Bootmii installation.. what happened? O.o

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by NightKry, Jun 14, 2009.

Jun 14, 2009
  1. NightKry
    OP

    Member NightKry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Like, here?
    Country:
    Canada
    I decided to install bootmii today. I forgot to press Prepare SD card first, and just went straight to install to boot2. I reinstalled bootmii in the proper order, but it still doesnt work. But anyway, long story short, my wii just gives a black screen when i start it up w/ an SD card inserted.


    I'm running on 4.0U, cIOS 60... It's the latest hackmii installer...

    What am i doing wrong? How do i fix it?
     
  2. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    might be the sd card, try a different one if you have one

    edit: to make sure it installed correctly startup your wii without a sdcard see if your dvd Led flashes blue twice if it does it is installed correctly
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wrong videomode perhaps. you can configure it in the bootmii config file
     
  4. NightKry
    OP

    Member NightKry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Like, here?
    Country:
    Canada
    It Dvd drive flashes twice when i boot it up. Even when i have an SD card inside, it flashes blue twice, but the screen in just black.
    Could you paste your bootmii config file for me please?


    What should i do? Is uninstallation an option?
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is my bootmii.ini file

    # BootMii config file

    # Video mode, possible settings:
    # NTSC, PAL50, PAL60, PROGRESSIVE
    VIDEO=PAL60

    # Autoboot, possible settings:
    # SYSMENU, HBC
    AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU
    BOOTDELAY=2


    I assume you'll have to set it to VIDEO=NTSC to make it work for you

    It is possible that bootmii (when installed, so not the installer itself) cannot read your type of SD-card. Compatiblity isn't 100% yet. Someone else had a similar problem.

    And of course, uninstallation is also possible. just run the installer again
     
  6. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    That person would be me [​IMG]. It's most likely the sd card you're using. I was using a Lexar 2gig, when I got beta 2, it stopped working, switch sd cards, that'll most likely fix it [​IMG]
     
  7. k3vin369

    Newcomer k3vin369 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    You could try the following;

    1) Put a '#' before "AUTOBOOT=SYSMENU" in your Bootmii config. This should stop it from autobooting into system menu when you turn on your Wii.

    2) Try another SD card, because a few cards have lost compatibility in the newer version of BootMIi. I was using a Lexar 4GB MicroSD, and it has lost compatibility. Here is a list of SD cards that are supported/not supported by BootMii v1, and BootMii v2; http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii/SD_Card_Compatibility_List

    Good luck.
     
  8. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    It seems to be the SD card. Bootmii is very picky regarding this.

    Don't uninstall bootmii - just go out and get another sd for a few bucks.
     
  9. NightKry
    OP

    Member NightKry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Like, here?
    Country:
    Canada
    My VIDEO was already set to NTSC. Anyway, I tried it again, and still, w/ SDHC card inserted, blackscreen, two blue flashes, and nothing.
    I uninstalled bootmii, and now w/ SD card starting my wii works fine. However, when I go to the HBC, I can still launch bootmii. When it launches there are dots beneath the system menu icon, and when the dots slowly disappear, im brought back to the HBC.

    I'll try w/ my friend's SD card.
     
  10. Midnightzak

    Member Midnightzak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    I am also having a problem with BootMii.

    I am unable to copy the NAND to my SD card to make a backup.

    Code:
    Installing part 1
    - Error writing to NAND! (ret = -4)
    I'd really like to get this going as I hope to get some themes running on my wii and don't wanna screw it up past recovery...


    Thanks for your input.

    This whole post is incorrect information, please IGNORE THIS POST
     
  11. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    -4: NAND_RESULT_CORRUPT
     
  12. Midnightzak

    Member Midnightzak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    When I restart my Wii it loads BootMii, I then attempt to save a NAND backup to my SD card (750+MB free) but it just hangs on this screen with "Backup: -1".

    Did some investigating on the BootMii site and it seems that it is taking longer than normal to start the backup, I gave it 15 minutes and got nothing. Ideas?
     
  13. SnelleEdje

    Newcomer SnelleEdje Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Netherlands

    I had exactly the same problem. Using another SD card solved this. You don't have to wait 15 minutes, not even 15 seconds. The backup will start right away.
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    #1 Tip Avoid themes most people on here that have just got into Wii modding have suddenly found their Wii bricked when messing with THEMES and unsure what they are really doing! [​IMG]

    #2 Tip cannot find an SD that works ?! try a micro SD in an SD adapter [​IMG]
     
  15. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Hasn't Team Twiizers said that if the SD isn't compatible, the Slot lights blue for a second? Yup, I'm shure they did...So I'm pretty shure your SD/SDHC isn't compatible, the reason why your Slot lights blue for two times (First time: Power On Second time: SD not compatible). Get another SDCard, I recommend one from SanDisk, Quality from the first and best one [​IMG]
     

Share This Page