Hacking Bricked after battery drains out

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
First sorry for my english. Hi, I left my switch on a desk for a very long time and it runs out of battery and stayed off for some weeks, then I fully charge it and tried to boot it up with tegraRCM and sending the payload but now it get stuck on "Nintendo Switch" Logo. It was on fw 8.1.0 the last time I played and it had a DNS so updates were blocked.
Here's some things I've tried:
1. Disable autoRCM
2. Update my SDcard files (atmosphere, bootloader, those files you know)
3. Tried Downgrading with choidujour (the long way with balenaetcher, memloader, Biskeys, HacDiskMount and all that stuff) Tried first with 6.1.0 and then with 5.1.0, none worked
4. Charging it to a 100%
5. Now i'll leave it in the Switch logo during all night
edit: Tried to boot OFW with autoRCM off and the screen stays black and had to shut it down by holding the power bottom for 20s

Please i'll thanks any kind of help
 
Last edited by DripZ,

daftbaz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
56
Country
Netherlands
Left my switch for a month and a week(also CFW 8.1 atmosphere). Was completely drained, but could not charge it. It was just dead, nothing on the screen. Tried all chargers. Still had my guarantee from the second hand store i bought it from, so i got a new one. But this was was unhackable. doh !
 

mav2010

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
859
Country
Germany
So just to understand the situation: the Switch was drained, but you managed to recharge it, you can push payloads etc. The only thing is you can’t boot the OS beyond the Nintendo logo?

Sounds like a botched upgrade of the firmware to me. Do you have a NAND backup that you can restore?
 

NekoMichi

Retro Collector
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2015
Messages
1,441
Trophies
0
Location
Minus World
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,413
Country
Left my switch for a month and a week(also CFW 8.1 atmosphere). Was completely drained, but could not charge it. It was just dead, nothing on the screen. Tried all chargers. Still had my guarantee from the second hand store i bought it from, so i got a new one. But this was was unhackable. doh !
Same happened to my test Switch, I had to take it apart, unplug the battery, and hold down the power button for 30 seconds before putting everything back together and getting it working.

If I had to guess why this happens, I'd say that this is caused by the battery percentage getting out of sync. If you powered it off while it had a full-ish battery, the system will "remember" that value and expect that battery level the next time you power on. If you leave it for a prolonged period, the battery could drain but the system still expects there to be some power left. This explains why it doesn't power on properly and also doesn't properly charge. Could be wrong though.
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,637
Trophies
1
XP
4,381
Country
United Kingdom
Same happened to my test Switch, I had to take it apart, unplug the battery, and hold down the power button for 30 seconds before putting everything back together and getting it working.

If I had to guess why this happens, I'd say that this is caused by the battery percentage getting out of sync. If you powered it off while it had a full-ish battery, the system will "remember" that value and expect that battery level the next time you power on. If you leave it for a prolonged period, the battery could drain but the system still expects there to be some power left. This explains why it doesn't power on properly and also doesn't properly charge. Could be wrong though.

The battery sync issue is sorted now AFAIK, they found out how to disconnect the battery in software.

I've let my switch run out of battery loads of times, it's always quick to charge back up.
 

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
So just to understand the situation: the Switch was drained, but you managed to recharge it, you can push payloads etc. The only thing is you can’t boot the OS beyond the Nintendo logo?

Sounds like a botched upgrade of the firmware to me. Do you have a NAND backup that you can restore?
Unfortunately no, I can use any payload, hekate, memloaler, lockpick, but can't pass the Nintendo switch logo.

I have another switch perfectly working on 8.1.0 with CFW, is there any way to use a NAND back up of that switch in the bricked switch?
 
Last edited by DripZ,

mav2010

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
859
Country
Germany
Unfortunately no, I can use any payload, hekate, memloaler, lockpick, but can't pass the Nintendo switch logo.

I have another switch perfectly working on 8.1.0 with CFW, is there any way to use a NAND back up of that switch in the bricked switch?

Unfortunately not, the NAND is console specific. You might be able to rebuild your NAND from scratch, if the PRODINFO partition is still intact. But I never did that, you would have to search on how to do that. Or one of the other experts chimes in on this.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,400
Trophies
0
XP
1,619
Country
Australia

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
use Biskeys to get your console keys
use tergasmashhui open it inxtall driver if its not installed and in tools mount the rawbin (nand)
open HacDiskMount as admin
open physical drive and its the one with linux in the name
and do a dump of the PRODINFO and system partitions

I've already done this tutorial, everything was going great but at the end the switch just won't boot and stays on boot logo, I don't know if I'm using the wrong fw version or something. My keys are working and I have them backedup
 

mav2010

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
859
Country
Germany
Just found this. So maybe it’s worth a try to manually downgrade to 4.1.0 or something with ChoiDuJour and then try pushing a payload again.

https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade


Danger

You cannot upgrade or downgrade directly to any firmwares from 6.2.0-8.1.0 as the ChoiDujour PC application does not support these firmware versions. You must upgrade/downgrade to any other firmware version first and then upgrade to these higher firmware versions with the ChoiDujourNX Switch application if you specifically want one of these firmware versions.
 

