reader.
 

JJohnybravo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
65
Country
United States
Well not really a guide and now I'm 100% certain the switch doesn't even see the nand since it boots straight to RCM mode, just to check do you have AutoRCM?

Also if you want to do a manual read off and then write onto a new nand, grab a soldering iron, look for the Switch Nand pinout and see how they did it on the N3DS XL as an example of reading nand via SD reader.
Well I never set it up but when I load hetake it says autorcm is on, when I turn it off it still loads me into rcm mode, and when I go back into hetake it says autorcm is on again.
 
Last edited by JJohnybravo,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A woman with no arms and no legs was sitting on a beach. A man comes along and the woman says, "I've never been hugged before." So the man feels bad and hugs her. She says "Well i've also never been kissed before." So he gives her a kiss on the cheek. She says "Well I've also never been fucked before." So the man picks her up, and throws her in the ocean and says "Now you're fucked."
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    anyways, we need to re-normalize physical media

    if i didn't want my games to be permanent, then i'd rent them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, that why I try to buy all my games on disc, Xbox anyways. Switch games (which I pirate tbh) don't matter much, I stay offline 24/7 anyways.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I don't pirate them, I Use Them :mellow:. Like I do @BigOnYa 's couch :tpi::evil::rofl2:
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @BakerMan - you can still "own" digital media, arguably easier and better than physical since you can make copies and backups, as much as you like.

    The issue is DRM
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You can buy drm free games / music / ebooks, and if you keep backups of your data (like documents and family photos etc), then you shouldn't lose the game. but with a disk, your toddler could put it in the toaster and there goes your $60

    :rofl2:
  • cearp @ cearp:
    still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    i like physical media because it actually feels like you own it. thats why i plan on burning music to cds
  • cearp @ cearp:
    It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space
    cearp @ cearp: It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space