1. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    First sorry for my english. Hi, I left my switch on a desk for a very long time and it runs out of battery and stayed off for some weeks, then I fully charge it and tried to boot it up with tegraRCM and sending the payload but now it get stuck on "Nintendo Switch" Logo. It was on fw 8.1.0 the last time I played and it had a DNS so updates were blocked.
    Here's some things I've tried:
    1. Disable autoRCM
    2. Update my SDcard files (atmosphere, bootloader, those files you know)
    3. Tried Downgrading with choidujour (the long way with balenaetcher, memloader, Biskeys, HacDiskMount and all that stuff) Tried first with 6.1.0 and then with 5.1.0, none worked
    4. Charging it to a 100%
    5. Now i'll leave it in the Switch logo during all night
    edit: Tried to boot OFW with autoRCM off and the screen stays black and had to shut it down by holding the power bottom for 20s

    Please i'll thanks any kind of help
     
    Last edited by DripZ, Nov 2, 2019
  2. daftbaz

    daftbaz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Left my switch for a month and a week(also CFW 8.1 atmosphere). Was completely drained, but could not charge it. It was just dead, nothing on the screen. Tried all chargers. Still had my guarantee from the second hand store i bought it from, so i got a new one. But this was was unhackable. doh !
     
  3. mav2010

    mav2010 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Germany
    So just to understand the situation: the Switch was drained, but you managed to recharge it, you can push payloads etc. The only thing is you can’t boot the OS beyond the Nintendo logo?

    Sounds like a botched upgrade of the firmware to me. Do you have a NAND backup that you can restore?
     
  4. NekoMichi

    NekoMichi Retro Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,441
    Country:
    Same happened to my test Switch, I had to take it apart, unplug the battery, and hold down the power button for 30 seconds before putting everything back together and getting it working.

    If I had to guess why this happens, I'd say that this is caused by the battery percentage getting out of sync. If you powered it off while it had a full-ish battery, the system will "remember" that value and expect that battery level the next time you power on. If you leave it for a prolonged period, the battery could drain but the system still expects there to be some power left. This explains why it doesn't power on properly and also doesn't properly charge. Could be wrong though.
     
  5. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,813
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The battery sync issue is sorted now AFAIK, they found out how to disconnect the battery in software.

    I've let my switch run out of battery loads of times, it's always quick to charge back up.
     
  6. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    Unfortunately no, I can use any payload, hekate, memloaler, lockpick, but can't pass the Nintendo switch logo.

    I have another switch perfectly working on 8.1.0 with CFW, is there any way to use a NAND back up of that switch in the bricked switch?
     
    Last edited by DripZ, Nov 2, 2019
  7. mav2010

    mav2010 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Germany
    Unfortunately not, the NAND is console specific. You might be able to rebuild your NAND from scratch, if the PRODINFO partition is still intact. But I never did that, you would have to search on how to do that. Or one of the other experts chimes in on this.
     
  8. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Country:
    Australia
  9. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
     
  10. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Country:
    Australia
    6.0.1?

    EDIT. leave the sd card out? or move the nintendo folder out or that folder because your old folder won't work
     
    Last edited by pcwizard7, Nov 2, 2019
  11. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    OK I'll try that
     
  12. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    Sadly didn't work, thanks for your help anyways :)
     
  13. mav2010

    mav2010 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Germany
    Just found this. So maybe it’s worth a try to manually downgrade to 4.1.0 or something with ChoiDuJour and then try pushing a payload again.

    https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade


    Danger

    You cannot upgrade or downgrade directly to any firmwares from 6.2.0-8.1.0 as the ChoiDujour PC application does not support these firmware versions. You must upgrade/downgrade to any other firmware version first and then upgrade to these higher firmware versions with the ChoiDujourNX Switch application if you specifically want one of these firmware versions.
     
  14. SedRick_M89

    SedRick_M89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    This exact thing happened to a friend of mine who's switch I hacked..

    The issue was caused by his switch running out of battery whilst a game was suspended which caused some of the files to corrupt on the SD card.

    I left it charging in the Hekate payload screen whilst I slept. (Hekate 5.0.1) - you'll be able to see if it's charging correctly on the bottom right of the screen, (it took roughly 18 hours to fully charge, I had to unplug and plug it back in a couple times).


    - i then booted it into official stock firmware
    - removed sd card
    - restore factory settings
    - reformatted SD card on PC

    I then followed the steps to hack the switch as if it was the first time.

    This fixed the issue and he has bought a new charge cable and not had an issue since.


    Let me know how you get on
     
  15. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    Thanks man, will try that

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Well unlike your friend my switch is already fully charged and still can't boot custom or original fw, thanks for your reply will try that anyways
     
  16. SedRick_M89

    SedRick_M89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If you can get to the boot logo, that means you can boot to the recovery menu or still use the RCM jig and see it as an APX?
     
  17. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    Yeah I can boot to hekate or any payload. Sorry I don't know what an APX is.
     
  18. SedRick_M89

    SedRick_M89 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Honestly, you are stuck in the same loop I was In.

    Try booting it into recovery menu (I think its volume up+down and power button.

    Or

    Take sd card out and reformat it.
    Then put the files back on so you can boot to the hekate payload and launch STOCK firmware

    Restore factory settings.
     
  19. pcwizard7

    pcwizard7 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Country:
    Australia
    so he wants you to sit in hekate and watch it charge to full by look at bottom right

    then
    - i then booted it into official stock firmware
    - removed sd card
    - restore factory settings
    - reformatted SD card on PC
     
  20. DripZ

    OP DripZ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Panama
    OK I'll try it, I'm not in home right now, so I'll do it later, thanks man
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Bricked, battery, drains