1. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I bought a Nintendo Switch from a charity shop, it was listed as broken/faulty for only around £20 with the joycons, dock and charger. So I decided to grab it, it's an unpatched Switch. Doesn't appear to be opened, there's slight teeth marking on the controllers. I'm guessing a child owned it before their parents donated it. Is there anything I could do to repair this?

    I've opened it, it isn't water damaged, no corrosion, M92T36 seems completely fine from what I can tell, I may be wrong. Maybe give me some advice to check if i'm right of wrong. I checked for continuity around the nearby caps

    Is there anything I could do?
     
  2. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,386
    Country:
    United States
    Does it boot?
     
  3. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah yes, sorry forgot to mention. Blue Screen
     
  4. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,386
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to manually build a new clean nand with choidejour PC version and fix it.
     
    SanderJ likes this.
  5. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just used gptrestore.bin and it boots to a text in horizontal style and it says in text what I appear to be important, FAIL!

    But blue screen is gone

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    But when I turn it back on, there's a blue screen though. But when I inject that via TegraRCM, it displays white text and seems functioning

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Alright, I will give that a go
     
  6. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im following this guide:

    1 worked, i'm trying to do 2 now

    injecting hekate just shows a black screen, so i can't get boot 0/1

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Can't post links

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    This is the thread title

    How to get Switch Keys for Hactool/XCI Decrypting

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I managed to get my device keys is all so far
     
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,607
    Country:
    Norway
    If PRODINFO isn't intact you won't be able to create a working NAND but that is literally the only thing that needs to be intact to create a new NAND from scratch and even that might change with time (using a donor PRODINFO is in theory possible by changing or removing the console unique info, well it's a bit more complex than that but still possible, even generating a PRODINFO may be possible although it would never work online that way)
     
  8. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Yeah I moved past that bit now. I'm trying to get my boot 0/1. I got my device keys now. Thanks for reply though
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,607
    Country:
    Norway
    Your keys (well most of them) are not in PRODINFO, PRODINFO mostly contains other things.
     
  10. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,607
    Country:
    Norway
    andyhappypants likes this.
  12. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried lockpick, but nothing came on my SD card. Then I read the git and it said something about not working i believe after 7.00+ I assumed the switch was higher fw

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    will try it again
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,607
    Country:
    Norway
    Sept is needed to dump 7.0+ keys. It's included with Atmosphere.
    But it can still get lower FW keys on 7.0+.
     
  14. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    upload_2019-11-22_17-26-8.png

    I've got this on my SD card, but nothing is showing in Switch.
     
  15. Hardline

    Hardline GBAtemp Advanced Fan and Power Metal Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    Sweden
    or i should bue it from you
     
  16. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im going to reseat my sd reader and see if that's the issue
     
  17. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah alright, I've just seen what lockpick rcm looks like on the switch and I don't get that showing at all, all I've got is a black screen when i inject it, the same thing happens when i inject hekate. However, injecting biskeydump.bin brings up the UI with the barcode and the smiley face with a UI

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If this is too much of a headace to fix for you guys, let me know as like i mentioned before it didn't cost much and I'm just trying to see if i can get this up and running again, but i dont want to waste everyone's time here
     
  18. laramie

    laramie GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    586
    Country:
    United States
    @OP It's a long shot but you could also try making an emunand from hekate/oxos and then build your new nand from that. Make sure emunand boots first before you use it as your base though.
     
  19. SanderJ

    OP SanderJ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    only problem is hekate launches a black screen for me, same with lockpickrcm.bin
     
  20. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,607
    Country:
    Norway
    I am guessing something is failing when they try to read the NAND, causing the console to crash. Or it might be some other hardware that it's trying to access. Anyway, you might have a hardware failure on your hands. Guess there's a reason it was so cheap...
     
    SanderJ likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, bricked, Bought