SedRick_M89

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
344
Country
This exact thing happened to a friend of mine who's switch I hacked..

The issue was caused by his switch running out of battery whilst a game was suspended which caused some of the files to corrupt on the SD card.

I left it charging in the Hekate payload screen whilst I slept. (Hekate 5.0.1) - you'll be able to see if it's charging correctly on the bottom right of the screen, (it took roughly 18 hours to fully charge, I had to unplug and plug it back in a couple times).


- i then booted it into official stock firmware
- removed sd card
- restore factory settings
- reformatted SD card on PC

I then followed the steps to hack the switch as if it was the first time.

This fixed the issue and he has bought a new charge cable and not had an issue since.


Let me know how you get on
 

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
Just found this. So maybe it’s worth a try to manually downgrade to 4.1.0 or something with ChoiDuJour and then try pushing a payload again.

https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade


Danger

You cannot upgrade or downgrade directly to any firmwares from 6.2.0-8.1.0 as the ChoiDujour PC application does not support these firmware versions. You must upgrade/downgrade to any other firmware version first and then upgrade to these higher firmware versions with the ChoiDujourNX Switch application if you specifically want one of these firmware versions.
Thanks man, will try that

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

This exact thing happened to a friend of mine who's switch I hacked..

The issue was caused by his switch running out of battery whilst a game was suspended which caused some of the files to corrupt on the SD card.

I left it charging in the Hekate payload screen whilst I slept. (Hekate 5.0.1) - you'll be able to see if it's charging correctly on the bottom right of the screen, (it took roughly 18 hours to fully charge, I had to unplug and plug it back in a couple times).


- i then booted it into official stock firmware
- removed sd card
- restore factory settings
- reformatted SD card on PC

I then followed the steps to hack the switch as if it was the first time.

This fixed the issue and he has bought a new charge cable and not had an issue since.


Let me know how you get on
Well unlike your friend my switch is already fully charged and still can't boot custom or original fw, thanks for your reply will try that anyways
 

SedRick_M89

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
344
Country
Thanks man, will try that

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Well unlike your friend my switch is already fully charged and still can't boot custom or original fw, thanks for your reply will try that anyways

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you can get to the boot logo, that means you can boot to the recovery menu or still use the RCM jig and see it as an APX?
 

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you can get to the boot logo, that means you can boot to the recovery menu or still use the RCM jig and see it as an APX?
Yeah I can boot to hekate or any payload. Sorry I don't know what an APX is.
 

SedRick_M89

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
344
Country
First sorry for my english. Hi, I left my switch on a desk for a very long time and it runs out of battery and stayed off for some weeks, then I fully charge it and tried to boot it up with tegraRCM and sending the payload but now it get stuck on "Nintendo Switch" Logo. It was on fw 8.1.0 the last time I played and it had a DNS so updates were blocked.
Here's some things I've tried:
1. Disable autoRCM
2. Update my SDcard files (atmosphere, bootloader, those files you know)
3. Tried Downgrading with choidujour (the long way with balenaetcher, memloader, Biskeys, HacDiskMount and all that stuff) Tried first with 6.1.0 and then with 5.1.0, none worked
4. Charging it to a 100%
5. Now i'll leave it in the Switch logo during all night
edit: Tried to boot OFW
Please i'll thanks any kind of help
Yeah I can boot to hekate or any payload. Sorry I don't know what an APX is.

Honestly, you are stuck in the same loop I was In.

Try booting it into recovery menu (I think its volume up+down and power button.

Or

Take sd card out and reformat it.
Then put the files back on so you can boot to the hekate payload and launch STOCK firmware

Restore factory settings.
 

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,400
Trophies
0
XP
1,619
Country
Australia
Yeah I can boot to hekate or any payload. Sorry I don't know what an APX is.

so he wants you to sit in hekate and watch it charge to full by look at bottom right

then
- i then booted it into official stock firmware
- removed sd card
- restore factory settings
- reformatted SD card on PC
 

DripZ

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
79
Country
Panama
Honestly, you are stuck in the same loop I was In.

Try booting it into recovery menu (I think its volume up+down and power button.

Or

Take sd card out and reformat it.
Then put the files back on so you can boot to the hekate payload and launch STOCK firmware

Restore factory settings.
OK I'll try it, I'm not in home right now, so I'll do it later, thanks man
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Hold the lemons